We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seneca Condos

Save Saved
You added Seneca Condos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 6 more sites!
Seneca Condos
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
CDJanet
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Seneca and truly enjoyed our visit to Snowshoe. We stayed on one of the top floor condos overlooking the mountains (not the Village). We had 1 bedroom and a sleeper sofa. It worked out perfectly for us. Bought some groceries from a store short walking distance from the condo. We were very close to the bunny hill slopes. Village shops and restaurants were nice---had some service issues in the restaurants, but it was nearing the end of their season. Nice variety in the restaurants and all were good. Back to Seneca---enjoyed the hot tub. They had a nice common area where kids would gather (I think there was a large family/friends trip during our stay) and watch movies, talk etc. Gas fireplace, kitchen etc was nice.
I would recommend a visit to Snowshoe since it's great for all abilities! I would also recommend staying at Seneca. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor (room has nice vaulted ceilings)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here in February 2013. The room was very nice. They put us on the top floor so we had vaulted ceilings. 2 beds and a sleeper sofa gave us plenty of room Kitchen was the perfect size for us to eat breakfast every morning before skiing all day. Gas fireplace was nice. Cabled internet connection was a limitation we prepared for and broute our own WiFi router. Cleaning staff took good care of the clean up every day. Great location; just a short walk to the slopes and many restaurants. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

3 adults stayed in the deluxe studio as part of a larger group skiing together Dec. 22-26. Check in was somewhat of a hassle since you have to check in at another location (Top of the World). Underground heated parking was a nice feature, although spaces were extremely tight. Once we parked we didn't move until check out.
The room was clean and decorated nicely. It was all one large room, with an entry and small closet by the door. There was a set of heavy duty hooks by the door which we used everyday to hang wet ski clothes. Queen bed and sleeper sofa. Kitchen small, but everything we needed for breakfasts and lunch breaks from the slopes. Gas fire place that really heated the room quickly. Our unit was on the second floor and had a large balcony overlooking the Village and the slopes to the left. One issue was no dresser to unpack clothes and only one luggage rack, which I used, so 2 of us had to work out of suitcases on the floor.
Our large group "took over" the common area Christmas evening to watch the Heat/Thunder game. Lots of couches and chairs. Very comfy and decorated for Christmas too. Nice.
We used the hot tub one evening. Large and nice view.
The best thing about Seneca is the LOCATION. Everyone gets a ski locker downstairs, so you just grab your gear, walk a few steps to the slopes and off you go! At lunchtime it was great to be back in the room quickly and warm up by the fire with some lunch whipped up in the kitchen. The unit we had technically slept 4, but is really more suited for a couple. More than 2 and you're tripping over your stuff because there's no where to put it. But it's worth it for the convenient location. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

March 1st, 2013. We were in room 415 (one bedroom w/ balcony and fireplace-about $250 a night), which looks directly across the village to Expedition (ski rentals) and slopes. It's also right beside the ski school, which I attended.
Check in was a bit of a pain, b/c there's no check in desk there (apparently there usually is next door, but they were super busy), so we went all the way to the Top of the World (top of mountain). You can also check in mid-way up the mountain at Alleghany Springs (I think it's called). It was snowing the whole 2 days we were there, so the signs were a little hard to read while driving. Might want to get a map before you go. Check in staff was helpful, the rest of the staff need a lesson in etiquette. Also fitness room is a joke (one treadmill?).
There is no lobby, so if you try and call the front desk, you'll hear a snow report. Press "0" to be transferred to an operator.
Short walk to all restaurants.
The balcony was unusable b/c there was about 2 feet of snow on it. Fireplace was nice. Room would comfortably fit 2 adults and a child (on the pull out couch). Furniture and bedding was outdated and old. I DO NOT like that they roll the sleeping pillows into the comforter. Those things are gross and they don't wash/replace them. Bed was a little hard.
Forgot the noise maker, which you will need b/c you can hear people in the hallways. However, my husband turned on the bathroom fan and that helped drown out the noise.
Tried out the hot tub outside. Beautiful! It was snowing while we were in it, which was really romantic. Another couple had a room that had a walk-out to the hot tub, but if there were people in it all night, I'm pretty sure you'd be able to hear them.
Make sure you have your room key handy, as you have to use it to get in the main door and the locker room next to the lobby.
I think I would stay there again, but it does bother me that check in wasn't until 5:00 (room was ready right at 5:00), so you basically lose a whole day of skiing (unless you change somewhere else).
Also, and this isn't about the room, but I was a little surprise that Snowshoe was such a drunk tank. Both nights there were rowdy, inebriated people, and it wasn't just the young ones (I'm 36 and don't mind a good time, BTW), but I have two little kids, and I'm not sure I'd take them to the restaurants/bars after a certain hour, or appreciate drunk people screaming outside (which woke me up at 1:00).
Overall, the room was OK, but you are really paying for the convenience of staying so close to the village and slopes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

A bit overpriced for the quality. HVAC not working properly. Although very small parking places the garage is nice. Not sure how the other options are here but I would probably try something different. I don't ski so a different location would probably work better for me.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in Seneca 300, a two bedroom deluxe for five nights at avg $564/night. While it was nice and very convenient, overall, we felt it wasn't worth the high price.

First, you really can't beat the convenience of the Seneca. It is located in the Village (easy walking to shops and restaurants) and literally just steps from the slopes. The underground parking is very nice. The ski lockers can be crowded at peak times but still convenient.

The condo itself was nice and clean. The beds were comfy and we heard no noise from other rooms. However, for the price, we found ourselves annoyed at little things. For instance, the hot water literally took more than five minutes to start getting warm. Each night we had to turn all unit faucets on full blast and wait a long while before showering. Then, the water pressure was very weak and finally, the master shower faucet sometimes worked and sometimes didn't for no apparent reason (water would run but once you pull the shower button up, nothing would happen). Additionally, there were no batteries in half the remotes. No wine opener in the condo. And finally, the gas fireplace flame was so minimal that it gave no heat, much less ambiance.

So, for the price, we really did want perfection.

Next time, we plan on staying down the road (we have stayed on Powder Monkey 2 previously). While the units are older and you need to do more grocery shopping beforehand, it's more than half the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Family of 4, stayed 3 nights in Seneca room #116 which we rented from First Tracts. Great experience renting through First Tracts, April could not have been more helpful & informative with overview of Snowshoe, directions, restaurants, coupon for ski rental, etc. Easy to stop by & pick up key along the way. The Seneca was a nice place, EXCELLENT location, concierge Cathy was great, Hearth room was a nice room to hang out & hot tub was excellent. "Fitness center" very small, only had 2 machines. Underground parking was a great benefit.

Seneca 116 has a small sitting area with gas fireplace, chairs, pull out couch (we did not use pull out, couch itself wasn't the most comfortable), TV & DVD, a dining table with 6 chairs, a full kitchen (range with oven, 4 burners, microwave, full-sized fridge), 1 bathroom with tub/shower & a bedroom with TV/DVD & TWO beds - a king & queen sized bed - which we found comfortable. Condo decor was a bit dated, but everything was clean & had beautiful views of the mountain sunset. It also looks out on the hot tub, noise could be an issue if there were a lot of people or loud party, although we had no problem & also did not hear any interior noise. The room was fine for 4, would be cosy/tight with 6. We had a nice stay and would recommend the Seneca.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seneca Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seneca Condos

Also Known As:
Seneca Condos Hotel Snowshoe
Seneca Condos Hotel
Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seneca Condos 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seneca is our newest premier level of accommodation in Snowshoe's Village. It is located along the village plaza adjacent to a wide variety of shopping and dining options. The Seneca offers guests very spacious and luxurious units ranging from studios to three bedroom unit many with spectacular valley views on the western side of the complex and plaza views on the front side of the building, only a short walk to the slopes. All units except junior studios feature full kitchens, gas fireplaces and balcony or patio access, and all units are air conditioned. The Seneca also features such amenities as a garden patio with a very large outdoor spa / hot tub and an outdoor fireplace for your enjoyment and relaxation. Guests can also enjoy a small exercise area with cardio and workout machines, laundry facilities, a beautiful Hearth Room with wide screen TV and fireplace and a medium size conference room with adjacent hospitality suite that may be rented for family activities as well as small conferences or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Seneca Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seneca Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.