We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay Unit #207 Deluxe Studio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seneca Condos

Save Saved
You added Seneca Condos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seneca Condos
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Nice Stay Unit #207 Deluxe Studio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in unit #207, a deluxe studio for 3 nights. We checked in during the holiday period at Mountaintop Check In then proceeded to the building. You are supposed to go to The Depot (next door) to retrieve your keys when your room is ready.

We used the heated underground parking. The parking structure was very small but clean and warm. Even though the resort was at 100% capacity there were 2 open spots when we parked about 3 pm. There are luggage carts for your use. There is a concierge on the main level adjacent to the hearth room, which is large with large screen TV and Wi-Fi (which was not available in our room although wired internet was available). The concierge was at her desk all day long and extremely helpful.

Unit 207 is on the second floor right outside the elevator. We heard no noise from the elevators. The elevators were very efficient and we rarely had to wait more than 15 seconds for one. There are vending machines and an ice machine on the ground floor (same floor as the hot tub, sauna, and gym. We used the hot tub on our last night and it was empty (occupancy had dropped this day). It is large and very hot but also extremely windy.

Our room had a full kitchen with all the appropriate cooking utensils. Overall, the room is not overly spacious but completely normal for studio condos. There was a pull-out sofa and a full/queen bed. We have a king at home so the queen seemed small to us. The room and balcony overlook the bus stop and main road but we experienced no negative impact/noise. The room and bathroom were very clean and nicely decorated. We have stayed at Allegheny Springs before and like this room and location just as much if not more. I'm not sure if all studios in Seneca are laid out exactly the same, but this unit had a very small closet but there was room for a couple of coats and a few shirts. There were games and movies for your use. Maid service was good and cleaned our dishes one day, which was appreciated.

The location is a one-minute walk to the slopes. The locker room is convenient. We would definitely stay here again, probably over Allegheny due to the small size of the building (only 4 floors) and I think it was easier to get from our room to ths slopes than it was at Allegheny. It is also a bit newer. We had a great stay and would recommend Seneca and unit #207.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moneta, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have been going to Snowshoe since the late 80's and stayed at most of the lodging on the mountain (some long gone!) and this is by far is our favorite in the village. Stayed in a 1 and 2 bedroom units and even jr. studio up on top floor (it's small but super high ceiling gives more breathing room). Best is staying on top floor western view but can't always get that lucky. The goods are location, small building (quiet!!!!), underground parking is awesome and think only 2 other buildings have that. Otherwise stuck parking outside and in the winter that can be not so fun. Location great, right next door to the Depot for lift passes and bus service to Silvercreek and top of the mountain for additional restaurants. We were just up 1st weekend in June and reminded us need to go up over the summer months more, get away from hot humid weather. The mountain biking and hiking trails are everywhere and then there is the Greenbrier river trail access just down the mountain in Cass for easy flat rides/hikes. We don't golf but apparently good course, it's beautiful from the little bit you see driving up. Luckily we are only 3 1/2hrs away so we take advantage of ski season passes, just need to go more in the summer there's so much to do if you are outdoors lover, next we want to get into some fly fishing. The only negative at the Seneca is housecleaning, for some reason for a platinum building the house cleaning people are slack and lazy and don't seem to care, nor apparently does management. Never had a terrible experience (#311 seems a little suspect) just that it's not spotless like you'd expect and side note the coffee they supply is rank, we bring our own along with sugar since that is never stocked. We've also learned over the years to bring food and drinks with us to save money. Another bonus on the Seneca that we love is it's right off the slopes so easy to run up eat a good lunch relax for a bit and head back out. *** The hot tub is AWESOME especially after all day on the slopes, even in June after biking or hiking the trails.

Room Tip: top floor western view quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

First, the good parts (and it is mostly good). The location of this condo is wonderful, right across a small plaza to the ski rental barn and perhaps 50 ft. from the slopes. It is right by the restaurants and shops of the Showshoe Mt. village. We rented a studio (not Jr.) for my son and me on a "buy 2, get the 3rd night free" in March. The room is nice size, with a full refridgerator, gas range, stove, microwave and dish washer. Breakfast options aren't great in the village, so I would suggest at least eating breakfast in the room and hitting the slopes right when they open at 9.

There is enclosed underground parking at Seneca, so that means your car stays heated and ice free for the duration of your stay. Very nice. Also, there is a generous size locker room for guests, where you get a dedicated ski locker. There is an easy to use side entrance directly to the ski locker area for easy entry and exit to the slopes. It really couldn't be more convenient. There was also a guard at the front door most of the time making sure only registered guests where accessing the condo.

The only really negative is that the maid service is a bit unhurried. The maid generally showed up around 3 - 3:30 on the days we were there. On the one day, we wanted to return and take a nap so we just told her to forget it. It's an odd time when the slopes close at 4:30 and things are winding down. The room decor is ok.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and I would use Seneca again, especially on the 3 for 2 deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is one of the newwr offerings at Snowshoe, and is very well appointed. The rooms are in great shape, as is the hot tub area. Great views of the village or the sunset (albiet, over the parking lot). A little higher than some of the other accomodations, but woorht the price.

Plus, it has garage parking, so you're not getting dressed out in the cold if you change before you leave!

Room Tip: All rooms have a gooreat view of something! All have either a balcony or patio too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed in unit #311, a studio with a kitchen. The condo was really small, furniture run down, the queen size bed with a cheap, uncomfortable mattress, bathroom had some stains on the wall and inside the bathtub. Not what we had expected for the price paid. Also, sometimes the houskeeping would not even wash dishes. The only positives were the location - right next to the slopes and the underground parking garage. If we go to Snowshoe again, we'll definitely do a better due diligince of places to stay.

Room Tip: Rent from condo owners, not from Snowshoe's website where they post pictures of random rooms. Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Excellent visit to Snowshoe! We just went 1/8-1/10 2012 and stayed 2 nights at Seneca Condos. We were in a suite that had a full kitchen (so pack some snacks, stuff for breakfast, lunch, and dinner if ya want!) There was a gas fireplace that really warmed up the room quickly! We were on the ground floor (G on the elevator) and we could walk right out to the hot tub. Unfortunately, the hot tub was broken but they said it was waiting on a piece to come in this week, so you might be in luck. They also gave us some options at different places on the mountain we could use but we just settled for the sauna in the fitness room. The room was great and the slopes were open! When you do book your lift tickets, you may be able to save some money by combining the lodging with the rentals. To get this discount, you have to call though and there is a $10 fee for arranging the booking with the agent, but we were able to save money because we were skiing for at least 2 days. Also, if you are a student you get a discount! The Seneca has ski lockers that are to be used and that is on the Plaza Floor (PL on elevator..we were so confused) Anyways, if you rent your skis, use the Expedition right across from the hotel, takes 2 min to walk to. We got ours the night before we skiied (they are open until 8PM)...the next morning, we walked another 2 min to the slopes and were out all day! It was a perfect simple plan. We had a wonderful time, there was snow on the ground, and not too many skiiers around. We look forward to returning again next year after the holidays have passed!

Room Tip: The suite did not have a dresser, just a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We just returned from a 2-night visit to Snowshoe and stayed at the Seneca for the third time. In my opinion, there's no need to stay anywhere else. It's one of the newer complexes on the property and is wonderfully maintained. Our room was comfortable and clean. I have to say that the conveniences of having A) underground parking and B) ski lockers make it worth it. It also has a great hearth room - make sure you grab it early! Seneca is in the heart of Snowshoe Village and steps from everything - wonderful location. No complaints here!

Room Tip: I like staying in a studio vs. a junior studio - it's nice to have a fireplace in your room, esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seneca Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seneca Condos

Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seneca Condos 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seneca is our newest premier level of accommodation in Snowshoe's Village. It is located along the village plaza adjacent to a wide variety of shopping and dining options. The Seneca offers guests very spacious and luxurious units ranging from studios to three bedroom unit many with spectacular valley views on the western side of the complex and plaza views on the front side of the building, only a short walk to the slopes. All units except junior studios feature full kitchens, gas fireplaces and balcony or patio access, and all units are air conditioned. The Seneca also features such amenities as a garden patio with a very large outdoor spa / hot tub and an outdoor fireplace for your enjoyment and relaxation. Guests can also enjoy a small exercise area with cardio and workout machines, laundry facilities, a beautiful Hearth Room with wide screen TV and fireplace and a medium size conference room with adjacent hospitality suite that may be rented for family activities as well as small conferences or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Seneca Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seneca Condos Hotel Snowshoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seneca Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.