We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slope side lodging” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Silver Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Creek Lodge
1 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Snowshoe
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Slope side lodging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This my first trip to Snowshoe Mountain. The Silver Creek Lodge is quite dated. The common areas needed a good cleaning on a regular basis. We were there 5 days and only once did we see someone cleaning the lobby area. The fitness center has decent equipment but it was filthy. The pool/hot tub area was decent and served its purpose of soothing sore ski muscles. The pool is indoor and outdoor which was fun for the kids but we were disappointed that they had the outdoor portion closed for part of our trip. They said it was too cold out and the pool heater couldn't keep up. The ski rental shop was very easy to work with. No lines or long waits there. They have a cafeteria which is decent for a quick lunch. They offer a complimentary continental breakfast which was OK but not really the kind of breakfast I want before skiing. Just muffins, danish, cereal, juice and coffee.

Now about the condo itself. They are all individually owned so I'm sure they very quite a bit. Ours was a 1 bedroom with loft standard. It slept 6 but that would have been crazy crowded. We had 3 in our condo and that was about the most I would put in there. They said it had a wood burning fireplace but in fact they had an electric fireplace that didn't heat the room. It was just for effect I guess. The beds and sofa were terribly uncomfortable. Even after a full day of skiing we tossed and turned all night long. If the owners would replace the mattresses and living room sofa it would be a huge improvement. I would not stay in this particular condo again but perhaps a privately managed one with more updates.

I will say that the employees at Silver Creek Lodge were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book directly with owner so you can get pictures of actual unit you will be renting since they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was our first ski trip to Snowshoe/Silver Creek in 2 years and fifth overall in the last 12. We also made a summertime trip to Snowshoe over the summer. So we know the know the resort pretty well. Here is our impression of where things stand up there today.

The Good.

The Silver Creek Lodge has had a modest face lift. New paint, new carpet, and I think new wall paper (either that or they have cleaned it). There's still lots of room for improvement, but it at least has better curb appeal than it did two years ago. And our condo itself was amazing. They've also made it much easier to book through the resort and even comp you a continental breakfast.

Food service at Snowshoe is much more efficient than it used to be. They've obviously hired more kitchen help and they seem to do a decent job retaining wait staff (the manager at the Junction even remembered us from our summer stay). And the food is pretty good, too.

They've also added more shuttles between the Basin and Silver Creek. My son and I were able to get back from the Western Territories in about 15 minutes from stop to stop. Getting to dinner in the Village was fairly painless, too.

The Bad
No warning that the Tubing park tickets are sold in blocks starting at the top of the hour every other hour, which through off our plans for the day we arrived. They also opened it two hours later on Saturday. Inexcusable.

Still no overnight ski check. Guests have to carry their skis and boards back up to their rooms every night. They could make money on a ski check and save money on maintenance (two years ago the carpets literally stank from the snow that had melted on them over the years). It makes no sense to have it.

The Ugly
Intrawest has not put a dime into improving the lift capacity at the resort in the 12 years we've been coming there. People we spoke to got stuck in 30 minute lift lines. Worse, the lift operators are trigger happy and stop the lifts constantly it took us 20 minutes to ride the Cascade lift one morning because it was stopped a dozen times!

Last but not least, they have created an unsafe situation by the Powderidge Lift by placing a snowboard jump next to a beginner cross trail. We saw a five year old boy get knocked into next week by a snowboarder who took the jump too fast. Utterly inexcusable to set up that situation.

Bottom Line
We love the reliable snow and the indoor/outdoor pool at Silver Creek. But we will not be returning until the lift capacity is upgraded.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady Spring, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Thankfully this is just where you go to sleep, change your ski clothes, shower, & like totally not look at the decor. Lol It is a bit comforting, in a strange way, as it takes me back to the 80's, & then a bit strange as I'm the grown up with kids!! It's clean, fireplace works great, & ceiling fans rock, man! Lots of space for all your gear; we had a 2 BR, 2 BA which was "awesome" for the 5 of us. Kitchen had full size appliances that were all working, clean, & had some pans/utensils. Showers were quirky, but hot. Somebody's toboggan was in the closet floor, so I'm guessing they don't clean in there. Beds slept alright, with the exception of the sofa bed. Our oldest son said it was bad! Overall, too much $ for what you're getting. They need to adjust their prices. It's at Silvercreek, not at the top of the Mt at the main hub. We were there as volunteers in that area. Check your ski map. Oh, & no wifi unless you're in a certain area of the room at a very particular time (say 3am) Just get away from it all, no cell service. You're on vacation!!! Oh, it's the 80s!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Overall our unit was fantastic, purchased outside of the Silver Creek Rental agency, which meant that we had to take our own garbage out - No Problem. The problem is all the other renters throwing their garbage bags in the hall and it not getting picked up for 12 hours.

It is a dated building, our first time back in 10 years and nothing (at all) has changed. So if your into the latest décor go somewhere else and maybe pay more.

Love the access to the mountain, the grill is great for a lunch break (better if English was at least understood), and the skiing was great - never waited once in a lift line. Plenty of shuttles if you want the Western Territory, we were dropped off right at the access point, no walking. Shuttle to dinner and back was very crowded.

Don't buy any food at the top of the mountain - truck it in like we did or drive back down to the Food Mart at the bottom of the mountain, you will save more than the $4 in gas.

My teenagers tell me there was a game room in the basement, but it gave them the creeps - that takes a lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This place is in bad shape. However, if you just want a place to sleep after skiing and are OK with a Murphy bed setup, this will do. Everything is serviceable but extremely dated. No alcohol (even cans of beer) allowed in the hot tubs, which is probably a good thing considering it wasn't a great place to hang out.

Be sure to bring your own breakfast food to cook in your unit's kitchenette if you do decide to stay here. The breakfast in the cafeteria is old danish, cold cereal and machine coffee at a high price- not the place for a hearty meal before skiing.

Shuttles run pretty regularly up the mountain and you can rent skis at Silver Creek.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The rental unit we had at the lodge was fantastic. 2 Bed, 2 bath newly remodeled and very nice. The rest of the buildings public spaces were just disgusting. Nothing a couple rolls of carpet and some paint could not help - but it likley has not been renovated in at least 12-15 years and smells moldy and just rotten. It's a shame as the unit is nice and the setting is great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Place has not been updated in forever. The night skiing is great but be aware that Silver Creek is NOT at the top of the mountain where the restaurants and shops are and does not open until after the rest of Snowshoe (it's lower in altitude). You'll wind up driving to get stuff to eat at the top (Misty's is in Silver Creek and it's just ok for fast food) so it's better to stay at the top of the mountain at a place like Summit and do the night skiing here

Room Tip: Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Creek Lodge

Address: 1 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio, one, one with loft, two, three and four bedroom condo rentals located adjacent to the Silver Creek ski area. The lodge offers easy access to night skiing and the tubing area, plus satellite TV service with expanded HBO and ESPN programming and complimentary in-room unlimited high-speed internet. All units have full kitchens with the exception of Studios, which have mini-kitchens.Washer / dryers, fireplaces and balconies in most units except Studios. Limited daily maid service includes towel exchange and trash removal, indoor / outdoor swimming pool, exercise room, sauna and Jacuzzis. Studios have twin sleeper beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;