We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rental unit - horrible lodge otherwise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Silver Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Creek Lodge
1 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Snowshoe
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice rental unit - horrible lodge otherwise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The rental unit we had at the lodge was fantastic. 2 Bed, 2 bath newly remodeled and very nice. The rest of the buildings public spaces were just disgusting. Nothing a couple rolls of carpet and some paint could not help - but it likley has not been renovated in at least 12-15 years and smells moldy and just rotten. It's a shame as the unit is nice and the setting is great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Place has not been updated in forever. The night skiing is great but be aware that Silver Creek is NOT at the top of the mountain where the restaurants and shops are and does not open until after the rest of Snowshoe (it's lower in altitude). You'll wind up driving to get stuff to eat at the top (Misty's is in Silver Creek and it's just ok for fast food) so it's better to stay at the top of the mountain at a place like Summit and do the night skiing here

Room Tip: Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The skiing was great! It dumped at least 18inches while we were there so that made for a great trip. I have never been the type to write a review but since I work in the hotel industry and read countless nit picking from customers I decided it was my turn. My husband and I had a wonderful stay, the rooms were a little dated but we were there to ski so that was no big deal. Every staff member we encountered was helpful and very nice, with exception of one young housekeeper that was cleaning rooms with her mom on the second floor. She made some not so nice remarks about my husband and I while I was standing in the hall (at least close the door) she was not happy that we were switching rooms, something that was out of our hands. We booked an extra night and the room we had been staying in was booked so the front desk moved us to the room next door. Anyway, she was young so I'll blame it on that. Like I said before I work in the hotel industry in the Great Smoky Mtn's, you name it I've done it. Cleaned rooms, checked rooms, worked the desk, laundry, breakfast, group sales, etc. I understand we all get aggravated at times but calling customers inappropriate names is well...unprofessional!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel in general desperately needs vacuuming, but the individual rooms were clean and larger than most or any others on the mountain. Skiing is easy here and shuttle service to the village was easy!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience at the silver creek lodge at snow shoe ski resort. Silver creek is an older property at snow shoe, but it is clean and comfortable. Our unit was a one bedroom, one bath with a good size living room with a pull out sofa and a love seat and a full kitchen. We also had a small balcony with two chairs and a wood burning fire place, and a washer/dryer. The washer and dryer in room was nice, we washed our ski clothes before returning home. It was a very clean unit, a little dated, but very comfortable, and perfect for a ski weekend. We were allowed to bring our skis, boots, and poles to our room,some of the newer buildings at snowshoe do not allow ski gear in the rooms, and you must rent a locker. Silver creek is on the slopes at the silver creek ski area and the snow tubing park. Also silver creek are the only slopes open past 4:30 for night skiing. The silver creeks slopes are open till 9:30. There is a heated indoor and outdoor pool /hot tub at silver creek. The indoor pool is accessible from the main lobby but you must have your room key. There is also a ski / snow board rental shop in the silver creek lodge on the first floor, so you don't have to go anywhere to rent gear if you need it. There is a cafeteria and a sports bar for food in silver creek. We did not eat at either of them, we brought breakfast and lunch food with us and ate dinner at the village center BBQ place at snowshoe, which was very good, food and service. Over all we had a great stay and would stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith Mountain Lake, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Well, it's true. Our second time to Snowshoe and our first at Silver Creek and we really had fun. Three families from Greensboro, NC stayed at Silver Creek recently and we had a blast. Our kids range in age from 12 to 17 and they all had the best time. Silver Creek is an older building and in need of some upgrading in the lobby area, but our two bedroom condo's we're nicely furnished and very comfortable. We checked in with no problems and were please to find plenty of luggage carts to help us move what seemed like a year’s supply of food and equipment to our rooms. The best thing about Silver Creek was that everything we needed was there. The ski slopes were right there along with ski lessons and lift tickets, also the tubing hill was right next to the building. Ski rentals and the pool and hot tubs and fitness room and the arcade. Everything to keep the kids entertained. Also Misty's (sports bar) was lots of fun for the adults. This guy, Sam, was the lead bartender and he kept us entertained every time we visited. Misty's food was ok, not great but we weren't really going in there for the food. There was another restaurant in the building but we didn't eat there. It looked like a cafeteria style place. All in all Silver Creek was the perfect place for our families to stay. The Ski area at Silver Creek was really good too. We went up to the Snowshoe area to ski a few times on the shuttle bus but the lift lines were always long (20 min or better). Silver Creek lift lines were at the worst maybe 5 min. The slopes were much wider than Snowshoe and made for cruising. It did seem like there we're a few to many slopes dedicated to the snowboard crowd, jumps, rails and the like. Overall we all had a blast.

Room Tip: I've got to admit that we stayed in a slope side condo which was great entertainment all day wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I can't put into words the amount of fun this trip was.

The ride from North Carolina to Snowshoe was breathtaking.

The ride up the Mountain to Silver Creek was challenging for southerns. It had just started snowing and the roads were not yet clear but we made it safe. The view was breathtaking.

We arrived about 1:15 pm and our room was ready. There were plenty of luggage carts as well as parking. The elevators were quick and plentiful.

The room exceeded any expectations. The room was immaculately clean, and warm. We stayed in 5603. The full kitchen was equipped with everything that we would have needed (but I had packed all supplies and utensils that I thought we would need).

We were unable to experience the snow tubing because of the snow on Wednesday but the activities we tried for the First time was AWESOME, A BLAST, FABULOUS.

You need all the layers that are recommended. The thermals, a light jogging suit, gloves, hat, facial coverage, and googles, A ski/winter coat not a jacket.

Snowmobiling provided the helmets - goggles are not needed. Oh my goodness, it was the best of the best. I do not like speed or roller coasters but I so enjoyed myself.

The food at The Junction was Excellent. Service was Fast, and Prices compared with a Applebees. Misty's Sports Bar inside Silver Creek was Good was well. The wings were hot and we were able to get our order to go.

The shuttles run every 15-20 minutes. Once you park you vehicle, there is not need to move it.

There is limited cell phone reception. We were able to connect to the internet via Ethernet cable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Creek Lodge

Address: 1 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio, one, one with loft, two, three and four bedroom condo rentals located adjacent to the Silver Creek ski area. The lodge offers easy access to night skiing and the tubing area, plus satellite TV service with expanded HBO and ESPN programming and complimentary in-room unlimited high-speed internet. All units have full kitchens with the exception of Studios, which have mini-kitchens.Washer / dryers, fireplaces and balconies in most units except Studios. Limited daily maid service includes towel exchange and trash removal, indoor / outdoor swimming pool, exercise room, sauna and Jacuzzis. Studios have twin sleeper beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.