We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver creek: Save money at snowshoe and still have convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Silver Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Creek Lodge
1 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Snowshoe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Silver creek: Save money at snowshoe and still have convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel in general desperately needs vacuuming, but the individual rooms were clean and larger than most or any others on the mountain. Skiing is easy here and shuttle service to the village was easy!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience at the silver creek lodge at snow shoe ski resort. Silver creek is an older property at snow shoe, but it is clean and comfortable. Our unit was a one bedroom, one bath with a good size living room with a pull out sofa and a love seat and a full kitchen. We also had a small balcony with two chairs and a wood burning fire place, and a washer/dryer. The washer and dryer in room was nice, we washed our ski clothes before returning home. It was a very clean unit, a little dated, but very comfortable, and perfect for a ski weekend. We were allowed to bring our skis, boots, and poles to our room,some of the newer buildings at snowshoe do not allow ski gear in the rooms, and you must rent a locker. Silver creek is on the slopes at the silver creek ski area and the snow tubing park. Also silver creek are the only slopes open past 4:30 for night skiing. The silver creeks slopes are open till 9:30. There is a heated indoor and outdoor pool /hot tub at silver creek. The indoor pool is accessible from the main lobby but you must have your room key. There is also a ski / snow board rental shop in the silver creek lodge on the first floor, so you don't have to go anywhere to rent gear if you need it. There is a cafeteria and a sports bar for food in silver creek. We did not eat at either of them, we brought breakfast and lunch food with us and ate dinner at the village center BBQ place at snowshoe, which was very good, food and service. Over all we had a great stay and would stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith Mountain Lake, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Well, it's true. Our second time to Snowshoe and our first at Silver Creek and we really had fun. Three families from Greensboro, NC stayed at Silver Creek recently and we had a blast. Our kids range in age from 12 to 17 and they all had the best time. Silver Creek is an older building and in need of some upgrading in the lobby area, but our two bedroom condo's we're nicely furnished and very comfortable. We checked in with no problems and were please to find plenty of luggage carts to help us move what seemed like a year’s supply of food and equipment to our rooms. The best thing about Silver Creek was that everything we needed was there. The ski slopes were right there along with ski lessons and lift tickets, also the tubing hill was right next to the building. Ski rentals and the pool and hot tubs and fitness room and the arcade. Everything to keep the kids entertained. Also Misty's (sports bar) was lots of fun for the adults. This guy, Sam, was the lead bartender and he kept us entertained every time we visited. Misty's food was ok, not great but we weren't really going in there for the food. There was another restaurant in the building but we didn't eat there. It looked like a cafeteria style place. All in all Silver Creek was the perfect place for our families to stay. The Ski area at Silver Creek was really good too. We went up to the Snowshoe area to ski a few times on the shuttle bus but the lift lines were always long (20 min or better). Silver Creek lift lines were at the worst maybe 5 min. The slopes were much wider than Snowshoe and made for cruising. It did seem like there we're a few to many slopes dedicated to the snowboard crowd, jumps, rails and the like. Overall we all had a blast.

Room Tip: I've got to admit that we stayed in a slope side condo which was great entertainment all day wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I can't put into words the amount of fun this trip was.

The ride from North Carolina to Snowshoe was breathtaking.

The ride up the Mountain to Silver Creek was challenging for southerns. It had just started snowing and the roads were not yet clear but we made it safe. The view was breathtaking.

We arrived about 1:15 pm and our room was ready. There were plenty of luggage carts as well as parking. The elevators were quick and plentiful.

The room exceeded any expectations. The room was immaculately clean, and warm. We stayed in 5603. The full kitchen was equipped with everything that we would have needed (but I had packed all supplies and utensils that I thought we would need).

We were unable to experience the snow tubing because of the snow on Wednesday but the activities we tried for the First time was AWESOME, A BLAST, FABULOUS.

You need all the layers that are recommended. The thermals, a light jogging suit, gloves, hat, facial coverage, and googles, A ski/winter coat not a jacket.

Snowmobiling provided the helmets - goggles are not needed. Oh my goodness, it was the best of the best. I do not like speed or roller coasters but I so enjoyed myself.

The food at The Junction was Excellent. Service was Fast, and Prices compared with a Applebees. Misty's Sports Bar inside Silver Creek was Good was well. The wings were hot and we were able to get our order to go.

The shuttles run every 15-20 minutes. Once you park you vehicle, there is not need to move it.

There is limited cell phone reception. We were able to connect to the internet via Ethernet cable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our unit in the lodge was great. I had read some reviews that weren't good so I was pleasantly suprised. The lobby area was run down and had an unbelievable greasy smell which was not pleasant. I don't ski and there weren't many places to sit while I was waiting for my kids to come off the slopes. My teenagers had a great time skiing and the lift lines weren't long even though it was a crowded weekend. We would definitely come back again. It was relatively easy to get a shuttle bus over to Snowshoe village for dinner, which is good since the dining opportunities at Silver Creek itself were not extensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkview, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Family and I just completed another great trip to Silver Creek. Crowdes were basically zero, the longest lift line we stood in was 3 people.

It was AWSOME that Mountineer run was not a terrain park this year so it was a great place to work with some of our group on improving their sking skills.

Lobby could use and update, BUT, in the last few years they have totaly replaced the windows, exterior siding, elevators and updated the pool area, so hopefull the lobby will be next.

Some people complain about Misty's but they need to realize it is a bar and not a restaurant, so yes dining options are limited unless you want to go up to the main village. And yes wi-fi and cell coverage is VERY limited but that is out side their controll so just plan on it and relax, maybe even turn off the electronic leash for a few days.

Room Tip: If you want a nice one Br. unit ask for 5310 we have used it for YEARS and it is always in great sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

After reading so-so reviews of the rooms, my family was pleasantly surprised when we entered our room. The unit was wonderful and fully stocked with items we needed. It was very clean and had up to date furnishings and appliances. The lodge itself is dated and smelled like a greasy diner, but thankfully all we did was walk thru it from our room to the slopes. The staff was fantastic. They bent over backwards to attend our needs from the front desk to the rental shop to the instructors. Everyone was very nice and great dealing with people. The pool and sauna were a real treat at the end of the day. My family loved being able to park the car and not have to get back into it until we left. The tubing hill was a hit too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Creek Lodge

Address: 1 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio, one, one with loft, two, three and four bedroom condo rentals located adjacent to the Silver Creek ski area. The lodge offers easy access to night skiing and the tubing area, plus satellite TV service with expanded HBO and ESPN programming and complimentary in-room unlimited high-speed internet. All units have full kitchens with the exception of Studios, which have mini-kitchens.Washer / dryers, fireplaces and balconies in most units except Studios. Limited daily maid service includes towel exchange and trash removal, indoor / outdoor swimming pool, exercise room, sauna and Jacuzzis. Studios have twin sleeper beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.