We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a unit - lodge could use a refresher” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Silver Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Creek Lodge
1 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Snowshoe
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a unit - lodge could use a refresher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

After reading so-so reviews of the rooms, my family was pleasantly surprised when we entered our room. The unit was wonderful and fully stocked with items we needed. It was very clean and had up to date furnishings and appliances. The lodge itself is dated and smelled like a greasy diner, but thankfully all we did was walk thru it from our room to the slopes. The staff was fantastic. They bent over backwards to attend our needs from the front desk to the rental shop to the instructors. Everyone was very nice and great dealing with people. The pool and sauna were a real treat at the end of the day. My family loved being able to park the car and not have to get back into it until we left. The tubing hill was a hit too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are in the Southeastern US and want to take a family ski trip without dropping several grand...this is the place. Snowshoe is a massive resort with a ton of varying slopes and lifts. The Silver Creek area has one large condo on the hill and it makes keeping up with kids very easy. It also has an indoor/outdoor pool, hot tubs inside and out and an arcade. We have stayed in a couple of different units and both where different, but good.

Only major request would be ski lockers in the bottom floor!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here three nights just before Christmas. The entire family was in a great mood because we had just gotten incredibly joyous news. Even the dilapidated state of the unit we were in didn't dampen our mood. We got there late so had to drive to the top of the world to check in. Roads were clear and safe. The hotel public areas were deserted and creepy, dark and empty and not well maintained. the room was a two bedroom loft with an efficiency kitchen and a small living room with a fireplace. The unit was very small, dingy, and smelled like smoke even tho it was supposedly a non smoking unit. The furnishings were low quality and the bathroom was tiny and like a motel 6. There was a couple next door that apparently lived there temporarily---i think one of them was an employee or a construction worker or snowmaker or something --- they argued loudly all night and left their garbage in the hallway so that was sort of a downer and the shouting and name calling scared our kids. The kitchen has sufficient utensils, etc. the carpet was in dire need of replacing and the linens and towels smelled of cigarette smoke from the surly housekeepers. Housekeeping service was by a young man and an older woman team and was pretty much nonexistent, except the day of checkout when they arrived before nine am. In the mornings the restaurants were all closed until mid morning, which was very inconvenient. The last day I asked the front desk for a scrap sheet of paper and tho it took a while to locate one the young lady and boy at the desk were very friendly about it and did their best.

All in all it wasn't a good experience, put a damper on our good news, and if we ever go again it will be at a much nicer hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at a different property
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

After driving 8 hours we had issues getting into a room right away when it was after check in time. The place is huge and the trails are nice, but I've stayed in the village area and thats the place to stay. There is just more to do in the little village and your right there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Silver Creek offers good ski in/out at a nice price and is located on the resort's only night slopes. Rental facilities are on site, and the handful of food opportunities are passable and no more overpriced than anywhere else. I'd avoid the studios, which are small and can be dated and worn. These units seem like the entry price point for ownership, so nothing is very nice, but everything generally works.

Word of caution: Forget about cell reception at Silver Creek. The property the resort's closest to the Greenbanks Radio Telescope, so there is basically no cell service. The phone in our studio required a calling card (would have been nice to know in advance) and there is no WiFi.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are nice. Each unit has full stove/oven, fridge w/ice maker, dishwasher, micro, pots, pans, dishes, plates, cups, coffee maker and toaster. The food at the Bear's Den is outrageously priced. You are paying for convenience and the food is not that great. Bring your own food and cook it in your room, much more ecconomical considering the price of the room per night.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Take note. Every condo in this buidling is individually owned and I can only speak for the unit I was staying at. My family of four stayed two nights over the MLK holiday. We were on the first floor (wing 5) in a one bed room condo.
We almost set the smoke alarm when we preheated the oven. Apparently, the cleaning crew had dumped cleaning solution into the oven and smoke came out of the oven relentlessly while being preheated. We had to open all the windows in 10 degree weather. Next, there is no dishwasher, dish rack to dry the dishes, nor dish soap, nor sponge. We had to buy them all including kitchen towel. There is a tiny refrigerator where a dishwasher previous fits underneath the counter space. The advertised internet connection never worked. The remotes for both TVs had dead batteries. The magazines in the living room was dated from 2007. There were mice droppings in the sofa bed mattress. Now the good part, there is a baseboard type of heat which is sufficient and did not require the use of the fire place. After a long day of skiing, we did not really care for the remote control or a dishwasher as we ate out most of the time. Never-the-less, be very careful when picking out a unit as I am sure not all the units are as neglected as the one we had stayed at.

Room Tip: Try to call the reservation to get a better room/price instead of the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Creek Lodge

Address: 1 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio, one, one with loft, two, three and four bedroom condo rentals located adjacent to the Silver Creek ski area. The lodge offers easy access to night skiing and the tubing area, plus satellite TV service with expanded HBO and ESPN programming and complimentary in-room unlimited high-speed internet. All units have full kitchens with the exception of Studios, which have mini-kitchens.Washer / dryers, fireplaces and balconies in most units except Studios. Limited daily maid service includes towel exchange and trash removal, indoor / outdoor swimming pool, exercise room, sauna and Jacuzzis. Studios have twin sleeper beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.