We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but needs improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Snowshoe

Save Saved
You added Inn at Snowshoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Snowshoe
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   10 Snowshoe Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Snowshoe B&B and Inns
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ok, but needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here for a ski vacation March 19, 2014 for three nights. The price was good for us, $49 a night web deal. Regular reservation prices are too high for this hotel due to the repairs that need to be done. Wall paper coming off, woodwork needs painting, bathrooms need caulking etc. Pool and hot tub was nice after a hard day skiing. The breakfast buffet was very low quality and room tempiture at best. Hotel charges 2 bucks regular bottle soda, go across the street and pay $1.99 for 2 liter. Best place to eat for your money's worth was across the street at Route 66. Food was really decent and a lot cheaper then on top of the mountain. If your on a budget, its good place to stay but if there were other hotels in the area, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    36
    33
    15
    3
See reviews for
29
24
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Temple Terrace, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was very disappointed at the location. On Google Maps and my phone GPS, it placed the location at the top of the mountain with the rest of the lodging areas. In reality, the location is 6 miles away at the bottom of the mountain. At least it is near a Subway, which allows you to eat at a decent price. However, for breakfast, they did not have enough help to clear tables and put the food out. At least it was the least expensive place in the area.

Room Tip: This is your only option on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hill nc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Snowshoe. The room was really big and very clean. The breakfast was free, fast, and good. The hot tub was wonderful. The lobby is designed for snow skiers to come in and not worry about messing up carpet, but it is still a very nice entrance. The desk personnel were friendly, and ready to help with anything. I noticed that one reviewer said that it was "run down". They must have been at a different place, because this was certainly not run down; it wasn't the Ritz Carlton, but for the skiing environment, it was just right. The price was great, and it was convenient to the slopes. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We decided to stay at the Inn to save some money since we didn't have a big group of people to split the cost of a room up top. Let me first say that staying there did save us over a $100 a night compared to up top, which is about equal to a lift ticked on the weekend. So if your wallet is tight and you are looking for a no frills, just a place to crash then sure, the Inn is a good value. However, looking back the 6 mile drive back and forth was annoying. (you can take the free shuttle, but we don't like being on someone else's schedule, so we opted to drive) The hotel was understaffed (not very welcoming), needs a good cleaning, and was outdated. Had a cold shower first night and the toilet was about to break off. Great for the college kid on a budget. Never made it to breakfast (ends at 10 am) to give a review. So, next time I will pay the extra money and stay somewhere newer and with ski in/ski out access.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Chose this hotel as it is affordable and far less pricey than the lodging on the top of the mountain. As with any place, there are pros and cons and I am very happy that I read other reviews of this inn so I knew what to expect. The following are based on my stay and experiences:
--Pros: Very affordable. Front desk staff were informative and able to print ski lift and rental tickets at the check in desk. There is a hotel bar and restaurant which the food is decent. The rooms were spacious and clean. The price of the hotel includes a morning mini buffet with limited selections but was good old fashioned "stick to your ribs" type food such as : Scrambled eggs, sausage, cereal, coffee, biscuits and gravy and pancakes. For those who do not want to drive to the slopes and shops or restaurants on the top of the mountain, a shuttle service from the hotel to get to the top of the mountain is offered that leaves every hour on the half hour.
There is an indoor pool and hot tubs. The beds were surprisingly comfortable. There is a TV in the room with cable that came in handy on evenings we wanted to relax in the room.
--Cons: Food selection at the hotel location is limited to the hotel restaurant and bar and the restaurant across the street. Not the healthiest food selections for those who are watching their intake--but then again if you are on vacation...We never tried the food across the street which was a greasy spoon and sandwich type place due to the overpowering smell of cooking grease that greeted us at the door. The rooms do not have refrigerators or coffee makers or microwaves. The hotel appears a bit dated but for the price and the area, it was not an issue. There is limited to no cell phone service connection. WIFI is available but only in common areas such as the lounges.
--My advice for other travelers: If you are driving in, bring a cooler if your wanting to have personal beverages (such as beer, etc) as we saw many other guests do. Buy some snacks that don't require refrigeration for times that you are not wanting to go to the restaurants. There is a gas station up the street that sells beverages and snack items. If you are traveling on a budget, be open-minded and consider the price you will pay is reasonable as compared to the same stay at the top of the mountain would cost at least 3 times the amount paid at the Inn at Snowshoe.

--Now for the big question...Would I return and would I recommend this place, yes, I would definitely return especially if traveling on a budget and would recommend it for others traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Choosing to stay at this Inn at the base means you save money. Not a lot in the way of frills; but our room was comfortable and clean. I never heard noise from other rooms, which I really appreciated. The room had a nice TV, which was great for the one day it rained. But there is no microwave, fridge or coffee pot (I brought my own coffee maker). Beds were comfortable.
If you want the full ski resort experience, you should plan to stay on top of the hill. It is a 5 mile drive up from the Inn. Breakfast is actually quite good for a "free" breakfast. It could use more fruit, yogurt etc (healthier items).
Only one real disappointment with our stay: Our first night there we decided to eat at Inn's casual dining restaurant, Brandi's. They advertised a fajita special (with choice of shrimp or chicken, not the traditional beef..) We ordered the shrimp version. Each plate came with 2 huge, tasteless, doughy wraps - the ONLY thing in the wraps was shrimp and shredded provalone cheese. NO grilled peppers & onions, NO seasoning of any kind. These "wraps" were pressed to heat, then serve with about a tablespoon of guacamole and salsa on the side. Really poor quality. We had much better eats at the top of the mountain the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We got a really good deal on our lodging at the Inn at Snowshoe, so I was skeptical about how much value we would get. I was pleasantly surprised to find that we did get very good value. The room itself was nice and comfortable, and bigger than I expected it to be, though by no means huge. The room was very clean and had no obvious defects. The desk staff were friendly and very helpful. We ended up having to add an extra day to our stay, and they made that easy to do.

We did not use the pool, but there is one, and it looked very nice. It even had a couple hot tub areas. The Internet service was very limited, and it was very hard to get a WiFi signal. The attached restaurant was very good - make sure you get the included breakfast. There is a shuttle service from the hotel to the mountain. It has inconvenient times that it runs, but it can be a life-saver when the weather turns nasty and you don't want to drive up the mountain. The shuttle driver that we had was very nice and helpful.

Be aware that the Inn is at the bottom of the mountain, making it about a fifteen minute drive away from the ski area in good driving conditions.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Snowshoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Snowshoe

Address: 10 Snowshoe Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Snowshoe 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Snowshoe offers standard, one and two bedroom units located at the base of Snowshoe Mountain. The Inn at Snowshoe is six miles from the slopes and Village at Snowshoe. This property has been a favorite of skiers for decades. It offers all the amenities you need in one location at very reasonable prices. The Inn is a full service hotel with a host of amenities including: Indoor Pool, Jacuzzi and Exercise Room, Arcade, Restaurant and Bar, Full Service Front Desk and Gift Shop. Please note, the standard rooms at the Inn at Snowshoe are non-cooking rooms. Plus, all standard rooms and the lobby are non-smoking. Food is available at the Inn at Snowshoe at Brandi's Restaurant as well as at Brandi's Bar. Complimentary breakfast is also included for rooms at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Inn at Snowshoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Snowshoe Hotel Snowshoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Snowshoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.