We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn at Snowshoe” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Snowshoe

Save Saved
You added Inn at Snowshoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Snowshoe
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   10 Snowshoe Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Snowshoe B&B and Inns
Palmyra, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Inn at Snowshoe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place was a dump. Old, peeling wallpaper, chipped paint, not very clean. There is a pool and hot tub smack in the middle of the circular designed building, absolutely no privacy. The restaurant was only open for breakfast (August). The food was mediocre, eggs seemed like powdered eggs, served luke warm. Fruit was canned not fresh. There was no fitness center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    34
    31
    15
    3
See reviews for
28
22
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

My family and I wanted to get away for the night, somewhere different. Funds were limited & an inexpensive room was a must. I almost completely took snowshoe off the list based on the negative comments here. I am SO glad I didn't. For the price of our room, we had 4 passes to many options on the mountain. We took the ski lift down to the lake, rode the paddle boats, played horseshoes, etc. It was beautiful. The kids played on the rock wall and euro bungee for over an hour. It was chilly and rainy so we didn't get to take advantage of the split rock pool, but it was included in our room fee. We all joined in for a few games of corn hole in the middle of the village. Had our stay been on Saturday, our passes also included a movie and popcorn. For just $15/each, the kids had a blast on the zip line.
As far as the hotel goes, it exceeded all expectations. I had braced myself for a worse version of the Bates Motel. Completely wrong! The room (#114) was immaculate. The beds were comfortable. I did not encounter one staff member that was not welcoming, friendly and smiling. Anything I asked for was promptly received. The pool is wonderful. The breakfast was the best we had ever had at a hotel. There were a couple spots of peeling at the corners in the bathroom. SO WHAT? That is the worst thing I can say about this establishment. Please don't shy away from the Inn at Snowshoe based on what you've read here. I'm so glad I didn't.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Maine
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

this place was very nice and an absolute upgrade from york super 8, 2 hot tubs 2 pools very nice area, the problem here is no central stair way, everything is a mile walk, to parking to lobby to pool. no fridges didnt like this, WHAT?? NO wi fi here unless in lobby, the riding in the area is great for bikers, the also had a brown water problem(construction) on nearby roads, brown water in shower and you can not drink water which they dont tell you, so not cool. id stay here again if wifi or fridges added.

Room Tip: stay central to the lobby if you dont want to walk to far
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Place really needs to be updated. I get it, they offer themselves as a cheaper alternative to the top of the mountain and if they spend money to update it, they will have to charge more but this place looks like it has not been updated in 40 years.

Not worth the drive or shuttle for 20 minutes to the top of the mountain when you can work with an owner and find a place on top for a little more but be much closer to the action. I stayed at Summit recently, which is across from the Village so it is cheaper than the Village prices but a quick walk or shuttle ride to the slopes and it was so much better

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Expension stay on the moutain for$ 200/ one night.It is clean and it has nice moutain view.But it does not worth 200/per night !!!! I hate their office-style decoration. inside.All cheap and uncomfortble decoration.I am on vacation I don't want to stay in a officeThe bed is small and it is not comfortble and sturdy!It has four small wheels and it can easily moves even if you just sit down or stand up .The bed cover seems like plastic material.Very cheap and uncomfortble!The sheets are cheap and bad,very thin ,too.I I won't stay here next time.I want a cozy warmth room for vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The room at Snowshoe Inn was comfortable but not yet modernized. The bathroom and beds were old. There was no second lock on the door other than the one deadbolt. The halllways were quite dim. The check-in staff was impatient and very very unwelcoming. Fortunately the breakfast was decent. My friend and I will be looking else where for other lodging.

Room Tip: Not returning to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

$180 on top the mountain, $99 at the Inn at Snowshoe. Save your money, go somewhere other than Snowshoe. Those are the summer rates during the week. The room was an embarrassment; dirty carpet, spiders in the corner, and a horrible smell.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Snowshoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Snowshoe

Address: 10 Snowshoe Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Snowshoe 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Snowshoe offers standard, one and two bedroom units located at the base of Snowshoe Mountain. The Inn at Snowshoe is six miles from the slopes and Village at Snowshoe. This property has been a favorite of skiers for decades. It offers all the amenities you need in one location at very reasonable prices. The Inn is a full service hotel with a host of amenities including: Indoor Pool, Jacuzzi and Exercise Room, Arcade, Restaurant and Bar, Full Service Front Desk and Gift Shop. Please note, the standard rooms at the Inn at Snowshoe are non-cooking rooms. Plus, all standard rooms and the lobby are non-smoking. Food is available at the Inn at Snowshoe at Brandi's Restaurant as well as at Brandi's Bar. Complimentary breakfast is also included for rooms at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Inn at Snowshoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Snowshoe Hotel Snowshoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Snowshoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.