We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Snowshoe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Expedition Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Expedition Station to your Saves list
Expedition Station
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Snowshoe Drive, Snowshoe Mountain Resort, Snowshoe, WV   |  
Hotel amenities
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Weekend in Snowshoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 via mobile

This is our second year to come to Snowshoe. We are a young family with 2 boys (8&5). We travelled with another family (DD 7&4). We all stayed on a 3 bedroom. This was perfect for us. Adequate room and the location was great. We could see the kids on the mountain and the walk to ski school was very convenient. The rental is right below us and the convenience factor was huge. We brought groceries with us (lesson learned from last year) and the kitchen isn't huge but good for the weekend. We ate most of our simple meals in the condo. The kids were worn out when we would go out and we discovered it was always a long wait for a table and for the food.

Daily Housekeeping and the place was very clean. We noticed that the windows were missing the safety's where it prevents the window from opening all the way. Maintenance was prompt to get back with us. They came upstairs with extras and told us that people tend to take them off. We snapped them back on quite easily.

We would stay here again. Last year we stayed at Alleghany Springs and we wanted to be closer to the ski school and to have another bedroom.

We did have access to the Split Rock Pools but did not take advantage of them this trip. Our condo did have a washer/dryer but no fireplace.



  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

As most have previously noted, Expedition Station is all about location. It is the closest hotel/condo to the central ski area. Most important for those of you interested in lessons and/or with small children, it is right in front of the ski school drop-off and associated "magic carpet ride." It doesn't get any more convenient than this. Our 5 and 7 year old's had never skiied before, so we had them heavily involved in lessons. Carrying all of their gear, and having them walk with clunky ski shoes, helmets, etc..., would have been a big pain, had it not been for our location. We literally took the elevator down from our room, walked out of the lobby, turned right, walked about 15 yards, and we were at the ski school. This was priceless.
Now, on to our stay. We stayed with 2 other families (so 6 adults, 5 children) in a 3 bedroom place, with beautiful views of the slopes/mountains. Yes, we were a little crammed, but this was our doing (lots of people). We had 1 king, 2 queens, and 3 full bathrooms. We also had a pull-out sofa in the den, a small dining area, and a full kitchen. The "master bedroom" contained the king bed, and had just enough floor space for 2 single inflatable mattresses. We managed fine. Yes, the beds aren't great, but more than adequate. Important points: no box springs, low to the ground, ours didn't have a mattress pad, and our sheet wasn't fitted and not really big enough to cover the bare mattress (so when you turned over in the middle of the night, you may find yourself lying on bare mattress). But everyone, every night, slept very well -- hard not to when you are so tired from the fantastic skiing.
The kitchen was fine, with a fridge that made ice, a full over, a microwave, a sink, and a dishwasher. TV was a flat screen, and we could tune into the major networks, plus things like CNN, ESPN, ESPN2, and a I think even Showtime. All of the bedrooms had TVs too.
So the actual room was acceptable, not fantastic. But what was really special about the place was location. We could ski literally right out of our first floor ski locker, and our kids were so close to the ski school. And we were in the Village, close to shops, restaurants, and Starbucks (great for my wife!). Parking was not confusing, as others have noted. There was a small parking lot right next to hotel (which fronted the ski school); this was full, as the front desk person had warned us. So they clearly told us to park across the street, in a lot with a gate (she gave us the pass that would open the gate). Instructions on how to get to our hotel and park were very clear, so I found that check-in was seamless and helpful.
One last thing: our family was essentially first-time skiiers, and particularly our 5 and 7 year old girls had never been on skis before. Our ski school experience was fantastic! The teachers were, across the board, fantastic. The kids loved each of their instructors (mostly young guys in their early to mid 20's, it seemed), and left ski school each day begging for more. Both girls finished our 4 day vacation pretty much able to ski, and more importantly, begging to go back to Snowshoe. We didn't predict (but had certainly hoped) that it would go this well. I have the Snowshoe ski school to thank for this, and our proximity to it in Expedition Station ultimately defined our vacation experience. We will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: we loved our view of the skiing, so you might request slopeside views (we had not). the other side l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The location was great and the view was terrific, but the room was tiny and the bed was the most back-breaking experience I've ever encountered. The dining in the village was not very good considering how pricey it was. The skiing experience, however, was thoroughly enjoyable considering we were first-timers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

You can't beat the location of this property. It was perfect for getting around the slopes, the kids' ski school, and the village. Not convenient for anything beyond Allegheny Springs. When we first got there, it was amazing, however, it soon turned down hill. We were on slop side. It's amazing to see what is going on around you. Being on that side, though, you can hear every little noise of the machines maintaining the slopes, the snow mobile tours at night and the drunk idiots who think skiing is fun drunk and in the dark. We also had the kids with us so we used the pull out couch...it takes up the entire space the room had. Had to keep it folded up while not in use. The kitchenette was pretty worthless. The room smelled like urine when the air freshener wore off. The windows opened without a screen thanks to a previous renter, which was cool for us adults but not for kids. (It was fun to sit in window and watch my family ski by when I was done with my skiing). The ski lockers were nice to have but they didn't hold much once you get ski boots in there. It's hard to maneuver around in the locker room. Dryers on the first floor were only .75c which was nice. We will stay there again for the convenience but now we know what to expect.

Room Tip: Slope side is great for the view but bring ear plugs for night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern US
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights in December 2011. The best thing about Expedition Station is location, which is at the central area of the resort, close to the schools and lifts, and close the village shops and restaurants.

On to the negatives. The room was quite small. Even with two people, we felt cramped. As others have noted, the bed is a bad joke. It was low and just a mattress, and reminds me of the futon I slept on when I was in college, not some upscale ski resort. Speaking of the bed -- the corners of the frames are dangerous. There is a metal cap on the corners, and these caps on our bed were falling off, and I stubbed my toe on them twice while walking through the crowded room. It seemed like they were going for the Scandinavian look inside the room, but it wasn't very appealing to us. I'm not sure what the daily service provided, since they didn't always make the bed and never gave us more coffee. The kitchenette is functional, but very small, and there is no dishwasher, so you have to wash your dishes by hand.

You have to store your skis and snowboards in the locker room on the first floor. This wasn't explained very well to me at check in (just a passing mention of a combination, and not that we were required to store our stuff there or where the lockers were located). When we got to Expedition Station, it took me a long time to find the lockers. The locker room is tiny and crammed with lockers for everyone in the building, and therefore it would get crowded if there were more than a few people there. There is only one small bench to sit on. The lock is a combination lock, so you have to memorize the combination or take the paper with you.

The staff at the resort was hit or miss, mostly miss. Parking is a big problem there, and the directions they provided at check in were confusing (and wrong) and required a follow-up call to figure out where I was supposed to park (across the street, since the lot for the building was completely full). Overall, we found the staff to be unresponsive and indifferent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I loved the Expedition Station. It is right on the slope. Doesn't get any better than this. They have ski lockers on the ground floor which is very convenient. The rooms are very clean and modern with big screen tv and modern furniture. The small kitchen is more than enough for a weekend getaway.

If it weren't for the bed, I'd give this a 5 star rating. The top of the mattress of the bed is literally about 8 inches from the ground. Deep knee bends in the middle of the night to use the bathroom or first thing in the morning it's no problem but if you don't...I recommend sleeping on the bed.

Okay, the bed again. There is no box spring. It is a mattress laid on a sheet of plywood box. It is hard as a rock. Some people like hard, not me. If you don't I recommend sleeping on the couch.

Other than the bed, I'd say the place was absolutely great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Slopeside AND in the middle of the village. So convenient to not have to get in the car or a crowded bus to get from here to there. They have lockers right downstairs where you can secure your gear and the ticket office is also directly in front of the back entrance. Finding a parking spot was a little tough even at the end of the season, and there is no place to directly drive up to load/unload.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Expedition Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expedition Station

Address: Snowshoe Drive, Snowshoe Mountain Resort, Snowshoe, WV
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Expedition Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering junior studio, two bedroom, two bedroom with den, and three bedroom condos, Expedition Station's contemporary styling offers a completely new lodging alternative for guest at Snowshoe. Junior studios and two-bedroom units are equipped with an efficiency kitchen. Junior studios sleep 2-4 people, with a select few that only sleep 2 and some units will have a pull-down Murphy bed. All units are air conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Expedition Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expedition Station Hotel Snowshoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expedition Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.