We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Silver Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Snowshow Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snowshoe
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was our first ski trip to Snowshoe/Silver Creek in 2 years and fifth overall in the last 12. We also made a summertime trip to Snowshoe over the summer. So we know the know the resort pretty well. Here is our impression of where things stand up there today.

The Good.

The Silver Creek Lodge has had a modest face lift. New paint, new carpet, and I think new wall paper (either that or they have cleaned it). There's still lots of room for improvement, but it at least has better curb appeal than it did two years ago. And our condo itself was amazing. They've also made it much easier to book through the resort and even comp you a continental breakfast.

Food service at Snowshoe is much more efficient than it used to be. They've obviously hired more kitchen help and they seem to do a decent job retaining wait staff (the manager at the Junction even remembered us from our summer stay). And the food is pretty good, too.

They've also added more shuttles between the Basin and Silver Creek. My son and I were able to get back from the Western Territories in about 15 minutes from stop to stop. Getting to dinner in the Village was fairly painless, too.

The Bad
No warning that the Tubing park tickets are sold in blocks starting at the top of the hour every other hour, which through off our plans for the day we arrived. They also opened it two hours later on Saturday. Inexcusable.

Still no overnight ski check. Guests have to carry their skis and boards back up to their rooms every night. They could make money on a ski check and save money on maintenance (two years ago the carpets literally stank from the snow that had melted on them over the years). It makes no sense to have it.

The Ugly
Intrawest has not put a dime into improving the lift capacity at the resort in the 12 years we've been coming there. People we spoke to got stuck in 30 minute lift lines. Worse, the lift operators are trigger happy and stop the lifts constantly it took us 20 minutes to ride the Cascade lift one morning because it was stopped a dozen times!

Last but not least, they have created an unsafe situation by the Powderidge Lift by placing a snowboard jump next to a beginner cross trail. We saw a five year old boy get knocked into next week by a snowboarder who took the jump too fast. Utterly inexcusable to set up that situation.

Bottom Line
We love the reliable snow and the indoor/outdoor pool at Silver Creek. But we will not be returning until the lift capacity is upgraded.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 1994Wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Shady Spring, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Thankfully this is just where you go to sleep, change your ski clothes, shower, & like totally not look at the decor. Lol It is a bit comforting, in a strange way, as it takes me back to the 80's, & then a bit strange as I'm the grown up with kids!! It's clean, fireplace works great, & ceiling fans rock, man! Lots of space for all your gear; we had a 2 BR, 2 BA which was "awesome" for the 5 of us. Kitchen had full size appliances that were all working, clean, & had some pans/utensils. Showers were quirky, but hot. Somebody's toboggan was in the closet floor, so I'm guessing they don't clean in there. Beds slept alright, with the exception of the sofa bed. Our oldest son said it was bad! Overall, too much $ for what you're getting. They need to adjust their prices. It's at Silvercreek, not at the top of the Mt at the main hub. We were there as volunteers in that area. Check your ski map. Oh, & no wifi unless you're in a certain area of the room at a very particular time (say 3am) Just get away from it all, no cell service. You're on vacation!!! Oh, it's the 80s!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Snowshoe hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

If you are planning a 2-4 person SKI trip, and you are south of West Virginia...this is the place in my opinion. Yes, things are a little outdated (like built in 1983 outdated), but the SKIING is awesome. We stayed for 4 nights, skiied our brains out, slept, ate, skied/snowboarded more for all $1300 including loft, ski tickets, and food. NOT BAD! Our loft was just right for 3 people, and 4 could have stayed just fine. Each room had a TV, 2 full baths, full kitchen with dishes/utensils. The housekeeping was timely and courteous. Small negative stuff: as you may/may not know...there is no cell phone service in Slatyfork or Snowshoe Mtn due to a large Astrological Radar Dish (I'm not kidding). Internet service is give and go (we did have WifI, although shakey connection as best). The positives certainly out weighed the negatives...An indoor/outdoor pool and jacuzzi (awesome/nice)...although again, slightly outdated. Even a Sauna. Silver Creek has its own ski in/out entrance and runs. A bus, very reliably, runs to the "Village" area and more runs are there. This location is a "reverse" ski slope where everything is on top and nothing but beauty, lakes and streams are at the bottom...nice!

Room Tip: A loft is good for 3-4 people. Lower floored rooms provide easier access in and out (especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLACKHORSE777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Overall our unit was fantastic, purchased outside of the Silver Creek Rental agency, which meant that we had to take our own garbage out - No Problem. The problem is all the other renters throwing their garbage bags in the hall and it not getting picked up for 12 hours.

It is a dated building, our first time back in 10 years and nothing (at all) has changed. So if your into the latest décor go somewhere else and maybe pay more.

Love the access to the mountain, the grill is great for a lunch break (better if English was at least understood), and the skiing was great - never waited once in a lift line. Plenty of shuttles if you want the Western Territory, we were dropped off right at the access point, no walking. Shuttle to dinner and back was very crowded.

Don't buy any food at the top of the mountain - truck it in like we did or drive back down to the Food Mart at the bottom of the mountain, you will save more than the $4 in gas.

My teenagers tell me there was a game room in the basement, but it gave them the creeps - that takes a lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This place is in bad shape. However, if you just want a place to sleep after skiing and are OK with a Murphy bed setup, this will do. Everything is serviceable but extremely dated. No alcohol (even cans of beer) allowed in the hot tubs, which is probably a good thing considering it wasn't a great place to hang out.

Be sure to bring your own breakfast food to cook in your unit's kitchenette if you do decide to stay here. The breakfast in the cafeteria is old danish, cold cereal and machine coffee at a high price- not the place for a hearty meal before skiing.

Shuttles run pretty regularly up the mountain and you can rent skis at Silver Creek.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostProTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV & TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I'm one of those unit owners and I do agree with some of the older reviews but not now. The building has been completely redone on the outside to the tune of about $5 million, elevators redone and all the windows in the building replaced. As has been said before, each unit is privately owned. I just spent several thousand on upgrading my studio. Units are now rated and priced based on the quality of the décor, features etc. Silver Creek is quieter than the village but it also has night skiing and the tubing hill that the top does not have. Dining. Options are limited but the shuttle will take you to the top in a few minutes. It is a great place for families and new skiers/riders as it isn't as crowded. The child care facility is right there as is the adapted ski program. I've lived on top of the mountain for 8 years and am well aware of all of the issues. It's not perfect but Snowshoe/Silver Creek is the best skiing in the east outside New England.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that have been redone. The picture at the top of this is not Silver Creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WVTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
383 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The rental unit we had at the lodge was fantastic. 2 Bed, 2 bath newly remodeled and very nice. The rest of the buildings public spaces were just disgusting. Nothing a couple rolls of carpet and some paint could not help - but it likley has not been renovated in at least 12-15 years and smells moldy and just rotten. It's a shame as the unit is nice and the setting is great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
0.6 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain
0.2 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#9 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#12 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seneca Condos
Seneca Condos
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Creek Lodge

Address: 10 Snowshow Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Creek Hotel Slatyfork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing