We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect SKI Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Silver Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Snowshow Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snowshoe
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect SKI Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

If you are planning a 2-4 person SKI trip, and you are south of West Virginia...this is the place in my opinion. Yes, things are a little outdated (like built in 1983 outdated), but the SKIING is awesome. We stayed for 4 nights, skiied our brains out, slept, ate, skied/snowboarded more for all $1300 including loft, ski tickets, and food. NOT BAD! Our loft was just right for 3 people, and 4 could have stayed just fine. Each room had a TV, 2 full baths, full kitchen with dishes/utensils. The housekeeping was timely and courteous. Small negative stuff: as you may/may not know...there is no cell phone service in Slatyfork or Snowshoe Mtn due to a large Astrological Radar Dish (I'm not kidding). Internet service is give and go (we did have WifI, although shakey connection as best). The positives certainly out weighed the negatives...An indoor/outdoor pool and jacuzzi (awesome/nice)...although again, slightly outdated. Even a Sauna. Silver Creek has its own ski in/out entrance and runs. A bus, very reliably, runs to the "Village" area and more runs are there. This location is a "reverse" ski slope where everything is on top and nothing but beauty, lakes and streams are at the bottom...nice!

Room Tip: A loft is good for 3-4 people. Lower floored rooms provide easier access in and out (especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLACKHORSE777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Windermere, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Overall our unit was fantastic, purchased outside of the Silver Creek Rental agency, which meant that we had to take our own garbage out - No Problem. The problem is all the other renters throwing their garbage bags in the hall and it not getting picked up for 12 hours.

It is a dated building, our first time back in 10 years and nothing (at all) has changed. So if your into the latest décor go somewhere else and maybe pay more.

Love the access to the mountain, the grill is great for a lunch break (better if English was at least understood), and the skiing was great - never waited once in a lift line. Plenty of shuttles if you want the Western Territory, we were dropped off right at the access point, no walking. Shuttle to dinner and back was very crowded.

Don't buy any food at the top of the mountain - truck it in like we did or drive back down to the Food Mart at the bottom of the mountain, you will save more than the $4 in gas.

My teenagers tell me there was a game room in the basement, but it gave them the creeps - that takes a lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This place is in bad shape. However, if you just want a place to sleep after skiing and are OK with a Murphy bed setup, this will do. Everything is serviceable but extremely dated. No alcohol (even cans of beer) allowed in the hot tubs, which is probably a good thing considering it wasn't a great place to hang out.

Be sure to bring your own breakfast food to cook in your unit's kitchenette if you do decide to stay here. The breakfast in the cafeteria is old danish, cold cereal and machine coffee at a high price- not the place for a hearty meal before skiing.

Shuttles run pretty regularly up the mountain and you can rent skis at Silver Creek.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostProTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV & TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I'm one of those unit owners and I do agree with some of the older reviews but not now. The building has been completely redone on the outside to the tune of about $5 million, elevators redone and all the windows in the building replaced. As has been said before, each unit is privately owned. I just spent several thousand on upgrading my studio. Units are now rated and priced based on the quality of the décor, features etc. Silver Creek is quieter than the village but it also has night skiing and the tubing hill that the top does not have. Dining. Options are limited but the shuttle will take you to the top in a few minutes. It is a great place for families and new skiers/riders as it isn't as crowded. The child care facility is right there as is the adapted ski program. I've lived on top of the mountain for 8 years and am well aware of all of the issues. It's not perfect but Snowshoe/Silver Creek is the best skiing in the east outside New England.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that have been redone. The picture at the top of this is not Silver Creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WVTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
384 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The rental unit we had at the lodge was fantastic. 2 Bed, 2 bath newly remodeled and very nice. The rest of the buildings public spaces were just disgusting. Nothing a couple rolls of carpet and some paint could not help - but it likley has not been renovated in at least 12-15 years and smells moldy and just rotten. It's a shame as the unit is nice and the setting is great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Place has not been updated in forever. The night skiing is great but be aware that Silver Creek is NOT at the top of the mountain where the restaurants and shops are and does not open until after the rest of Snowshoe (it's lower in altitude). You'll wind up driving to get stuff to eat at the top (Misty's is in Silver Creek and it's just ok for fast food) so it's better to stay at the top of the mountain at a place like Summit and do the night skiing here

Room Tip: Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SKI J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Snowshoe hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The skiing was great! It dumped at least 18inches while we were there so that made for a great trip. I have never been the type to write a review but since I work in the hotel industry and read countless nit picking from customers I decided it was my turn. My husband and I had a wonderful stay, the rooms were a little dated but we were there to ski so that was no big deal. Every staff member we encountered was helpful and very nice, with exception of one young housekeeper that was cleaning rooms with her mom on the second floor. She made some not so nice remarks about my husband and I while I was standing in the hall (at least close the door) she was not happy that we were switching rooms, something that was out of our hands. We booked an extra night and the room we had been staying in was booked so the front desk moved us to the room next door. Anyway, she was young so I'll blame it on that. Like I said before I work in the hotel industry in the Great Smoky Mtn's, you name it I've done it. Cleaned rooms, checked rooms, worked the desk, laundry, breakfast, group sales, etc. I understand we all get aggravated at times but calling customers inappropriate names is well...unprofessional!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountaingirljac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
0.6 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain
0.2 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#9 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#12 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snowcrest Condos
Snowcrest Condos
#24 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Creek Lodge

Address: 10 Snowshow Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Silver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Creek Hotel Slatyfork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing