We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, pet-friendly stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slatyfork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Inn
Save Saved
You added Morning Glory Inn to your Saves list
71 Spring road, Route 219, Snowshoe, Slatyfork, WV 26291-0116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Slatyfork
Stamford, CT
1 review
“Great, pet-friendly stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

We had a long road trip ahead of us for Christmas, and decided to stop and ski for a day in Snowshoe. The only issue was that our bulldog was traveling with us and we were having trouble finding pet friendly accommodations. Then we came across the Morning Glory website and luckily they had availability in their pet-friendly room. The owners were extremely acommodating from the minute we arrived and the room was away from the other guests in order to keep it private for both us and them. The room was very large with a nice sized bathroom. Since we had a pet, our room had a small TV and DVD player so that we could stay with the dog, but the large family room with satellite TV and movies was very nice too. The breakfasts were wonderful and were definitely enough to keep you going for most of the day. All in all, Morning Glory was a fantastic place to stay and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We spent two enjoyable nights at the Morning Glory Inn B&B. Very nice. The building was built as a B&B so the room arrangement is efficient and less house like than typical. Our room, and presumably the others, was huge – king size bed, oversize sofa, dresser, three chairs, desk, several tables, and space left over. The style tends toward contemporary resort – casual and comfortable, not the more typical Victorian or antique. Unlike many B&Bs, the Morning Glory is kid friendly.

Breakfast was hearty and excellent featuring pancakes one morning and waffles the other, all served with juice, fruit, and real maple syrup. Preparation and presentation was gourmet. I know gourmet pancakes sounds like a contradiction, but it’s true. The hosts Rod and Karin are friendly and accommodating.

The Morning Glory is as nice as any B&B we have stayed at. When compared with most of the other options in this remote part of West Virginia, it is easy to see why the Morning Glory is an obvious choice.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, SC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

My 76 year old mother and I stayed Wed/Thu nights as part of our annual chick-trip. We were the only guests the first night so had the facility and the house-cat to ourselves. We requested 2 beds since Mom is restless at night.

The pictures on the website, don't do the place justice! The room had two queen sized beds facing each other, nightstands and lamps on each side, a reading alcove with 2 wicker chairs and a round table, a built in desk and chair, a large dresser and a beautiful bathroom with whirlpool tub. Everything is so clean and new looking. Paneled ceiling with skylight, quilts for wall hangings. Wonderful breakfasts while watching hummingbirds at the feeder.

The lingering rain from tropical depression Fay kept us from getting out and exploring the grounds; we took advantage of the quiet to curl up and do a lot of reading.

  • Liked — tranquility and great food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

My family stayed at the Morning Glory Inn while skiing at Snow Shoe. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We rented two rooms - one for our three children and one for us. The rooms were very spaciousl. The family room was the center of activity for the guests, and during our visit we had the pleasure of spending time with the other guests. To top it off, the breakfast was delicious! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2005

We stayed at the Morning Glory Inn last winter for a 4 day snowboarding trip and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of this B&B. Breakfast each morning was a 3-course gourmet affair that was lovingly cooked by the owners, who used to work in the restaurant industry. This was plenty of food to get us through the first half of the day on the mountain and we really only needed a light lunch! The rooms were warm and comfortable - large size bedroom with nice, newly remodeled bathrooms. The room on the first floor, off the living room, could be a little large if the TV was turned up too loud, but it didn't really bother us. If you go to bed early, you may want to request a different room. The owners actually sketched out the B&B and had it built from their design. Great place to stay - highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morning Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Inn

Address: 71 Spring road, Route 219, Snowshoe, Slatyfork, WV 26291-0116
Location: United States > West Virginia > Slatyfork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Slatyfork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed and breakfast located at snowshoe west virginia. We are 2 miles from the entrance of the ski resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Slatyfork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Glory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.