We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Must Stay' if you are in the area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slatyfork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Inn
71 Spring road, Route 219, Snowshoe, Slatyfork, WV 26291-0116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Slatyfork
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A 'Must Stay' if you are in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were heading for Cass to ride the train there, and were looking for somewhere reasonably priced to stay that wasn't a million miles away. A Google search provided several options, but having read the previous reviews on these, we had to give 'Morning Glory' a try. Not only was it only 16 miles from Cass, it was amongst the cheapest on offer, had a website that was informative and easy to navigate around and the reviews were universally positive - and with good reason as we found out during our stay. Both Rod and Karin were informative, friendly and helpful during our brief stay, and the room we were allocated was large,airy and elegantly furnished. The modern heating system worked well, which was important to us as we had just travelled from 95 deg in Florida to 40 deg in Slatyfork, as did the very fast WiFi system. Breakfast in the morning was a treat and included Karins homemade Granola, Banana and Walnut cake as well as a selection of fresh fruit salad, yoghurts several cereals, and different types of bread. Rod also offered to make us scrambled eggs as well, but we declined knowing that we wouldnt be able to do this justice once we had indulged ourselves with the other options available. A lovely couple and a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Just take what you are given!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Rod and Karin, thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. The extra large accomodations were very comfy. Your breakfast was excellent, the cheesy eggs and the home made granola were such a treat each morning. We stayed 4 nights, wish we could have stayed longer. We will recommend this place to anyone who is staying in the Snowshoe Mountain area. Thank you for spoiling us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, WV
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Morning Glory Inn! Everything I read about the B&B on Trip Advisor was right on target. Rod and Karin could not have been more accommodating.We were very impressed from the moment we walked in until our departure. The room was very CLEAN and comfortable. It was very peaceful and quiet. The fall foliage was spectacular!!! The breakfast was excellent and the dining room was very cozy. It was home away from home. Thank you Rod and Karin. We would love to stay with you again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here only one night but wished it was longer! Cleanest place I have ever stayed at. Stayed herebthe night I got engaged, and the atmosphere is perfect. I would highly suggest staying here if you are looking for a relaxed stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Chesterfield, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was a quick one night stay while visiting friends in the area. Room was large, comfy and clean. There was good coffee in the room. Breakfast was delicious. The cheesy eggs with the homemade green chili salsa is a must try as are the home made breads and granola. Next time, we'll plan a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My BF and I stayed here on our leaf peeping weekend trip last fall. The B&B was really charming, and the couple that run it very friendly. The rooms were clean and the bed comfy. The fireplace to sit in front of in the evening with our wine while playing a card game was also a nice touch. Breakfast was great. Lots of homemade breads and pastries to chose from, yummy eggs. There aren't too many places to stay out this way, and they did a really great job of making it homey. An equally nice touch was the email we got a week later (after the snowstorm) thanking us for our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Based on the very positive reviews from Trip Advisor, I reserved room #205 for a recent trip to the Cass and Durbin West VA area. If you are looking for a wonderful, comfortable, impeccably clean Inn with the most accommodating host and hostess....the Morning Gory Inn is for you! Book ahead -- as this lovely Inn gets booked up pretty fast during Fall color, Skiing season, summer and well...just about all year.

We were in the area to ride some local steam engine trains at Cass and Durbin West Virginia and this is a great location for both of those train rides and many others offered in the area. The breakfast offering was 'over the top'...a wonderful buffet of fresh fruit, yogurt, cold cereal selections, toast, fresh (and really good) coffee, juice, tea, etc. etc. As if that was not enough....Rod offered wonderful scrambled eggs each day "plain or cheesy" to meet the needs of all.

The rooms are HUGE - beautifully appointed and the bathroom...almost a spa experience! A fabulous front porch for sitting, rocking, chatting and a lovely TV/conversation gathering room.

Rod and Karin have not left anything to chance...it is truly a FIVE star class act!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morning Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Inn

Address: 71 Spring road, Route 219, Snowshoe, Slatyfork, WV 26291-0116
Location: United States > West Virginia > Slatyfork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Slatyfork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed and breakfast located at snowshoe west virginia. We are 2 miles from the entrance of the ski resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Slatyfork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Glory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Morning Glory Inn to your Saves list