We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There IS a place like home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slatyfork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Inn
Save
You added Morning Glory Inn to your Saves list
71 Spring road, Route 219, Snowshoe, Slatyfork, WV 26291-0116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slatyfork
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There IS a place like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Man I really liked it here! I stayed here 3 different times. Every time the place is better, they work on it every year. Not only sparkling clean but comfortable. There's always birds chirping outside and lots of trees. I feel like I'm in a Northern Garden of Eden but with coffee and pastries ready for me downstairs when I wake up. The other lodging in the area is too $$$ for me :( The rooms are big, and good quality here. Most important the beds are very good so it's a great night's sleep if nothing else. I never got woke up by crying babies or people talking loud, it's all good, it's for people who know what they want and they want a quality place to stay. Nice getaway whether skiing or just got to get away for awhile. After a few days here I have to remind myself that it's not my home. That's the way a B&B should be, no crummy hotels for me!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

My wife and I just got back from celebrating our anniversary and a birthday in WV with a Snowshoe getaway. We found the Snowshoe resort prices to be far too high, and always prefer B&Bs whenever they are closely. The Morning Glory Inn is a short 10-15 min drive from all the Snowshoe resort action, and Rod and Karin do everything they can to make your stay comfortable. They gave us great restaurant tips (try the Elk River Inn restaurant - you won't be disappointed) and the deluxe continental (one hot item each day) was more than enough for us. The room was very spacious, and Rod was kind enough to let us bring our pet with us (with advanced approval) to celebrate. This place cannot be beat for its value and quiet charm.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I decided on Thursday to take a quick roadtrip on Sunday and Monday of Columbus Day weekend to see the leaves and other sights of West Virginia. I found the Morning Glory Inn with a Google map search, called, and a quick chat with Rod ascertained that the (only) dog room was available Sunday night. He mentioned it had twin beds, so I invited a friend and off we went.

We enjoyed everything about our stay - stopped on the way in at Woody's BBQ Shack and picked up a rack of ribs and sides for a good price, got checked in, took a little stroll, then chowed down on a great meal. Our hosts were exactly the right balance between welcoming and unobtrusive - warm and informative, but not all over you like some are. The room was fine, good-sized and very comfortable, all the usual amenities and everything functional and as expected. A mini-fridge was provided in the room, along with a coffeemaker in the entryway just outside (this room shares an entrance door with the laundry room, with the added attraction of inside access to the kitchen, which has a microwave and a big refrigerator, both available to use as well.) We didn't use the TV, but there was one with info about satellite and DVDs to get from the main sitting room (which we also didn't really use, but it looked nice). We slept great, enjoyed the breakfast - a good continental with scrambled eggs to order that morning - and really enjoyed a nice long walk up the hill behind the inn. It's a gravel road, with a house here and there, and on our 3-mile+ walk on Monday morning we didn't see a single car or for that matter another person, just a couple of deer, a lot of birds and a few other critters here and there.

I'd recommend the Morning Glory Inn to anyone who wants a comfortable place to stay with all the basic amenities, for a good price.

Room Tip: If you want to use the dog room, be sure it's available since there is only the one. And be war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkkk, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thanks for your review. We now can convert the twins into a king size bed with a conversion kit we purchased. hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Morning Glory Inn is a lovely B&B in the rural Snowshoe Mountain / Cass Scenic Railroad area. The owners were friendly and helpful, but non-intrusive. The queen bed room we stayed in was quite large, with a full size couch and mini fridge. The whole space was very clean. The room did not have air conditioning, but even in August, we really didn't need it, because there are ample fans and cool mountain air. Breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious -- the main attraction was blueberry pancakes, but there were other items available on a continental buffet -- hard boiled eggs, banana bread, yogurt, fruit. We enjoyed our one night there so much, we're thinking of going back in the winter for some snowshoeing! From what we heard, both from the owner Rod and one of the conductors at Cass, the area does an excellent job of plowing the roads in the winter, so we shouldn't have too much trouble getting there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On The Road
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Tried and true B&B guests should understand that this is NOT the normal B & B experience that you are used to.
It is not your average experience, don't come with expectations of previous B & B's.

The Morning Glory Inn is an affordable, clean, spacious, and relaxing place to stay when visiting the Snowshoe area.

We had checked prices all around the geographic area, and we finally chose the Morning Glory Inn. We are glad we did - it was a great experience.

There were 4 of us, so we had reserved a room with a king bed and a queen bed - unfortunately there was a guest in the room who chose to stay another night - so the owners gave us two separate rooms which was totally OK with us - but if we had been traveling with kids, it might have been a little more of a challenge.

On to the rooms - the rooms are HUGE, they all have a private bath, and the are all very well equipped for a short or long stay. They have a coffee maker and mini-fridge in each room which we used for cold drinks.

The Inn is not air conditioned but provided sufficient fans to keeps the rooms cool at night. It was very hot during our stay, but the rooms stayed comfortable in the evening and night. It was really nice to sleep with the windows open!

The front porch is amazing, and the sound of the small stream just over the hill provided a great soundtrack to our visit. The wicker chairs and the rocking chairs on the porch made for an incredibly relaxing evening each night when we returned.

Don't expect a full hot breakfast like at most B & B's - you will have access to a continental breakfast spread for 2 hours each morning, which we actually thought was more convenient than a fixed- hard and fast time to be 'ready' for breakfast.

Don't expect plush and luxury - expect comfortable and adequate.
Don't expect to feel like you are being watched.
Don't expect to feel as though you are staying in someone's private home.

You won't regret choosing the Morning Glory - but you might wonder what you are going to do with all of the money that are saving by not staying on top of the mountain at Snowshoe.

We had a positive experience, and would return.

Oh, and there is a house cat - she is extremely friendly, and is more than willing to take part in your stay with you if you invite her in. She is beautiful, playful, and her owners love her very much by keeping her clean, well groomed and inside. SHE is the only evidence that you will find of a pet in the house - you won't find hair, or any type of pet smell.
I have some allergic reaction to cats, but I had no reaction at all to her - she was a great friend during our stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkkk, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
We are ao glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Wanted to let you know that we do make a note in our reservations book the number of adults and children in each room. We never would have seperated parents with children. We hope you enjoyed the convience of an extra bathroom and well as the added privacy of 2 rooms for 4 adults. Hope to see you again! Karin and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We had a wonderful experience at this inn. It's peaceful and close to great outdoors activities like skiing at Snowshoe and hiking in the many acres of parks. The owners make you feel like you're in your own home tucked away in the beautiful West Virginia mountains. They were very accommodating to our needs and set out a delicious breakfast each morning. The rooms are large, comfortable, nicely decorated, complete with mini fridges and very comfortable beds. Great quality sheets! This inn is an exceptional value for the money and I highly recommend it for quiet relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I immediately fell in love with the large welcoming front porch full with tables and chairs to sit and talk, drink wine or coffee and gaze at the beautiful changing leaves on the mountains. Walking in the front door was just as comforting with beautifully decorated open rooms with high wood ceilings and floors. Our large room was also not a disappointment with a king size bed, and again decorated very warmly.
The owners were welcoming (even though we arrived a bit late), but also not prying - letting us enjoy ourselves as guests in thier home. I was appaled that one guest thought thier refridgerator was community property as well - as he looked through it for lunchmeat later in the evening!!!!! People do you not know that B&B's are their homes!!! Bring your own snacks for late night-munchies!! Anyway, we would definately stay there again - so much more relaxing than a motel! Can't wait to come see it in the winter ski-season!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slatyfork
4.5 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
2.2 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 4 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cass Scenic Railroad State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
4.5 mi away
Allegheny Springs Condos at Snowshoe Mountain
4.5 mi away
Serenity Now
Serenity Now
#2 of 4 in Snowshoe
5.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Inn

Address: 71 Spring road, Route 219, Snowshoe, Slatyfork, WV 26291-0116
Location: United States > West Virginia > Slatyfork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slatyfork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wee are a hotel/bed and breakfast located near Snowshoe Mountain Resort and Cass Scenic Railroad. Wee have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor. All rooms have air conditioning, hd Ty's and wi fi. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Slatyfork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Glory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.