We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, comfortable and homey in a picturesque setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slatyfork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Inn
Save
You added Morning Glory Inn to your Saves list
71 Spring road, Route 219, Snowshoe, Slatyfork, WV 26291-0116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Slatyfork
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy, comfortable and homey in a picturesque setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We had a wonderful experience at this inn. It's peaceful and close to great outdoors activities like skiing at Snowshoe and hiking in the many acres of parks. The owners make you feel like you're in your own home tucked away in the beautiful West Virginia mountains. They were very accommodating to our needs and set out a delicious breakfast each morning. The rooms are large, comfortable, nicely decorated, complete with mini fridges and very comfortable beds. Great quality sheets! This inn is an exceptional value for the money and I highly recommend it for quiet relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I immediately fell in love with the large welcoming front porch full with tables and chairs to sit and talk, drink wine or coffee and gaze at the beautiful changing leaves on the mountains. Walking in the front door was just as comforting with beautifully decorated open rooms with high wood ceilings and floors. Our large room was also not a disappointment with a king size bed, and again decorated very warmly.
The owners were welcoming (even though we arrived a bit late), but also not prying - letting us enjoy ourselves as guests in thier home. I was appaled that one guest thought thier refridgerator was community property as well - as he looked through it for lunchmeat later in the evening!!!!! People do you not know that B&B's are their homes!!! Bring your own snacks for late night-munchies!! Anyway, we would definately stay there again - so much more relaxing than a motel! Can't wait to come see it in the winter ski-season!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

The cabins were cozy and very roomy - a perfect hideaway - and the hosts Karin and Rod were warm and inviting. I felt at home the moment I walked in, and the location was perfect. It's just a handful of miles away from Snowshoe, but I'd come back, skiing or not. The mountains, the cabins, everything was beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

I was impressed with the size of room. Nicely done. I missed having a t.v. in room for evening viewing . community t.v. just doesn't do it for me.
Very disappointed in breakfast. The 'b' in breakfast wasn't worth writing home about. only thing hot was scrambled eggs with or without cheese. Where were the pancakes, pastries, french toast? we got a better breakfast at a holiday inn express.
Bring your own reading material. Mags are old and hardly any books to read.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkkk, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
My husband and I are very sorry you did not enjoy your mom and pop, bed and breakfast experience. We recently made a large donation of book to our local library. However, we have several paperbooks floating around, and large stacks of magazines. We are sorry you could not find something to read for your 1 nite with us. Our breakfasts DO consist of the usual items. But we do provide bowls of fresh fruit , homemade banana bread, and 1 hot item. We do pancakes and french toast, but on different days. We are very sorry this was not enough for you. Many people enjoy not having a tv in their bedroom. However, had we known this was important to you, we could have told you about the motel at the corner. You are right. A motel experience and a bed and breakfast experience are NOT the same. Their are motel people and bed and breakfast people. We are sorry we disappointed you. We try very hard to provide a friendly experience, with a large clean room, and breakfast for a good price. thank you Karin and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We found nothing to complain about here. This is a recently built, contemporary home with soaring cathedral ceilings. The rooms are gigantic with incredibly comfortable beds, the hosts are gracious and not overbearing, and breakfast is good with a nice continental spread and, at least on weekends, a hot item (we had pancakes.. yum!! I think the owners have a culinary background, and it shows.) A huge front porch invites you to relax and take in the scenery. )Hint hint... would it be possible to put in a nice outside hottub for a soak after a long day???) The price is right too. You cannot go wrong here!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This is a clean, well maintained inn. Large rooms, nice bathrooms, and friendly owners. Owners have nice recommendations for dinner. My husband and I enjoyed our adventure weekend in the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Very roomy and comfortable plus an unbelievably beautiful location close to Snowshoe. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morning Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Inn

Address: 71 Spring road, Route 219, Snowshoe, Slatyfork, WV 26291-0116
Location: United States > West Virginia > Slatyfork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Slatyfork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed and breakfast located at snowshoe west virginia. We are 2 miles from the entrance of the ski resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Slatyfork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Glory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.