We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for Snowshoe travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk River Inn & Cabins

Elk River Inn & Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slatyfork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk River Inn & Cabins
Save Saved
You added Elk River Inn & Cabins to your Saves list
U.S. Highway 219, Slatyfork, WV 26291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Slatyfork B&B and Inns
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great option for Snowshoe travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at Elk River many times, and are never disappointed. The prices are extremely reasonable - for only an extra 20 minute drive up the mountain to Snowshoe, you can save a ton of money for a weekend stay.
We originally were referred to the place by some locals, and on top of everything you can get a wonderful dinner at their restaurant. They have rooms enough to accomodate a couple or a group of singles, and the breakfast is always good with a few options.
As an added bonus, weather dependent, you can get some cross country skiing in, they have rentals right on their property and trails from their back door. Really like staying here ;o)
They also have cabins for other size groups.

Room Tip: Mary's Birdhouse is a cute little cabin as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St George Brant
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We needed a place to stay in the area of Cass. ERI provides a nice place to stay and dine all in one spot. The dinner in the dining room was very good food but quite pricy. But given the fact that it must cost more to get food delivered to Slatyfork, I can understand the prices. Breakfast was good as well. I can not imagine a better place to stay and dine in this area.
Dont expect to be waited on here as a B&B guest. They leave you on your own to roam around, rest, relax, have a beer, walk the trails and play cards in one of the lounges. The rooms are clean but need some touch up. The bed was fine and never expected a TV in the room up here. But there was! The drive over to Cass was lovely. Allow extra time though as the road is winding.

Room Tip: Take a room that does not face the road if you have the windows open at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg,WV
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 2 nights at the Inn and found the rooms very clean, the peace and quiet relaxing and the staff very friendly. It is a small, family run business nestled in one of the prettiest parts of WV. There are many attractions nearby, such as Snowshoe ski resort, Cass Railroad, Greenbank Observatory and great trout fishing. I saved the best for last! Their restaurant is one of our favorites, not only in WV, but anywhere! Their chef is renowned and he's a very young man who is very creative! The food can rival any 5 star restaurant. As an added bonus, if you dine on Thursday nights, the Elk River Ramblers( Guitar, mandelin and fiddle) will entertain you with great folk, Irish and bluegrass music. Highly recommend the Inn, Restaurant and the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Sit, stay, and enjoy! There is no rush here. Gives the feeling of a manhattan/Chicagoan restaurant in the woods of West Virginia.

The chef has truly created a West Virginia inspired menu with a high class spin. Tastefully combined local produce and meat (farm to table at its best if you ask me) with a very modern element to backwoods southern food. The Mac and cheese is to die for. One qualm: the trout was amazing but would have been just that much better if it was deboned. Wine selection is satisfactory but clearly chosen with purpose for food pairing. Worth every penny.

Atmosphere is cozy cozy cozy. In a farm house beside a creek (almost an over the river and thru the woods senario!). Backyard full of butterflies, flowers, and a fresh garden. Would be a lovely spot for a small romantic wedding. About 5-7 miles from the base of snowshoe mountain so it keeps its quaint charm away from the large skiing/biking hoards. But for those that make the trip off the mountain you won't be disappointed.

Looking forward to bringing my girlfriends here on my next trip!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This was a great little bed & breakfast which ran me about $140/night including a great breakfast. The room was certainly on the small side and a bit dated but was very comfortable and had quite a bit of character. They have one of the best restaurants for dinner in the area as well. The property was beautiful and only took about 10 minutes to get to Snowshoe for some skiing. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Inn while on a skiing trip to Snowshoe. The winter price of $95 for the 3 of us provided a cozy room with 2 double beds plus a twin bed and a full breakfast each morning. The drive was about 20 min. up to skiing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night on a weekend trip while biking the Green River Trail. It's in a beautiful area of the mountains, very rural and picturesque. Focus in the winter is skiing and the rest of the year is mountain biking and fly fishing.

Our room was small, and if we'd been there more then 1 night it would have been crowded since we didn't really have much for luggage. It's a newer building and the decor is I guess what you'd call contemporary country, nothing special in my book. It's the beautiful location that really makes this place

We ate dinner in the restaurant and that was fabulous. They had music that Saturday night. Not sure how often they do that.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk River Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk River Inn & Cabins

Address: U.S. Highway 219, Slatyfork, WV 26291
Location: United States > West Virginia > Slatyfork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Slatyfork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Inn rooms include WiFi and are close to walking, Nordic trails, private stream access, large living room on first floor and spacious outdoor decks. Famous full breakfast with tasty starters such as homemade blueberry pancakes, breads, quiches, fresh seasonal fruit, handmade granola, cheese grits and locally roasted fresh coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk River Inn And Cabins
Elk River Inn & Cabins Hotel Slatyfork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk River Inn & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.