We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The peace and quiet of WV!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk River Inn & Cabins

Elk River Inn & Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slatyfork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk River Inn & Cabins
Save
You added Elk River Inn & Cabins to your Saves list
U.S. Highway 219, Slatyfork, WV 26291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Slatyfork B&B and Inns
Parkersburg,WV
1 review
“The peace and quiet of WV!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 2 nights at the Inn and found the rooms very clean, the peace and quiet relaxing and the staff very friendly. It is a small, family run business nestled in one of the prettiest parts of WV. There are many attractions nearby, such as Snowshoe ski resort, Cass Railroad, Greenbank Observatory and great trout fishing. I saved the best for last! Their restaurant is one of our favorites, not only in WV, but anywhere! Their chef is renowned and he's a very young man who is very creative! The food can rival any 5 star restaurant. As an added bonus, if you dine on Thursday nights, the Elk River Ramblers( Guitar, mandelin and fiddle) will entertain you with great folk, Irish and bluegrass music. Highly recommend the Inn, Restaurant and the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Sit, stay, and enjoy! There is no rush here. Gives the feeling of a manhattan/Chicagoan restaurant in the woods of West Virginia.

The chef has truly created a West Virginia inspired menu with a high class spin. Tastefully combined local produce and meat (farm to table at its best if you ask me) with a very modern element to backwoods southern food. The Mac and cheese is to die for. One qualm: the trout was amazing but would have been just that much better if it was deboned. Wine selection is satisfactory but clearly chosen with purpose for food pairing. Worth every penny.

Atmosphere is cozy cozy cozy. In a farm house beside a creek (almost an over the river and thru the woods senario!). Backyard full of butterflies, flowers, and a fresh garden. Would be a lovely spot for a small romantic wedding. About 5-7 miles from the base of snowshoe mountain so it keeps its quaint charm away from the large skiing/biking hoards. But for those that make the trip off the mountain you won't be disappointed.

Looking forward to bringing my girlfriends here on my next trip!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This was a great little bed & breakfast which ran me about $140/night including a great breakfast. The room was certainly on the small side and a bit dated but was very comfortable and had quite a bit of character. They have one of the best restaurants for dinner in the area as well. The property was beautiful and only took about 10 minutes to get to Snowshoe for some skiing. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Inn while on a skiing trip to Snowshoe. The winter price of $95 for the 3 of us provided a cozy room with 2 double beds plus a twin bed and a full breakfast each morning. The drive was about 20 min. up to skiing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night on a weekend trip while biking the Green River Trail. It's in a beautiful area of the mountains, very rural and picturesque. Focus in the winter is skiing and the rest of the year is mountain biking and fly fishing.

Our room was small, and if we'd been there more then 1 night it would have been crowded since we didn't really have much for luggage. It's a newer building and the decor is I guess what you'd call contemporary country, nothing special in my book. It's the beautiful location that really makes this place

We ate dinner in the restaurant and that was fabulous. They had music that Saturday night. Not sure how often they do that.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, WV
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

This was our second trip to Elk River. I attended Sue Haywood/ Christy Lanier's women's mtn biking weekend. THIS TRIP WAS WONDERFUL!!! I love the inn and the staff are wonderful. The food is amazing- don't bother with driving to snowshoe for dinner, eat at the inn!
The cabin was just what we needed- rustic and fully equipped, it was clean but we did not worry about our stinky selves being too dirty to be inside.
The clinic was great and my partner and his friend did alot of the trails as well- and had great rides for 3 days!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elk River Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk River Inn & Cabins

Address: U.S. Highway 219, Slatyfork, WV 26291
Location: United States > West Virginia > Slatyfork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Slatyfork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Inn rooms include WiFi and are close to walking, Nordic trails, private stream access, large living room on first floor and spacious outdoor decks. Famous full breakfast with tasty starters such as homemade blueberry pancakes, breads, quiches, fresh seasonal fruit, handmade granola, cheese grits and locally roasted fresh coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk River Inn & Cabins Hotel Slatyfork
Elk River Inn And Cabins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk River Inn & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.