We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Creek has been updated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Creek Resort

Save Saved
You added Silver Creek Resort to your Saves list
Silver Creek Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Creek Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Silver Creek Parkway, Slatyfork, WV 26291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Slatyfork
WV & TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Silver Creek has been updated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I'm one of those unit owners and I do agree with some of the older reviews but not now. The building has been completely redone on the outside to the tune of about $5 million, elevators redone and all the windows in the building replaced. As has been said before, each unit is privately owned. I just spent several thousand on upgrading my studio. Units are now rated and priced based on the quality of the décor, features etc. Silver Creek is quieter than the village but it also has night skiing and the tubing hill that the top does not have. Dining. Options are limited but the shuttle will take you to the top in a few minutes. It is a great place for families and new skiers/riders as it isn't as crowded. The child care facility is right there as is the adapted ski program. I've lived on top of the mountain for 8 years and am well aware of all of the issues. It's not perfect but Snowshoe/Silver Creek is the best skiing in the east outside New England.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that have been redone. The picture at the top of this is not Silver Creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
earth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The condos are in desperate need of a deep revamp, the smell is atrocious, think a mixture of over fried foods and chemical burn, carpets are worn out and stained, no wi- fi or cell phone service but you can be entertained by a 30 year old tv with VCR...about the only good thing is the nearby slopes...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I have experienced the feeling of why West Virginia has been called almost heaven! Snow Shoe is that place on earth! The view and atmosphere, is without question the best!! Our weekend at unit 2407, provided us with everything we needed to have a truly great time. Thank you, for letting us have the time of our life. Looking forward to going back!! Sincerely, Jerry and Joyce Mason

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I booked a studio here for $200/night. I thought that was a fair price for a nice ski-in/ski-out small single room in WV. Boy was I wrong...I would have rather camped in the parking lot .The only thing positive about this place is that your right next to your room after night skiing. This place isn't really a resort, more like a dorm room from 1981. The carpets were HORRIBLE, Lobby is in terrible shape, and they charge you for everything. I bought some things from the pro shop, then asked the lady if I could adjust my binding real quick with the screwdriver sitting in her hand and she said not without purchasing a $15 screwdriver...seriously take a class in hospitality. No ice machines, all the shops close at 8, no cell phone usage, no outbound calling without calling card, no free breakfast on weekends as advertised, room was absolutely disgusting, stains on the blankets, work carpet, walls in terrible shape. Shoot, the luggage caddy doesn't even fit in the hallway without smashing into the exit signs. Basically you get your key then you want to jump out the widow for not spending a couple bucks extra to stay in the village. I did complain and got upgraded to expedition station, which is in the village and was gorgeous. Either spend a couple bucks more and stay in the village, or even stay in the bronze level town homes across from the village which are actually cheaper, you'll thank after.

Room Tip: Camp in the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

The room (studio) was clean and recently rennovated. Location was great - located right next to the slopes but away from all the crowds in the village. Price was about what you'd expect for any rooms at a ski resort during the season. Good value.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

I had a great time with my family at the Silver Creek Lodge. It is quieter than the Snowshoe areas. It isn't as congested. My son loved the tubing hill in the back. We also picked up some items we needed in the gift shop and the ski shop in the lobby.

I will go back again !!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkview, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

My family has visited silver creek for years and when it comes to familes this is the only place to stay.

Yes it is an older unit but the lobby & ski rental were totaly redone this year. And the elevators are set to be done soon.However, the bus service to the main mountain is MUCH improved.

And if you have kids or new skiers the main mountain is no place to be. Yes there is limited dining but just jump on one the bus do then enviroment a favor and be at the village in 5 min.

Chuck

ps

as for the units being owned by individuals please be advised that EVERY unit on Snowshoe Mt. is owned by an individual so you will NEVER know exactlywhat the decoes will be nore the quality of the unit.

  • Liked — Location to slopes
  • Disliked — Lack of dinning
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Creek Resort

Address: 1 Silver Creek Parkway, Slatyfork, WV 26291
Location: United States > West Virginia > Slatyfork
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Slatyfork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Creek Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Silver Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Creek Hotel Slatyfork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.