We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Shepherd Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Thomas Shepherd Inn to your Saves list
Thomas Shepherd Inn
300 West German Street, corner of German and Duke Streets, Shepherdstown, WV 25443   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was my first visit to Shepherdstown, WV and of course the Thomas Shepherd Inn. I throughly enjoyed my stay at the inn. The room was so comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. Jeanne and Jim were gracious hosts. I ended up spending more time at the inn and the downtown since the weather did not cooperate for biking the C&O canal. All the places that Jeanne recommended for dining were perfect. Look forward to visiting again! I would highly recommend the inn and exploring all the local spots downtown. A fun and relaxing getaway in spite of the rain!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
48
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had another great time at the Thomas Shepherd! Jeanne & Jim are great hosts and I love what they've done with the room we had this time. Room 1 was 'under construction' during our last visit so we had to try it out this time.

Excellent choice! The room is really comfortable and the king bed is a dream.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Thomas Shepherd Inn is one of the only B&Bs in the Shepherdstown area. We adored its charm and quirky touches in each of the rooms. Don't look for modern amenities... there is no TV in the room, and computer access is in a common room on the second floor. This did not stop my husband and I from enjoying each others company though. We put a puzzle together for the first time in a long time! Shepherdstown is a cute place to enjoy a nice dinner after a day spent in the outdoors (the AT is only miles away, along with the Antietam Battlefield). The only complaint we have is longing for more time in conversation with the owners. We also thought the price was a little high for what we got. Nonetheless, all in all a great time spent in one of our favorite spots in WV!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6, Owner at Thomas Shepherd Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We're glad that you and your husband chose our inn to reconnect with each other, and that you enjoyed our great little getaway town. Although we don't have TVs or telephones in the guest rooms, we do broadcast a wi-fi signal (at no charge) throughout the Inn in addition to the guest computer in the library and provide a television in the common living room. We are sorry that we didn't spend as much time with you as might have liked - we do try not to 'hover' over guests but we are always happy to sit down and chat if we know you want to, especially after breakfast with a nice cup of tea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay at the Thomas Shepherd inn several weeks ago. The inn is well maintained and furnished with beautiful period pieces, centrally located near the downtown area. The owners were friendly and helpful and quite knowledgeable about the area. They thoughtfully had coffee and tea ready before breakfast as well as tea and goodies in the late afternoon for guests. Room 6 was clean, cozy and quite comfortable with everything we needed. Breakfasts were incredibly delicious with creative presentations. Shepherstown is an amazing small town with excellent restaurant choices and interesting shops, and close to Antietam. Thank you Jeanne and Jim for a wonderful stay at the Thomas Shepherd Inn!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just came home from a wonderful weekend in Shepherdstown, WV. Put all your WV prejudice aside as this is a lovely small town and the Inn is right in the heart of it. We chose the room with the garden view which gave us light from two walls. Beautiful period furniture, floor and woodwork. Only a block's walk to several great restaurants and shops. Private bathroom was nice for a historic home. Inn owners were very accommodating about us requiring gluten-free breakfasts. Breakfast included very fresh fruit and greens from the local farmer's market. One suggestion. Do park off the street in their lot behind the Inn. Eventhough there was some traffic noise at rush hour, there was absolute quiet during the night.

Room Tip: Be sure room you book has a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6, Owner at Thomas Shepherd Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay! We do agree that Shepherdstown is the best-kept secret of West Virginia, but we're glad to help others discover its charms, including the restaurants that you enjoyed. Please note that all of our rooms have private (not shared with another room) baths, and only Room 3 (value-priced) has a private but DETACHED bath located a few steps across the hall. Thanks for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford, va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Thank you for honoring veteran's with a free night's stay. We truly enjoyed
our visit to the town and your Inn We purchased wine at a shop down the street
and took advantage of the bottle opener and wine glasses to have drinks before
dinner on the upper porch. We loved the rocking chairs. Breakfast was
delicious. The inn was very quiet and relaxing even though you were at full occupancy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6, Owner at Thomas Shepherd Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay on Veteran's Day. We are so proud that our state association of B&Bs started the B&Bs for Vets program several years ago, and to one of the original inns offering the complimentary night for Veteran's Day. We appreciate your kind review and are glad that you took advantage of our amenities and Shepherdstown's wonderful shops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Thomas Shepherd Inn B&B. The owners were very accommodating, from offering suggestions on where to eat, places to see and special breakfast accommodations as I am a vegetarian. Our room (#6) was very clean, nicely decorated and had many windows that let in lots of natural light. The full breakfast was delicious and there was always coffee, tea, cider, spring water and hot cocoa available throughout the day. We enjoyed the 2nd level back porch which had rocking chairs and pillows for comfort. Plenty of snacks were provided in the afternoon. The town had many eclectic stores, some fine dining establishments, bookstore, quirky coffee shop (really good coffee) and wine store (knowledgeable staff). Would definitely stay at the Thomas Shepherd Inn B&B again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thomas Shepherd Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Shepherd Inn

Address: 300 West German Street, corner of German and Duke Streets, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thomas Shepherd Inn offers guests the experience of gracious hospitality in an historic setting. Unique shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Antietam Battlefield and Harper's Ferry are short drives away. Bike or hike on the C&O Canal Path 1/2 mile away. We offer six spacious, air-conditioned guest rooms with private baths. Our living room with fireplace, guest lounge with TV and porch overlooking our garden are available for your enjoyment. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thomas Shepherd Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas Shepherd Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.