We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Shepherd Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thomas Shepherd Inn to your Saves list
Thomas Shepherd Inn
300 West German Street, corner of German and Duke Streets, Shepherdstown, WV 25443   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best B&B in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

B&B owners ourselves living in rural PA, we rarely find a B&B that we feel lives up to what a B&B should be, but this place exceeded hopes and expectations. The owners are friendly but not intrusive, offered suggestions for restaurants and other activities when asked, and served a wonderful breakfast including fresh fruit and a hot egg entree that was delicious. Our rooms on the second floor were clean, spacious and well-appointed. There was plenty of hot water for showers that had great pressure and the mattresses were a dream to sleep on. The decor was of the period - antiques, oriental rugs, tasteful bed clothing, no frou frou lacey tchotchkes that we find so annoying. Though we have friends and relatives in the area who offer free places to stay, we'll be happy to pay to stay at the Thomas Shepherd Inn. It's that wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6, Owner at Thomas Shepherd Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - we love to pamper our fellow innkeepers when we have the chance, as we know what a challenging job it can be! We hope to make a trip to your place some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
48
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
germantown, md
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a good one. More amenities than we've seen anywhere else. Rooms very clean and neat, spacious, comfortable, well appointed. Breakfast was excellent. Check out their website and believe what you read. Easy walking distance to the main street of town. And you really do meet nice, interesting people at a B&B. This place is conducive to congeniality. Jeanne and Jim are most friendly and helpful, but not in the least bit intrusive. As someone else has said, a good balance. High marks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a beautiful, peaceful Inn. The Inn Keepers were so hospitable. The room was beautiful and the second floor porch was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and good conversation and just relaxing at the end of the day. A delicious breakfast served in the lovely dining room was wonderful. The Inn is walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants Shepherdstown has to offer. A beautiful little town.

Room Tip: This is Inn has 1 room with 2 double beds, which not all B&B's offer. This was perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a very nice one night stay while biking the C&O. Innkeepers were very friendly and low-key and helpful when we asked; we've experienced other personalities as innkeepers who are a bit overbearing so this was the right balance. Inn was lovely, room was very nice and spacious, comfy bed, roomy bathroom. Breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed the upstairs back porch as a quiet space to read a little. Very nice to just park car and walk down the hill into the town and dinner.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 which was very nice but also at the front of the house which has 4-way stop signs...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

As the route planner for three 60-something guys on a bike trip, I picked the Thomas Shepherd Inn mostly on the basis of its location in Shepherdstown. Adequate arrangements would have been enough for us, but our stay was outstanding. Jeanne and Jim were flexible with respect to our breakfast time, breakfast menu, sleeping arrangements, and storing bicycles safely outside. Jim had some specific and helpful route suggestions for us as well. The room and breakfast were great and the location is extremely convenient to the town center. I would definitely stay there again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6, Owner at Thomas Shepherd Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We do enjoy our intrepid bicycling guests here at the Inn - thanks for your nice review! With bike racks in the back yard and most of our wonderful restaurants within walking distance, staying less than 1 mile away from the C&O Canal in Shepherdstown makes things easy for you. The construction near the bridge has finally completed so if you make a return trip you will find navigation easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishtown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Thomas Shepherd Inn was a treat. The Innkeepers could not have been more helpful re: making dinner plans and with tips on optimizing our time spent in exploring nearby historic attractions. For that, the B&B's location was perfect as it was only a few miles from Harpers Ferry and from the Antietam battlefield. Shepherdstown itself is very historic and the B&B is located right on the main street -- super convenient for restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very good but we selected the one room with a king size bed -- it was outstandi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We loved our 2 night stay at the Thomas Shepherd Inn! The innkeepers are so gracious and friendly! They went out of their way to accomodate my gluten allergy making special treats for me. They were amazing!! The Inn is so nice and love the way its decorated and there is a fabulous library. Shepherdstown is such a lovely town we really enjoyed walking around the town. We also enjoyed biking on the C&O Canal towpath and visiting Antetam battlefield. We highly recommend going to Shepherdstown and staying at the Thomas Shepherd Inn!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thomas Shepherd Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Shepherd Inn

Address: 300 West German Street, corner of German and Duke Streets, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thomas Shepherd Inn offers guests the experience of gracious hospitality in an historic setting. Unique shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Antietam Battlefield and Harper's Ferry are short drives away. Bike or hike on the C&O Canal Path 1/2 mile away. We offer six spacious, air-conditioned guest rooms with private baths. Our living room with fireplace, guest lounge with TV and porch overlooking our garden are available for your enjoyment. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thomas Shepherd Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas Shepherd Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.