We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Shepherd Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thomas Shepherd Inn to your Saves list
Thomas Shepherd Inn
300 West German Street, corner of German and Duke Streets, Shepherdstown, WV 25443   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Maine
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed for two days and had a great time! The inn is close to everything you want to do downtown, an easy drive to Antietam battlefield and to the canal walk.

Jeanne & Jim are sweet innkeepers who know all the best places in town to have dinner, find the quirky local artisans and where to go for a great scenic walk.

We'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
49
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

A nice get-a-way weekend. Attractive room, pleasant guests, good breakfast...just what one wants in a bed and breakfast.
Screened in porch, computer, books to read, a nice town in which to stroll and proximity to the C&O canal for walking, jogging, biking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is an historic home walking distance from the shops, restaurants and most of the sites in Shepherdstown. My room (Room 3) was very comfortable and nicely decorated - and I didn't mind that I had to cross the hall to the bathroom (only for my room). I really liked the back porch overlooking the yard and the complementary sherry in the living room. The breakfast was excellent! There is free parking either on the street or in a lot behind the house. The only major draw back is that the house is on a very busy corner with a surprising amount of traffic for such a small town. There is simply no way to escape the traffic noise (a police siren woke me up at 4:30am even though I was wearing earplugs).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, WV
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The innkeepers treated us more like friends and we hated when the time came for us to leave. The inn was attractively decorated and welcoming. Our room was roomy, cheery and quite comfortable. What great attention to detail! They thought of everything one might need or want in order to have a great stay. Breakfast was very delicious, served in a beautiful dining room by smiling innkeepers. The inn is conveniently located within easy walking distance of downtown Shepherdstown where there are lots of little shops and restaurants. I highly recommend the Thomas Shepherd Inn!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Friends had given us a Gift Certificate to utilize at any one of the Select Registry Inns/B &Bs across the US to provide an 'escape' from our loss. We chose the Thomas Shepherd Inn because of the location- a quick 4 hour drive from our home-perfect distance for a long weekend, and because their website contained so much information, we were able to really enjoy all that Sheperdstown and the surrounding areas had to offer. We stayed in Room 1.I only gave a 3 for sleep quality b/c the Inn is located at a very busy intersection. However, the owners are cognizant of this fact and provide an Ambient noise CD (in the welcome packet) which helps to block some of the traffic noise. We utilized it and it did help. If you choose to stay here and have a hard time falling asleep- I recommend staying at the back of the house away from the road. The owners provided excellent assistance with driving directions, restaurant suggestions and were helpful without being intrusive or overbearing. It was a welcome respite. I especially liked the additional touches- cookies in the afternoon- Sherry for a nightcap or prequel to your evening's events. The location of the B& B allowed for walking to the local restaurants which gave us the freedom to have a drink or two without worry. If we ever get back to Sheperdstown, we will definitely be looking to stay here again.

Room Tip: For light sleepers, choose rooms at back of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Harbour, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Thomas Shepherd Inn for one evening, and the hospitality and ambience, combined with beautiful, comfortable rooms and a succulent breakfast, made our sejourn one of the best. Jeannie and Jim are the consummate hosts and they bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was most memorable. They are the total package and we would highly recommend anyone traveling to Shepherdstown, W. Virginia to stay at their lovely B&B.

Harry and Carol

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

My wife and I went up to Shepherdstown for the Halloween contra dance and were delighted to stay just two blocks from the dance hall. The hosts were very helpful, the accommodations were delightful and roomy. We had the room with a private bath across the hall, which was fine. The only thing I would caution people about is that it is a creaky, noisy house. If anyone walks in the hallways, you will hear it. The B&B was full, and I didn't hear any noise from any other rooms, but we heard every door that opened and every step in the hall. Still, for a full house on a Saturday night on Halloween it was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thomas Shepherd Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Shepherd Inn

Address: 300 West German Street, corner of German and Duke Streets, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thomas Shepherd Inn offers guests the experience of gracious hospitality in an historic setting. Unique shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Antietam Battlefield and Harper's Ferry are short drives away. Bike or hike on the C&O Canal Path 1/2 mile away. We offer six spacious, air-conditioned guest rooms with private baths. Our living room with fireplace, guest lounge with TV and porch overlooking our garden are available for your enjoyment. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thomas Shepherd Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas Shepherd Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.