We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No atmosphere but good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rumsey Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rumsey Tavern
233 Lowe Dr, Shepherdstown, WV 25443-9602
304-876-7000
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 27 Restaurants in Shepherdstown
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sevierville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“No atmosphere but good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Food was good considering it was burgers. Good service and fair prices. Draught beer selection is weak.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    17
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our go to Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is the place we eat out at the most.Good food, great service and the prices are right.
Nothing fancy but comfortable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A poor hotel restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I had a very poor experience at the Ramsey Tavern. The salad was good. I ordered Chicken Alfredo. I waited 45 minutes for the food to arrive. When it arrived it was a Chicken Cordon Bleu. By that point I didn't complain and just ate it. The Chicken Cordon Bleu was overcooked and crispy. The rice was undercooked and barely edible. The beans were good. The Ramsey Tavern tries to be an upscale restaurant in a small town, but there are much better options. I would definitely not return again based on this experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dachefdave, Manager at Rumsey Tavern, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
I am extremely sorry for your disappointing evening at the Rumsey Tavern, And I am working diligently to correct and make sure all our guest are happy.
Again I apologize for your disappointment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern panhandle, WV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

As locals, we used to love coming to the tavern for a casual meal. The food and the service are good, and the atmosphere is always great...they decorate for the holidays and have live bands on the weekends, and there's a big fireplace for the cold months. In the summer and fall of 2010, this area was deluged with brown marmorated stink bugs...they were everywhere. So it was understandable that they'd be in the tavern, too. The volume gradually lessened over the next two years, and in 2013, they weren't bad at all. However, we have been back to the tavern a few times in recent months to find that they are STILL hanging out there in numbers...on the ceiling, on the window sills (perhaps in the kitchen?). This is the only establishment (eating, retail, etc.) I've found in the area that still has a problem with these things. The last time we tried to eat at the tavern a few weeks ago, we noticed three on the ceiling right above our table. Sorry, but it's hard to understand why they're still such a problem only at the tavern. I noticed recent comments about them in the rooms as well, so it just doesn't seem that the management is too concerned about them. Meanwhile, we'll be dining elsewhere.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Staying in the hotel and very satisfied with that. The Rumsey Tavern is a nice place to kick back and relax and have some great food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumsey Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Rumsey Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumsey Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.