We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There must be a better place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Shepherdstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Quality Inn Shepherdstown to your Saves list
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Maddex Square Drive, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443 (Formerly Comfort Inn Shepherdstown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Novato, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“There must be a better place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed two nights. The room was not cleaned, towels not replaced. Even some debris on the floor in the hallway was not picked up during our stay. In spite of the air conditioning our room was clammy; some quick-dry underwear did not dry in two days.

Breakfast is fairly lame. When the container of milk for cereal ran down the staff had to go to the store to get more milk. The breakfast room is small and has a loud, intrusive TV playing.

On the plus side, a supermarket and drug store were within a few yards of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0dell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Andrew Lowe
General Manager
Comfort Inn - Shepherdstown, WV
304.876.3160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Little Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A great value, a very clean, comfortable stay. Quiet, nice staff. Quaint little town and the staff gave helpful advice on restaurants. We came in late but still were able to find our way there and find options for supper. The breakfast was very good, too. I highly recommend this if you're not looking for high-end luxury but just a nice, decent middle-class room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeikeJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta n
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here on trip to Antietem battlefield and wanted to stay near a downtown. Motel was clean and our room did not smell as others had said. We are fussy about where we stay and I would not hesitate to stay here again. We had to drive to downtown but it was a 5 minute trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at our hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to all of our staff and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

We are pleased to hear that our hotel accommodations met your expectations and that you would recommend our hotel to others. It is kind remarks like these that keep our entire staff striving for excellence.

Thank you so much for your business, and we look forward to seeing you again at the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown, WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an excellent choice if you're staying in the area. There are not many hotels in Shepherdstown. It's not a 5 star hotel but the service and price exceeds all expectations. The staff there was very friendly and accommodating. There is a grocery store, a pharmacy, a few restaurants and a McDonald's in the plaza near by. As a single traveler, traveling by myself, I felt very safe. The breakfast buffet was very good, with fresh fruit, waffles, cereal, danish and muffins. This hotel is just a short drive to Harper's Ferry and other historical sites in the region.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandqueenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This location was convenient for a trip to Sharpsburg MD for the Memorial Saturday parade and to Antietam Battlefield. The young man who checked us in was super nice and very helpful. The wi-fi was a little spotty in the room the evening we were there. Breakfast was good, although the eating area is very small. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback provides all of our staff with valuable information so that staff can continue their high level of customer satisfaction and attention to detail.

On behalf of our staff, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and would welcome staying with us again. Regrets on any minor inconveniences experienced as we are happy to look into these matters and have them properly addressed.

Thanks very much for your business. We look forward to your next visit to the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown, WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The grounds were nice, the motel very clean and attractive. The staff was awesome.
I read other reviews here and sadly agree about the odors in the place. Our room stank, oh, did it stink, of mustiness and old smoke. Staff was especially nice about it, offered to change room (we declined) and had a "deep cleaning" done while we were out. It did not help, but only added a floral smell to the mustiness.
I emphasize though, they did their best to fix the problem and we declined further help.
Broken cover on AC made it impossible to direct the air flow. It shot at the bed at all times. As soon as the AC came on, the cover would fall off again. It did not appear to be the same AC unit that is pictured in one of the reviews as the break is different.

Room Tip: I think our room # was 109. First floor on the left side as you walk in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is extremely important to us, and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements where needed. Your feedback/concerns have been communicated to our maintenance and housekeeping departments.

We apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort experienced on your part as our guest. We value your feedback and thank you for your business at our hotel. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have the opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Despite the facade, this Comfort Inn is probably one of the older properties in the chain judging by the rooms and their technologies. Still, for cyclists it is safely accessed and not too far from the charms of Shepherdstown's main street, West German Street. This CI is next to a car wash, grocery store, laundromat, and pizza shop, again, all of use to cyclists on long journeys. Other cyclists seen on the visit also seemed to be making use of these amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HistorianOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to all of our staff as it provides insight into your experience at our hotel property.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the modern conveniences that our hotel location has to offer. These conveniences along with our staff's customer service, hospitality, and attention to detail enable our hotel to offer all of our guests an exceptional experience.

We thank you for staying at the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown, WV and look forward to you return visit. Safe travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
8.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Shepherdstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Shepherdstown

Address: 70 Maddex Square Drive, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443 (Formerly Comfort Inn Shepherdstown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Shepherdstown 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Quality Inn Shepherdstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown Hotel Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing