We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shepherdstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Shepherdstown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Maddex Square Drive, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443 (Formerly "Days Inn")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Everything you need!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at this property for one night while my daughter was visiting some friends at nearby Shepherd University. There is a lack of hotel choices in the immediate area within Shepherdstown and we actually have stayed at the Clarion Hotel which is just a few minutes away. But we decided to stay at the Comfort Inn instead and we were pleasantly surprised. It's close to everything and a great value. Guest rooms were large and very clean. The staff were extremely pleasant. The free hot breakfast was very nice as well, with a good assortment of hot and cold items to eat. All in all a very nice hotel and a good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your comments. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
16
33
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I am currently staying at this property. I was here for work for 60 days, went home for two weeks
during the holidays and am back again. This is an older property but is clean and comfortable. The beds are decent and the place is quiet. I dont sleep really well in ANY motel but this is as good as it gets for me. There is a small fitness room with treadmill, cross trainer, and three different types of cycling machines. They do have a continental breakfast but I cant comment on that as I am up and gone for work before it opens at 6 AM. All the staff members I have met, from the manager on down have been extremely friendly and helpful. They also will work with your company to provide a very nice long term corporate rate. I am comfortable, room is clean, water pressure is excellent. A small kitchen would be nice but have fridge and microwave. I also have free internet and the rooms are large.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Steve A,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Our staff takes great pride in offering all of our guests exceptional service and wonderful experience.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel was perfectly fine, with the exception of the smoke smell (VERY STRONG) mentioned by others. It was a short drive to a very quaint downtown. The grocery store and drugstore were a stone's throw away, which was convenient, and the rates were reasonable. Pets are allowed (I met a couple in the elevator :), the breakfast is better than many continental breakfasts, the gym was functional, and the room was comfortable. Wish there were more options in Shepherdstown, and would have stayed at the Bavarian Inn if it had been available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I booked a room on a non-smoking floor, as I am highly allergic to smoke. The hallway, and the room itself, stunk of cigarette smoke, making for a miserable night trying to breathe. I was told that there were no other "non-smoking" rooms/floors available. I see from TripAdvisor posts that I am not the first to complain.

Avoid this hotel unless you are an avid smoker.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I was unhappy to hear that your accommodations were not up to par. What you experienced is unacceptable and I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss it with you personally. We would honor the opportunity to improve your impression of our facilities. Please let us know if your travel plans find you back in our town as we appreciate the chance to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I had spent a lot of time looking for a place to stay for one night on a Saturday night that would accommodate my parents, niece and I near to Antietam. Most other places require a 2 night stay at the weekend and we did not want that. I opted for 2 rooms at the Comfort Inn, Shepherdstown which were great value. The rooms were spacious and adjoining which was very convenient. The hotel usefully provided information on restaurants in Shepherdstown and we had a great evening in the lovely town only a short drive away. We very much enjoyed our stay, and a mix up with the room charge was quickly and pleasantly resolved by the Manager. I would recommend this hotel for a stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Judith R,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Antietam! Antietam is such a wonderful park and we are very lucky to be so close to it. The entire area around us is so rich in history and we love being a part of that community. I also want to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our downtown. It is such a unique little historic town with great shops, restaurants, and night-life. I hope that you get to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I just stayed overnight at the Comfort Inn in Shepherdstown. It's a relatively small franchised hotel about a mile and a half from the center of town. It was an okay place. I found the staff to be helpful and the location convenient. Overall, however, the hotel feels a little confining. The lobby is very small, as is the breakfast room and the gym. All are serviceable, but you will be on top of others in the space. I had a double queen room; I also found it to be very tight on space.

My biggest issue with this hotel was the AC unit in the room. It was VERY loud and badly needed service. Around 2 am, I opted to simply turn it off so I could sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issue you had with the ac unit in your room. We will have our maintenance department look into these units to ensure it does not happen to a future guest. If you would be so kind as to call the hotel to let us know what room you occupied, it would help us greatly as these reviews are anonymous and this would ensure the quickest resolution. We can be reached at 304.876.3160. Again, I apologize that you had these issues and I hope that we get another chance to impress you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eighty Four, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My son and I were on a bicycle ride from Pittsburgh to DC, We stayed at the Shepherdstown Best Western on 9/4/13. We had just traveled 52 miles, arived tired and hungry. Our reservation made check in a breeze, cleaned up and enjoyed a nice meal. The staff and room were excellent. They knew we would arive by bicycle, so they had a first floor room for us, showed where we could clean our bikes so we could secure overnignt in our room. The comp breakfast we experience the next morning was very plentiful and delicious. We ate our fill before departing.The convienence of the stores around the hotel made it easy for us to purchase some last minute supplies. We highly recommend this hotel and will stay there next summer when we ride to DC again next summer. Thank you for a excellent experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown! We are glad that you chose our hotel, glad that you enjoyed it and especially glad that you took the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. Being so close to the C&O Canal and Towpath, we value the business of those who travel on bicycle and do everything we can to make them feel welcome. We take great pride in the product we offer and are happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Shepherdstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shepherdstown

Address: 70 Maddex Square Drive, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443 (Formerly "Days Inn")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Shepherdstown 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Shepherdstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown Hotel Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.