We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shepherdstown

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Priceline.com
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Maddex Square Drive, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443 (Formerly "Days Inn")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“It's Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I just stayed overnight at the Comfort Inn in Shepherdstown. It's a relatively small franchised hotel about a mile and a half from the center of town. It was an okay place. I found the staff to be helpful and the location convenient. Overall, however, the hotel feels a little confining. The lobby is very small, as is the breakfast room and the gym. All are serviceable, but you will be on top of others in the space. I had a double queen room; I also found it to be very tight on space.

My biggest issue with this hotel was the AC unit in the room. It was VERY loud and badly needed service. Around 2 am, I opted to simply turn it off so I could sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issue you had with the ac unit in your room. We will have our maintenance department look into these units to ensure it does not happen to a future guest. If you would be so kind as to call the hotel to let us know what room you occupied, it would help us greatly as these reviews are anonymous and this would ensure the quickest resolution. We can be reached at 304.876.3160. Again, I apologize that you had these issues and I hope that we get another chance to impress you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
25
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eighty Four, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My son and I were on a bicycle ride from Pittsburgh to DC, We stayed at the Shepherdstown Best Western on 9/4/13. We had just traveled 52 miles, arived tired and hungry. Our reservation made check in a breeze, cleaned up and enjoyed a nice meal. The staff and room were excellent. They knew we would arive by bicycle, so they had a first floor room for us, showed where we could clean our bikes so we could secure overnignt in our room. The comp breakfast we experience the next morning was very plentiful and delicious. We ate our fill before departing.The convienence of the stores around the hotel made it easy for us to purchase some last minute supplies. We highly recommend this hotel and will stay there next summer when we ride to DC again next summer. Thank you for a excellent experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown! We are glad that you chose our hotel, glad that you enjoyed it and especially glad that you took the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. Being so close to the C&O Canal and Towpath, we value the business of those who travel on bicycle and do everything we can to make them feel welcome. We take great pride in the product we offer and are happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We received early check in as requested. This hotel was very quiet, extremely clean and the beds outstanding. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Even had a shower cap, which are seldom found in hotels, it seems.Nice breakfast - great bold coffee!!! Great experience! We'll return soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback during your recent stay with us. It is always great to hear positive feedback from our guests! We always try to accommodate guest's request for early check in and I am glad to hear that you were treated so well by our staff. They are our greatest asset and they always make our guests feel like family. We can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is not in the town center and is located about 1/2-1 mile out of town.

Small franchise chain hotel with limited service capability. Got stuck with a smoking room (#312) - and you could tell. The beds were fine, room was quiet, and the shower nice, with good pressure.Nice view looking out on the parking lot and the McD's next door.

Prices are high - relative to what you get, but reflects scarcity of other options. Arrived about 2:30 in the afternoon. Rooms were not ready for check in - as the "sheets were still drying." The front desk seemed unconcerned with getting an estimate of when the room would be ready, and seemed put out when asked to find out. In fact, when the room was ready (around 3PM) , the room cleaner complained to me that they only had one person cleaning and one dryer for sheets. Seems like they need to invest in people and equipment to manage the routine.

Room Tip: It is what it is. I'd stay elswhere next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I am sorry to hear that the service you received was sub par. Most days early arrivals are not an issue, but unfortunately, it sounds as though we were ill prepared that day. Your feedback is taken seriously and measures will be taken to ensure that future guests do not have the same issues. If you would like to discuss your concerns directly, please feel free to call. We would honor the opportunity to improve your impression of our facilities. We hope that if your travel plans find you back in our town, that you return and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Desk and maid spent most of their time sitting on a bench out the front door, with the door open, smoking. The entire hotel smelled like cigarette smoke, even though rooms marked no smoking. The smoke smell, coupled with the chemicals they use to cover it up, makes the hotel uninhabital. We left after the first night of coughing and choking. This hotel should be closed until a professional company comes in and gets the smell out. If not, burn the upholstery, clean the walls, throw out the carpet, etc..

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I was upset to hear that your accommodations were not up to par. What you experienced is unacceptable and I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss it with you personally. Please call the hotel if you would be willing to do so. We would honor the opportunity to improve your impression of our facilities. We hope that if your travel plans find you back in our town, that you would consider giving us another chance to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel, prior to visiting Harper's Ferry. Our king room was very spacious and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable. I liked having the vanity separate from the tub/toilet. The wallpaper could use replacing, but the room and bathroom were clean. The HVAC vent was broken but this did not affect its operation.

The location is just off a highway, but it's not a noisy area. Our room was at the back, and there was a grassy area separating the hotel from a car wash. You wouldn't want to leave the drapes open while undressing! There is a McDonald's and grocery store just across the way, on the same side of the highway.

We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, even though it was included, because we wanted to go to the bakery in town. We were not disappointed.

The town is quaint, and has some cute shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

When reviewing a property it’s important to be fair and honest. You cannot focus on one small situation that may never happen to another guest again.

The Shepherdstown Comfort Inn is one of only a few choices for accommodations in the Shepherdstown area. This is unfortunately why the price is a little higher than it should be. That being said, that may very well be, one of only two minor complaints we had.
Before I move on, let me get the second complaint out of the way. One of my pet peeves is when Hotels add silly charges like a “safe charge” to your bill. What I dislike even more is when they do not disclose it. Thankfully I heard another Guest complain about this “safe charge” which of course they had removed. I followed suit. The Desk Rep. had no problem removing it but the fact remains it should have never been there to begin with. You need to speak up as well! If you do not, next year there will be a fee for flushing the toilet. We let the Airlines get away with charging for everything but “air”, let’s not let this happen to the hotel business!!

Now let’s get on with the good stuff. On this particular trip we arrived by bicycle, (there is a 150 mile bike trail that goes past Shepherdstown). Bikers stop at this little College town for everything from a water and food to overnight accommodations.

Starting with the location, there are eateries and other businesses within a close proximity of the hotel. The Comfort Inn is perfectly located with a Rite Aid Pharmacy, one of the cleanest Food Lion Food Markets you may ever see, a McDonalds, a soon to open Dairy Queen, and other assorted shops all within walking distance. Dominos is also around the corner if you are looking for something simple. Of course nothing is really far in this town as you are only a mile or so from “downtown” where you’ll find a few shops and a handful of colorful places to dine.
From the minute we opened the front door we felt totally at home. If you did know it was a Comfort Inn you could easily guess you were staying at a Marriott.

Upon check in we were greeted with a smile and a “welcome” from a beautiful young lady named Amanda. We felt like we were being welcomed into her home. We noticed she treated everyone with genuine kindness. Registration was quick and easy. Within minutes we were walking down the hall to our room. In all fairness it should be noted this is really the “shoulder season”, however nonetheless, the facility was spotless. I operate a massive transportation complex and know “cleanliness”. This hotel is truly squeaky clean.
Our room was perfect. The carpet looked brand new which speaks volumes as many bikers roll their bike right into the rooms. The size is more than adequate with a table and two chairs, refrigerator, microwave, spacious sink area “outside” the bathroom which is great, and much more. The extra towels were appreciated.

The hot breakfast in the morning really could not have been better. Waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, fruit, juices, donuts, bagels and more were all waiting for you from 6 AM to 10 AM. I have heard complaints there is not enough seating, however again we were there in the “off season” and never had a problem finding a seat.

If a “pool” is important I understand they offer a “pass” of sorts to their sister property in town. The pool is indoor and not very large, however the option is there.

There is nice fitness room off the Lobby which would keep the heartiest of athletes happy.

Before I close, this last part is for the “Bikers”. As mentioned the C & O Trail runs past this little town and therefore many consider this hotel for their accommodation needs. The hotel is located uphill from the trail which may prove to be a little challenging for some bikers. The town itself is not bike friendly as you would expect. It’s surprising as you would think between the College, and Trail, they would cater more to cyclists. They do not. There is a beautiful bike lane on the road to the Comfort Inn however it quickly ends and dumps you on a narrow road with uneven sidewalks. There are reasons for this however there are also fixes as well. Of course it’s more than do-able, however just not what you would expect. Bike racks in town are far and few between. That being said, if you are like us, and are okay with the slight uphill climb and less than perfect road conditions, the Comfort Inn will meet, or exceed, your expectations.

I would be happy to answer any questions you may have regarding this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Shepherdstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shepherdstown

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown Hotel
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown Hotel Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Comfort Inn
Address: 70 Maddex Square Drive, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443 (Formerly "Days Inn")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Shepherdstown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Shepherdstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Shepherdstown to your Saves list