We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shepherdstown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Shepherdstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Maddex Square Drive, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443 (Formerly "Days Inn")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We received early check in as requested. This hotel was very quiet, extremely clean and the beds outstanding. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Even had a shower cap, which are seldom found in hotels, it seems.Nice breakfast - great bold coffee!!! Great experience! We'll return soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback during your recent stay with us. It is always great to hear positive feedback from our guests! We always try to accommodate guest's request for early check in and I am glad to hear that you were treated so well by our staff. They are our greatest asset and they always make our guests feel like family. We can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
32
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is not in the town center and is located about 1/2-1 mile out of town.

Small franchise chain hotel with limited service capability. Got stuck with a smoking room (#312) - and you could tell. The beds were fine, room was quiet, and the shower nice, with good pressure.Nice view looking out on the parking lot and the McD's next door.

Prices are high - relative to what you get, but reflects scarcity of other options. Arrived about 2:30 in the afternoon. Rooms were not ready for check in - as the "sheets were still drying." The front desk seemed unconcerned with getting an estimate of when the room would be ready, and seemed put out when asked to find out. In fact, when the room was ready (around 3PM) , the room cleaner complained to me that they only had one person cleaning and one dryer for sheets. Seems like they need to invest in people and equipment to manage the routine.

Room Tip: It is what it is. I'd stay elswhere next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I am sorry to hear that the service you received was sub par. Most days early arrivals are not an issue, but unfortunately, it sounds as though we were ill prepared that day. Your feedback is taken seriously and measures will be taken to ensure that future guests do not have the same issues. If you would like to discuss your concerns directly, please feel free to call. We would honor the opportunity to improve your impression of our facilities. We hope that if your travel plans find you back in our town, that you return and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Desk and maid spent most of their time sitting on a bench out the front door, with the door open, smoking. The entire hotel smelled like cigarette smoke, even though rooms marked no smoking. The smoke smell, coupled with the chemicals they use to cover it up, makes the hotel uninhabital. We left after the first night of coughing and choking. This hotel should be closed until a professional company comes in and gets the smell out. If not, burn the upholstery, clean the walls, throw out the carpet, etc..

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I was upset to hear that your accommodations were not up to par. What you experienced is unacceptable and I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss it with you personally. Please call the hotel if you would be willing to do so. We would honor the opportunity to improve your impression of our facilities. We hope that if your travel plans find you back in our town, that you would consider giving us another chance to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel, prior to visiting Harper's Ferry. Our king room was very spacious and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable. I liked having the vanity separate from the tub/toilet. The wallpaper could use replacing, but the room and bathroom were clean. The HVAC vent was broken but this did not affect its operation.

The location is just off a highway, but it's not a noisy area. Our room was at the back, and there was a grassy area separating the hotel from a car wash. You wouldn't want to leave the drapes open while undressing! There is a McDonald's and grocery store just across the way, on the same side of the highway.

We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, even though it was included, because we wanted to go to the bakery in town. We were not disappointed.

The town is quaint, and has some cute shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

When reviewing a property it’s important to be fair and honest. You cannot focus on one small situation that may never happen to another guest again.

The Shepherdstown Comfort Inn is one of only a few choices for accommodations in the Shepherdstown area. This is unfortunately why the price is a little higher than it should be. That being said, that may very well be, one of only two minor complaints we had.
Before I move on, let me get the second complaint out of the way. One of my pet peeves is when Hotels add silly charges like a “safe charge” to your bill. What I dislike even more is when they do not disclose it. Thankfully I heard another Guest complain about this “safe charge” which of course they had removed. I followed suit. The Desk Rep. had no problem removing it but the fact remains it should have never been there to begin with. You need to speak up as well! If you do not, next year there will be a fee for flushing the toilet. We let the Airlines get away with charging for everything but “air”, let’s not let this happen to the hotel business!!

Now let’s get on with the good stuff. On this particular trip we arrived by bicycle, (there is a 150 mile bike trail that goes past Shepherdstown). Bikers stop at this little College town for everything from a water and food to overnight accommodations.

Starting with the location, there are eateries and other businesses within a close proximity of the hotel. The Comfort Inn is perfectly located with a Rite Aid Pharmacy, one of the cleanest Food Lion Food Markets you may ever see, a McDonalds, a soon to open Dairy Queen, and other assorted shops all within walking distance. Dominos is also around the corner if you are looking for something simple. Of course nothing is really far in this town as you are only a mile or so from “downtown” where you’ll find a few shops and a handful of colorful places to dine.
From the minute we opened the front door we felt totally at home. If you did know it was a Comfort Inn you could easily guess you were staying at a Marriott.

Upon check in we were greeted with a smile and a “welcome” from a beautiful young lady named Amanda. We felt like we were being welcomed into her home. We noticed she treated everyone with genuine kindness. Registration was quick and easy. Within minutes we were walking down the hall to our room. In all fairness it should be noted this is really the “shoulder season”, however nonetheless, the facility was spotless. I operate a massive transportation complex and know “cleanliness”. This hotel is truly squeaky clean.
Our room was perfect. The carpet looked brand new which speaks volumes as many bikers roll their bike right into the rooms. The size is more than adequate with a table and two chairs, refrigerator, microwave, spacious sink area “outside” the bathroom which is great, and much more. The extra towels were appreciated.

The hot breakfast in the morning really could not have been better. Waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, fruit, juices, donuts, bagels and more were all waiting for you from 6 AM to 10 AM. I have heard complaints there is not enough seating, however again we were there in the “off season” and never had a problem finding a seat.

If a “pool” is important I understand they offer a “pass” of sorts to their sister property in town. The pool is indoor and not very large, however the option is there.

There is nice fitness room off the Lobby which would keep the heartiest of athletes happy.

Before I close, this last part is for the “Bikers”. As mentioned the C & O Trail runs past this little town and therefore many consider this hotel for their accommodation needs. The hotel is located uphill from the trail which may prove to be a little challenging for some bikers. The town itself is not bike friendly as you would expect. It’s surprising as you would think between the College, and Trail, they would cater more to cyclists. They do not. There is a beautiful bike lane on the road to the Comfort Inn however it quickly ends and dumps you on a narrow road with uneven sidewalks. There are reasons for this however there are also fixes as well. Of course it’s more than do-able, however just not what you would expect. Bike racks in town are far and few between. That being said, if you are like us, and are okay with the slight uphill climb and less than perfect road conditions, the Comfort Inn will meet, or exceed, your expectations.

I would be happy to answer any questions you may have regarding this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Old hotel that needs a massive overhaul. In spite of this, the staff are friendly, the towels were clean and newish, and the location was perfect for a one night stay before running in the "Run through History" 10 K. Specifically, wallpaper was peeling off the walls, an old, musty smell permeated the room and closet doors closed inside out. Still, if you need a place to crash, and YOU HAVE A PET, this is the place to spend the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I'm awful with names but the lady on the front desk when I checked in was very helpful. I had a problem with the in-room safe (the previous guest had left it locked) when I arrived and the door key when I returned to the hotel in the afternoon of the second day and she came up to the room pronto on both occasions to sort them out.

The breakfast was OK. I was disappointed that they put the omelettes in the same hot tray with the sausage patties which meant that this veggie couldn't touch them for the very real chance of cross-contamination.

The room was fine. It was clean and the addition of fridge and microwave was welcome, especially the former with the thermometer exceeding 90°F.

Location wise, it is about a mile from downtown and is set off the road, behind a Rite Aid and McDonalds and opposite a Food Lion store and is suitably quiet.

Overall, it represents good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Shepherdstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shepherdstown

Address: 70 Maddex Square Drive, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443 (Formerly "Days Inn")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Shepherdstown 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Shepherdstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown Hotel Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.