We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shepherdstown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Shepherdstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Maddex Square Drive, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443 (Formerly "Days Inn")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
ANNVILLE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth a stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The room was very nice and quiet! The room appeared to have been remodeled recently and everything was clean and in good order. The king-size bed was very comfortable! Our room was #215 and the only small complaint is that bathroom was much smaller than was expected. The sink was very small and there was little room for toiletries.

The breakfast was excellent and we especially liked the eggs, which were made in the form a small cheese omlets. The bacon was crisp and the coffee was excellent.

The only complaint is that this facility doesn't have a hot tub, which would have been nice after hiking all day around Harper's Ferry.

Room Tip: Ask about room with average size bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
25
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stopped here for one night. Price was ok and the place appeared clean. My wife and I both woke up itching from bug bites. We checked the bed and could see nothing. We had their continental breakfast and the milk was warm that was out for the cereal. Never again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomson, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed one night. Our king room was comfortable and inviting. The arrangement of the bathroom was a bit odd and awkward, but this was not a problem for us. Their continental breakfast was all we needed. The mattress was too firm for me, but was fine for hubby. That's a personal preference. We surely would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed one night this month and my wife left a gold neckless and crusted diamond hamsa on the bathroom counter. We called the hotel the next day and was told the item wasn't found and new guests were occupyingf the room. We said the piece was gone for sure. But to our delight we were called the following day and was told they found it and would mail it to our home. When we arrived home it was there! Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Il
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The quality of the hotel was fine, but little things can add up. Absolutely no counter space in the bathroom- which you need when you are traveling with a "ditty bag". NO towel bar anywhere near the sink or shower. The bathroom is the smallest room and the door opened into the Bathroom? Maybe a fire code? The price was reasonable and small purchases to make the room "comfortable" would certainly add value and repeat business. We travel to this area, but would not repeat due to the above.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room, maybe this was one of only a few rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked this hotel for a one night stay on Hotwire and got a marginally better rate than what the Choice Hotel's Website offered for it's lowest rates. When I called to confirm the reservation the front desk staff told me that they had put me in a smoking King room. My wife had booked the room and unfortunately Hotwire doesnt give you a choice of smoking, or non-smoking. I asked the clerk to switch the room to a non-smoking, and immediately got the song and dance that they were full and could not accommodate that request. We arrived and found the hotel very nice, fairly new, but our room, a smoking room absolutely reeked. In fact the hallway outside stank too. With three candles burning, and after using a whole bottle of Fabreeze it was still bad, but we endured. The front desk clerk told me that they frequently stick guests in these rooms who have actually booked a non-smoking room on the website....nice!

Room Tip: Ensure you request a non-smoking room and are actually given one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean and perfectly located. Breakfast good. Loved that there was coffee, tea and juice always available. Could not ask for more. And reasonably priced. Walked to center of town. Perfect location for CATF.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Shepherdstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shepherdstown

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown Hotel
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown Hotel Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Comfort Inn
Address: 70 Maddex Square Drive, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443 (Formerly "Days Inn")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Shepherdstown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Shepherdstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shepherdstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.