We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cut Short Vacation @ Bavarian Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bavarian Inn to your Saves list
Bavarian Inn
164 Shepherd Grade Rd, Shepherdstown, WV 25443   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cut Short Vacation @ Bavarian Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had high hopes of a great relaxing weekend in Shepherdstoan WV. Driving down Friday and coming back on Monday as a nice break from work for both my wife and I. Friday April 4 we got word that my father had a serious medical emergency and we were concerned that we would not be able to go on the trip at all. Ultimately we contacted the Inn and defined our circumstances and the person at the desk was not only sympathetic but also ready to work with us to try to save our trip if possible or to work with us to reschedule. She was fantastic.

Once we understood where things were with my and knew that My brother would be coming up on Saturday the 5th for support we rescheduled to come down that Saturday. We got to the Bavarian Inn at noon on the 5th and had a very welcoming reception from all the staff we ended up in contact with from that point onward.

We had a very nice room that had a balcony which overlooked the Patomac River with a view of Maryland on the other side. We had a very nice lunch in one of the dining rooms and then went to watch a couple of Softball games at Shepherds University. Softball was one of our purposes of going to the Inn which is located across the street from Shepherds University complex.

The room was fantastic with a nice gas Fireplace and a whirlpool tub. plenty of room to sprawl out and relax when we were in. Because we did not arrive on Friday we did not have a regular dinner in the formal dining room but we had done that during a previous trip to this town. We had breakfast in the formal dining room twice and also enjoyed their version of Sunday Brunch which was fantastic.

We would highly recommend The Bavarian Inn to anyone looking for a quick getaway only an hour and 45 minutes from Harrisburg PA.

Once again we can not say enough about the quality of the Inn over-all and the staff was fantastic. WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room in one of the Chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you were able to continue with your stay with us. Also, we truly hope your father is doing well. I will certainly pass on your comments to all our hard working staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    116
    64
    28
    15
See reviews for
61
303
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Bavarian Inn is a great little getaway from DC, perfect for a night or two. The hotel and dining room have an aged charm that is perfectly nice and appropriately priced. It's quiet and the views are lovely. Our favorite part was sitting on the balcony overlooking the bend in the river with a cold drink after hiking along the C&O canal. It was too soon to use, but the pool looks very nice and we look forward to coming back when the weather is warmer. This is a simple, relaxing break.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your city get-a-way with us. We are very excited about our new infinity pool with incredible views of the River. Should be opening in a few weeks. we hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Bavarian Inn numerous times over the last 25 years and have always enjoyed our visits. Most recently, we booked one of the suites (something I've always wanted to do) for a long weekend. Very disappointing -- several light bulbs in our room were burned out, the drapes were hanging half off the rod, and we had only 3 hangers. The employee at the front desk was sympathetic and offered a reduction in our room rate. When we went to check out, they said that no reduction had been authorized. After waiting about 20 minutes, we were told that they could do a small reduction for one night. Dinner one night was delicious (as it was in the past). The other two evenings the food was over-cooked and dry. I sent two emails to the owners and received no reply. It's a shame because we've always loved the Inn; but our "splurge weekend" was not worth it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear J D,
I apologize that we never received your emails. Please feel free to contact me directly at david@bavarianinnwv.com, and we will do our best to resolve this situation. We certainly appreciate your loyalty, and we look forward to restoring the great experiences you have had with us through the past 25 years.

Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathias, West Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We took advantage of the 2014 overnight package that included dinner and drink pairings with each course. We ate in the Rathskeller Pub and it was fun and the food and beer was excellent. We had the Luxury Riverview Room, with fireplace and jaccuzzi tub. It was a nice experience and getaway for the night. We had breakfast in the dining room and it was also excellent. I don't take time for breakfast so it was nice to have a well prepared meal before departure. Highly recommend this as a nice getaway. Beautiful view of the Potomac River.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy that you took advantage of our 2014 special, and everything was enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had dinner by the window as the snow fell, and it felt as tho we were in Europe. The chalets look authentic and the old world ambiance was lovely.

Service excellent-- we had the salad, soup & fish. Alot of German entres, of course.

Hotel a bit pricey but didn't view the rooms. We stayed elsewhere but will stay here next time .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you ventured out in the snow to join us. We attempt to create the authentic German / European feel, while offering numerous contemporary options as well. We do hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Words can't express how much we love the Bavarian Inn. We always go for our anniversary every year. The experience is always wonderful! The room is always impeccable, the staff is always professional and courteous, and the dining is divine. On top of all this, we were fortunate to meet David Asam and tell him how much we love the Bavarian Inn. We can't wait until next year!

Room Tip: Always choose the river view. If a suite is in your budget, it is well worth the extra cost. Very r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Pat M.,
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us again, and truly look forward to many more. Happy Anniversary again.
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We enjoy the river view rooms in the chalet but have also stayed in the main lodge. Be sure to have dinner- you won't be disappointed. It is the best crab cakes ever. All lump and broiled to perfection. The rooms have an old style ambiance. We enjoy staying there because you can enjoy a wonderful meal and drinks and walk back to your room. We have been going here for about 10 years. It's our favorite special place and the food is delicious. Staff is wonderful and you always see the owners and family on the premise making sure everything is going well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and tripadvisor. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your visits over the past ten years, and truly appreciate your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bavarian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn

Address: 164 Shepherd Grade Rd, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff overlooking the Potomac River in Historic Shepherdstown West Virginia on 11 acres. The Bavarian Inn is a AAA Four Diamond Award Winning Dining Room and Hotel Accommodations. Most rooms have breathtaking river views from private balconies, whirlpool baths, and gas fireplaces. Fine German and Continental Cuisine. Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence". Casual Dining and Cocktails in the Rathskellar or on the outdoor garden patio. Walking distance to downtown Shepherdstown and great shopping. Golf Packages available with neighboring and private Cress Creek Country Club. Open 365 days per year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bavarian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Shepherdstown
Bavarian Inn Shepherdstown
Bavarian Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.