We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little getaway from DC ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bavarian Inn to your Saves list
Bavarian Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Shepherd Grade Rd, Shepherdstown, WV 25443   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great little getaway from DC ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Bavarian Inn is a great little getaway from DC, perfect for a night or two. The hotel and dining room have an aged charm that is perfectly nice and appropriately priced. It's quiet and the views are lovely. Our favorite part was sitting on the balcony overlooking the bend in the river with a cold drink after hiking along the C&O canal. It was too soon to use, but the pool looks very nice and we look forward to coming back when the weather is warmer. This is a simple, relaxing break.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your city get-a-way with us. We are very excited about our new infinity pool with incredible views of the River. Should be opening in a few weeks. we hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    117
    67
    28
    15
See reviews for
66
306
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Bavarian Inn numerous times over the last 25 years and have always enjoyed our visits. Most recently, we booked one of the suites (something I've always wanted to do) for a long weekend. Very disappointing -- several light bulbs in our room were burned out, the drapes were hanging half off the rod, and we had only 3 hangers. The employee at the front desk was sympathetic and offered a reduction in our room rate. When we went to check out, they said that no reduction had been authorized. After waiting about 20 minutes, we were told that they could do a small reduction for one night. Dinner one night was delicious (as it was in the past). The other two evenings the food was over-cooked and dry. I sent two emails to the owners and received no reply. It's a shame because we've always loved the Inn; but our "splurge weekend" was not worth it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear J D,
I apologize that we never received your emails. Please feel free to contact me directly at david@bavarianinnwv.com, and we will do our best to resolve this situation. We certainly appreciate your loyalty, and we look forward to restoring the great experiences you have had with us through the past 25 years.

Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathias, West Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We took advantage of the 2014 overnight package that included dinner and drink pairings with each course. We ate in the Rathskeller Pub and it was fun and the food and beer was excellent. We had the Luxury Riverview Room, with fireplace and jaccuzzi tub. It was a nice experience and getaway for the night. We had breakfast in the dining room and it was also excellent. I don't take time for breakfast so it was nice to have a well prepared meal before departure. Highly recommend this as a nice getaway. Beautiful view of the Potomac River.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy that you took advantage of our 2014 special, and everything was enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had dinner by the window as the snow fell, and it felt as tho we were in Europe. The chalets look authentic and the old world ambiance was lovely.

Service excellent-- we had the salad, soup & fish. Alot of German entres, of course.

Hotel a bit pricey but didn't view the rooms. We stayed elsewhere but will stay here next time .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you ventured out in the snow to join us. We attempt to create the authentic German / European feel, while offering numerous contemporary options as well. We do hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Words can't express how much we love the Bavarian Inn. We always go for our anniversary every year. The experience is always wonderful! The room is always impeccable, the staff is always professional and courteous, and the dining is divine. On top of all this, we were fortunate to meet David Asam and tell him how much we love the Bavarian Inn. We can't wait until next year!

Room Tip: Always choose the river view. If a suite is in your budget, it is well worth the extra cost. Very r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Pat M.,
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us again, and truly look forward to many more. Happy Anniversary again.
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We enjoy the river view rooms in the chalet but have also stayed in the main lodge. Be sure to have dinner- you won't be disappointed. It is the best crab cakes ever. All lump and broiled to perfection. The rooms have an old style ambiance. We enjoy staying there because you can enjoy a wonderful meal and drinks and walk back to your room. We have been going here for about 10 years. It's our favorite special place and the food is delicious. Staff is wonderful and you always see the owners and family on the premise making sure everything is going well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and tripadvisor. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your visits over the past ten years, and truly appreciate your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the Baxarian Inn. We had eaten at the resyaurant several times but had never stayed over night. The food and service at the restauant were very good. The reception desk staff were also efficient and hospitable. However the room was a disappointmnet. Upon entring the room it looked fine. However when we went to use the bath sink there were long dark brown hairs in the sink and also in the bath tub. The carpet needed to be cleaned and there were crumbs on the floor from a previous occupant. The lever that controls the water in the tub loose. The caulking around the tub was falling off. It did not look as the room was maintained. We were very dissappointed.
We mentioned the conditions to the desk clerk upon check out and the mamager made an adjustment on our bill. It was kind of sad because the property is in a lovely setting.
We would definitely go back to the restaurant but we would not stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a trin that comes thru at 11PM and 3 am that iwakes you up. We had a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your most valuable feedback. I am so sorry to hear of your experience with the room. This is certainly out of the norm for us, and I will absolutely look into what happened here. We do hope that you will stay with us again, so we can show your the true Bavarian Inn experience. Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bavarian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn

Address: 164 Shepherd Grade Rd, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavarian Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff overlooking the Potomac River in Historic Shepherdstown West Virginia on 11 acres. The Bavarian Inn is a AAA Four Diamond Award Winning Dining Room and Hotel Accommodations. Most rooms have breathtaking river views from private balconies, whirlpool baths, and gas fireplaces. Fine German and Continental Cuisine. Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence". Casual Dining and Cocktails in the Rathskellar or on the outdoor garden patio. Walking distance to downtown Shepherdstown and great shopping. Golf Packages available with neighboring and private Cress Creek Country Club. Open 365 days per year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bavarian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Shepherdstown
Bavarian Inn Shepherdstown
Bavarian Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.