We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Inn

Save Saved
You added Bavarian Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bavarian Inn
164 Shepherd Grade Rd, Shepherdstown, WV 25443   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Shepherdstown
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bavarian Inn to attend the wedding of my niece. Our room was nice, however crowded because of the large wood bed and extra pieces of furniture. Bed was comfortable. The Room had a fridge; 2 vanity areas, a door to the outside balcony which overlooked the other buildings of the Inn -- a pretty view. We attended a private dinner celebration at the restaurant on Friday evening. German food was served which was delicious -- we also heard others complementing the food. The staff at the Inn were very attentive -- always offering to help out. We had breakfast on Sunday morning -- The Eggs Benedict and Crab Eggs Benedict got huge raves. The scenery in the area was beautiful on this fall weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are so happy you were able to stay with us, and experience all that Shepherdstown and the Bavarian Inn has to offer. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    107
    52
    26
    14
See reviews for
51
278
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
naples
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days for a group activity and was surprised how nice it was. Nestled on a bridge overlooking the Potomac on the border of MD and WV. The checkin and restaurants are in the quaint stone building and the sleeping rooms are displayed around the parking lot. Painted yellow with colorful designs on them. My room was well appointed with a balcony but a little tight between the bed and TV armoire. Food and beer were excellent. The lodging price was fair. The college and road across the street are undergoing construction now which gave slight inconvenience, but that is only temporary. I plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing you kind remarks with us and trip advisor. We look forward to Shepherd University's construction to be completed within the next few weeks, which will result in a beautiful end product for the entire town. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you're looking for a relaxing, warm, comfortable, and clean place to hey away, this is it! We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the rooms, food, and and grounds.

Fireplaces, private balconies, layered blankets, and gorgeous scenery are some of the reasons to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello,
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return!
SIncerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I find it had to believe that anyone could rate the Bavarian Inn below 4 stars. And to give it one star with a POOR rating causes me to wonder if the writer actually stayed at the same Bavarian Inn as I did on 12 and 13 Sept.

The room and meals were without compromise. The our room 34 had two queen beds and was stocked with premium amenities such as towels, terry cloth robes etc.

The food was super excellent. We both had the Jagerschnitzel made with veal. The portion was large and came accompanied with either red cabbage or sauerkraut and either potato dumpling or spaetzles. The mushroom gravy was an excellent accompaniment.

The our waiter, Kevin, was most attentive to our needs, delivered the food piping hot and properly timed. His service could not have been better. He knew the menu and made excellent recommendations.

I recognize that even the best of places can have a off night but I fine it very hard to believe that the Bavarian Inn would ever rate a one star poor rating. It just isn't possible.

Room Tip: The only negative about the Bavarian Inn is its location. There isn't much tourist things about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Charlie WH,
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. I will happily pass them on to our hard working staff, especially Kevin. We greatly appreciate your patronage, and hope to be able to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a great little spot easily accessible to Washington, DC or Baltimore for a quick getaway. The layout is unique with guest rooms in separate buildings from the registration area and restaurant. It gives the place a quaint feel. The rooms are standard issue, but they do have small porches, some of which have a view of the Potomac River. Though the Inn has its own restaurant that looked quite nice (we didn't dine there), the town of Shepherdstown has several interesting places to dine along a quintessentially small town main street.

Our only complaint (albeit a minor one) is the that carpeted, public staircase in the building that housed our guest room was a mess. The property has either just completed or is in the midst of some renovation, and building materials were sloppily stored in the stairway that we used several times to access the ground from the second floor. Additionally, a potted plant had been upended with dirt scattered throughout this same carpeted staircase, yet during our 24 hour stay no staff member either observed the mess or bothered to clean it up. Just one of those details you would expect a high end property to be on top of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Bud W,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize about the construction materials you encountered. We are indeed in the midst of some rennovations, and will have those areas back to proper shape right away. We hope to see you again soon, and perhaps share a great dining experience with you as well!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Spent a recent weekend there. Our third time. Have enjoyed each and every occasion immensely. Our room has always been spotless, the staff always helpful, and the food always super. The proximity to the C&O Canal is a bonus for our biking activities. And Shepardstown itself is a charmer.

Room Tip: ignore my rating on the spa. i have no idea whether they even have a spa, but i couldn't undelet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind remarks, and for your patronage to our Inn. We are so glad your various experiences have all been enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is very high quality and everything from the building architecture to the uniforms of the staff to the food was very authentic Bavaria. My wife and had the privilege of visiting Germany/Bavaria last year, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staying here was a great reminder of the fun we had, and gave us a brand new experience. We didn't get to explore Shepherdstown, unfortunately, but the setting on the river is very pretty. If you can afford it (and do plan to spend a good chunk of change!), this is a great place to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Matthew B,
Thank you for your kind remarks. My father, the Inn's creator, is a native of Munich, and our Executive Chef is from the Pfalz region, so every attempt at an authentic German experience is made. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bavarian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn

Address: 164 Shepherd Grade Rd, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff overlooking the Potomac River in Historic Shepherdstown West Virginia on 11 acres. The Bavarian Inn is a AAA Four Diamond Award Winning Dining Room and Hotel Accommodations. Most rooms have breathtaking river views from private balconies, whirlpool baths, and gas fireplaces. Fine German and Continental Cuisine. Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence". Casual Dining and Cocktails in the Rathskellar or on the outdoor garden patio. Walking distance to downtown Shepherdstown and great shopping. Golf Packages available with neighboring and private Cress Creek Country Club. Open 365 days per year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bavarian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Shepherdstown
Bavarian Inn Shepherdstown
Bavarian Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.