We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deferred Maintenance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Lowe Drive, Shepherdstown, WV 25443   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Deferred Maintenance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

6/24/2014
I stayed there last weekend and was totally unimpressed. While the fist impression of the lobby was very nice, my over-all feeling was that this place needs a visit from "Hotel Impossible". The carpet is worn and or/dirty, the furniture is beaten up and in need of immediate replacement. I viewed several rooms and all had "garage sale" quality furniture. Several of the double-pane glass windows near the courtyard/pool area had broken seals and had become opaque. They should have been replaced years ago.

The Mid East Peace talks between Israel and Syria were held here in 2000 and they are pretty proud of that. I don't think they have updated or repaired anything since then.

While I was eating the $8.00 continental breakfast I overheard another guest say, "This is like the free breakfast at the Comfort Inn." I had to agree. As a side note, the butter (margerine) and jelly, etc for the waffles, was sitting out, not chilled or covered in any way. (not under a "sneeze guard")

The cable TV was pretty bad. The lower channels were semi-acceptable, but the upper channels were awful. The desk clerk said, "That's just the way it is". If I'm spending $130.00+ per night, I want a decent picture. HD would be nice.....

The quality of the facilities does not support the rates. I've stayed in much nicer places for a lot less money....with free breakfast.

They have recently lost their contract with the government and may have to learn how to actually cater to real customers. They have a lot of "deferred maintenance" issues.

While the employees that I dealt were very nice, the hotel is in need of an overhaul.

7/25 Update: I almost forgot to mention the pool. and health club facilities. Pretty nice, actually. They sell memberships and have to work to keep the customers happy. One BIG negative: The towels supplied at the pool were the scratchiest towels I have ever used, like #60 sand paper. You must have to go to some special place to get towels that bad. Perhaps they do that so you won't steal them. Beware: If you do take one, do not use it to dry your car. You'll ruin the paint.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    46
    35
    22
    7
See reviews for
32
31
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel, we had no reservations and are thrilled that we stopped. The young lady at the desk, Beatrix was wonderful and very welcoming! A true asset to the organization! The rooms were very clean and the buffet breakfast was better than expected. I would highly recommend this hotel. Beatrix was right on with her suggestions for dinner and other activities, of course with a great smile.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie K, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Shepherdstown. Beatrix is a true asset to the company and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed all of her recommendations. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have very mixed feelings about this place. My wife and I stayed here last year, and decided to give it another try. Very fancy-looking, Still the same musty smell as you walk in the lobby, and a behind-the-desk manager who doesn’t smile or provide eye-contact, sent up warning flags. He was somewhat redeemed by introducing himself by first name with a genuine handshake, but then he immediately returned to glaring at his screen, which he seemed to prefer.
Walking up to a top floor room, it was clear the place was not being well-cared for: candy wrappers and a toothpick on the hallway floor. (The toothpick was still there when we left on Monday.) Clearly understaffed. It seemed like one very nice, cooperative, overworked maid was responsible for all the rooms on several floors. The room is roomy, but lacks any personality or decor, and was hot; A/C/ was off, the bedspread looked slept on, and the refrigerator unplugged. We’ll see.
The restaurant (more bar than anything else) offered little variety, and no one seemed to understand “gluten-free;” we did not stay to eat there. Sat. breakfast had nice fresh fruit. Not so on Sun. or Mon; buffet service was great, polite, eager to help.
I have not received a follow-up receipt to include Mon. a.m. breakfast charge.
Very nice exterior swimming pool & health club: Opens very late on weekends, when we wanted to work out early. And closes if there’s a cloud on the horizon, so realistically, use is very limited.
Overall experience was ”okay,” but not sure I’d stay there again. It’s pretty expensive mediocrity.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Shepherdstown is a beautiful weekend destination and I visit several times a year. However, hotel choices are minimal and I decided to stay at the Clarion primarily because of the pool. First, the good news. The staff couldn't have been any nicer during my stay. Everyone from the front desk to the restaurant staff was extremely polite, professional and made you feel extra special. The property is also in a quiet and peaceful location which is nice and relaxing and the pool area is also very clean and welcoming. Unfortunately, I agree with many of the other reviews that the hotel is in desperate need of a makeover. The hotel lobby, while very spacious, is dated and dark. The carpet is old and in need of repairs. It's too bad because the hotel staff is so warm and cheerful. I just wish the rest of the hotel was as cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are so glad that you decided to stay with us on your trip to Shepherdstown. We take pride in our work and glad we could make you feel comfortable during your stay. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We wanted to believe that the Clarion name still meant above average. This location is average at best. While well kept, it is dated and in need of renovation. Their are more rules at the pool for things you can't do than what is permitted and it was cold. Breakfast buffet was modest in offerings but not in price. It is in an unusual setting and Shepherdstown is a fun place to shop and visit. Unfortunately, there are few hotels to choose from in the local area. Seems like a great opportunity for a new facility especially since it is a college town.

Room Tip: Try a room at either end as there is no direct access parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Clark7932,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is through this process that we are better able to serve our future guests. I was sorry to hear that your stay with us was not thoroughly enjoyed. I will share this feedback with the General Manager. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future on your next trip to Shepherdstown, WV!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We decided to change hotels last minute due to the distance of the hotel we originally booked. We were visiting very dear friends and didn't realize the distance when booking. They suggested this hotel and we were glad they did. Tucked in a residential section, this hotel is beautifully kept. Ample parking and groomed grounds. It's an older hotel but it was clean and comfortable. We've slept on marshmallows aka beds and that was uncomfortable to say the least. This hotel had a good mattress and the best part....the absolute best pillows ever! Hotel staff were very friendly. Will go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear PinkCat14,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were recommended to you by your friends. We hope that you stay with us again on your next visit to the area - the pillows will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Shepherdstown, WV, in early April 2014, while attending a conference in Shepherd University, which is 10 mins drive away. The hotel is newer and is well-maintained. Check-in was a breeze, staff were friendly. Hotel room on the 4th floor was average in size, with 2 queen-sized beds that were clean, flatscreen TV, a fridge and microwave oven, although they haven't replaced the bulbs with energy efficient fluorescent or LED bulbs. Bathroom came with bathtub and shower (with standard amenities) and was clean. Rooms were soundproofed as we didn't hear much noise coming through. We did notice 2 stink bugs on the beds, which we were unsure how they got in (the room windows were sealed). Our room did not come with free breakfast, which would be a good idea as there are no restaurants nearby.
We would stay there again in future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Shepherdstown, WV. Shepherdstown is such a neat little town. There are shops and restaurants right downtown which is only 3/4 of a mile away from our Hotel. You must check it out the next time you come to visit! We are so sorry that you had a visit from our uninvited guests. Unfortunately, stink bugs are quite a nuisance for the entire surrounding areas, but are very harmless. We hope to see you again the next time you stay in Shepherdsotwn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 233 Lowe Drive, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Shepherdstown
Clarion Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.