We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Lowe Drive, Shepherdstown, WV 25443   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Hewitt
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We decided to change hotels last minute due to the distance of the hotel we originally booked. We were visiting very dear friends and didn't realize the distance when booking. They suggested this hotel and we were glad they did. Tucked in a residential section, this hotel is beautifully kept. Ample parking and groomed grounds. It's an older hotel but it was clean and comfortable. We've slept on marshmallows aka beds and that was uncomfortable to say the least. This hotel had a good mattress and the best part....the absolute best pillows ever! Hotel staff were very friendly. Will go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear PinkCat14,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were recommended to you by your friends. We hope that you stay with us again on your next visit to the area - the pillows will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    31
    22
    7
See reviews for
29
30
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Shepherdstown, WV, in early April 2014, while attending a conference in Shepherd University, which is 10 mins drive away. The hotel is newer and is well-maintained. Check-in was a breeze, staff were friendly. Hotel room on the 4th floor was average in size, with 2 queen-sized beds that were clean, flatscreen TV, a fridge and microwave oven, although they haven't replaced the bulbs with energy efficient fluorescent or LED bulbs. Bathroom came with bathtub and shower (with standard amenities) and was clean. Rooms were soundproofed as we didn't hear much noise coming through. We did notice 2 stink bugs on the beds, which we were unsure how they got in (the room windows were sealed). Our room did not come with free breakfast, which would be a good idea as there are no restaurants nearby.
We would stay there again in future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Shepherdstown, WV. Shepherdstown is such a neat little town. There are shops and restaurants right downtown which is only 3/4 of a mile away from our Hotel. You must check it out the next time you come to visit! We are so sorry that you had a visit from our uninvited guests. Unfortunately, stink bugs are quite a nuisance for the entire surrounding areas, but are very harmless. We hope to see you again the next time you stay in Shepherdsotwn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great location for government employees! The town of Shepherdstown is a treat! With some great restaurants and bars. Music at the hardware store on a Thursday is a must see. Loads of civil war sites within no distance of the hotel. It's a nice hotel in a great location, makes traveling for work just a little more bearable.

Room Tip: Internet service is so so, depending on where you hotel room is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We are happy to hear that you were able to see what Shepherdstown has to offer - it's a hidden gem! The Thursday Night Jam session at O'Hurley's General Store is definitely a favorite of ours as well. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I had our wedding reception at this hotel a little over 10 years ago and we spent our first night as a married couple in a suite. What was a beautiful, new, clean hotel has turned into a dated, in need of renovation, and dirty feeling hotel.

I thought it would be romantic to take my wife back to the hotel for her birthday. Upon check in (room 409), we had wonderful memories come back to us as we reminisced about the last time we were there. When we entered the room my wife opened the window sheers and they came out of the wall. There were about 6 holes in the frame where they had been re-screwed in over the years and not spackled. The front desk called to check on us and we informed them at that time and they said they would have it fixed tomorrow (after we check out.)

The grout on the bathroom floor was once white. It is now a dingy grey black color. The grout in the shower was stained with what may have been mold, or it may have just been dirt. It was still gross. The ceiling paint in the bathroom was peeling in a few locations pretty badly.

We opened the mini fridge in the room to put our dessert in from the Rumsey Tavern downstairs. It was the most disgusting aspect of the trip. The bottom was dirty, the fridge smelled bad and the little freezer section was full of mold.

To end on a positive the bed was pretty comfortable and the sheets were of good quality. Overall, we will always think about our wonderful night there over a decade ago, but now we feel sad at what has happened to the place. (if management reads this, we did alert the front desk upon check out about all of this and their response was, okay. We'll take care of it. If you want pictures of some of these issues, I have them) Please return this establishment to the great place it once was!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies that your stay with us this time was not as good as the first. I want to thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guests' stays with us.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I came to this area for business. At first I thought I wouldn't find a descent place to stay. But I was wrong. This place was very satisfying. The rooms are clean, the bed comfortable, The staff more than happy to assist me in anything I ask. The restaurant/lounge is perfect. The food was very good and service was on top of there game. Great stay in a small town. I would recommend this hotel!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We strive to do the absolute best in making sure that your stay with us is your "home away from home". We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Attended a family reunion and as this hotel was very confident to the reunion site, my way wife and I chose to stay there. We had stayed there several years ago and expected the same good experience as we'd had earlier. However, disappointingly, it was not to be. The room, while clean and comfortable seemed...well, a little shabby. Not decrepit but just not as it had seemed before. For instance, the coverlet on the bed was "pilled" and felt like it needed to be replaced. As I said, not really bad but not what we'd expected.

We arrived at the reunion at midday and at four p.m. (check-in time), we drove to the hotel. Our reception was courteous and efficient but seemed a little perfunctory although I must say, the staff did comply with my request for a first floor room and we really did appreciate what they did for us. After ding off our bags in our room, we immediately returned to the reunion and did not return to the room until late that evening. That's when we found an unpleasant sunrise awaiting us; the toilet was clogged and would not flush. Called the front desk at once and was told no one from maintenance was there but they could bring us a plunger! Okay, I know how to use one and some minutes later, said plus get was delivered and the problem was solved. By me. Admittedly, not a big deal but certainly not something you expect or want to find in a nice hotel.

And neither was the other "surprise" we discovered the next morning. Needing that first cup of coffee, we more than a little put off when we found a used coffee pod in our coffee pot. Evidently, it
had been used by a prior customer and the pot had not been checked and cleaned out. Again, not a really big deal and certainly not enough to raise a fuss about. Still though, it was a more than a little disconcerting and will remain I'm our memories should we ever again need a hotel room in that area.

Would we recommend this hotel? Yes but would add, make sure the toilet works.

Room Tip: Make sure toilet works and coffee pot is clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We are extremely sorry that your stay with us was not as good as the last time. We have addressed the issues with our staff that you have brought to our attention. We love hearing feedback so we can become an even better, enjoyable place for guests to stay. Please contact me personally for your next stay. My email address is akutcher@clarionshepherdstown. Everyone at the Clarion Hotel would love to see you again on your next visit to Shepherdstown. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a very clean, well-maintained, modern facility. The room was very nice, quiet, with a good view. Bed linens were nice, and the bed quite comfortable. Good lighting, bathroom amenities, including hairdryer. The best thing about the hotel is the walkable proximity to town and the river, and its very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take in the scenery of Shepherdstown that we love so much. We hope to see you back on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 233 Lowe Drive, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Shepherdstown
Clarion Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.