We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facililty in a special town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Lowe Drive, Shepherdstown, WV 25443   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent facililty in a special town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Spent two evening at the hotel and was delighted by the facilities and service. They serve a bountiful buffet breakfast and the dining was excellent. The crab cakes are as good as one finds in Baltimore and the bartenders know how to pour a good drink. The town of Shepherdstown is most charming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We take great pride in our service and product and I was glad to hear that you enjoyed both! The crab cakes are amazing and I am glad you had a chance to experience them. We hope that if your travel plans find you back in our town, that you return to the Clarion Hotel and Conference Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    49
    42
    22
    7
See reviews for
33
36
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our experience was virtually identical to that of the previous reviewer. Phone that didn't work, security latch had been yanked off of the door, scratched and dingy furniture, analog (Really?) TV reception that was a joke, cracked sink, and a terrible breakfast. I had a better breakfast at a Super 8 motel recently, and it was free. This one cost us $17 for 2 people. Ironically, the only bright spot with this hotel was the great service in the breakfast room.

The problem is, there are virtually no decent, moderately priced hotels serving the Antietam National Battlefield Park, so you are kind of stuck, if you are interested in Civil War history. This one should charge about half as much, to make the cost equivalent to hotels of similar quality. Don't stay here unless you have to.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you have to!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with you recent stay. We take customer service seriously and will do our best to improve based on the feedback you provided. I would be happy to discuss your concerns and try to get you back. We want to make you a satisfied customer. We hope that if your travel plans find you back in our town, that you return to the Clarion Hotel and Conference Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here on business for a few nights. The front desk staff was very polite and helpful. Other than that, this hotel falls far short. My room had old dingy scratched furniture, stained carpet, cracked sink, water stained bathroom door, a phone that didn't work, and antiquated hair dryer (looked like it was a vacuum).
I felt like I could have done a better job making the bed each day than the maid did. The room just seemed dirty.
Unless they update, I won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I was upset to hear that your accommodations were not up to par. While a great staff can go a long way, we will take your concerns and do our best to improve the experience for future guests. If you would like to discuss your concerns directly, please feel free to call. We would honor the opportunity to improve your impression of our facilities. We hope that if your travel plans find you back in our town, that you return to the Clarion Hotel and Conference Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I rode with my bike club up to WV and decided to stay at the Clarion Hotel. Its an older property but clean and neat. The bar and restaurant were very nice and the prices were reasonable. The room was well equipped and clean. The shower was good and there was plenty of soap, shampoo and towels. Breakfast was buffet style and very good. I plan on staying there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. It was nice to read about your positive experience with us. We take pride in our property and it always great to hear that we have earned another return customer! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay after visiting Harper's Ferry and came across the Clarion.
It was very reasonably priced so we stayed for two nights. The room was a good size, with coffee making facilities and fridge.
It was very clean. The bar was excellent and had live music on Saturday night which was good. We also had something to eat at the bar, which was very good. It is nice to have somewhere to go where you don't have to use the car. The next evening we managed to get back in time for happy hour, it was such a nice day we were able to sit outside and have a meal. All the staff were extremely friendly and very pleasant and helpful. Being really critical the hairdryer was the worse thing about this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Only stayed one night on our way back to Washington. The swimming pool is a bonus after a hot day travelling. As it opens early in the morning, we were also able to have a quick dip before breakfast. The room was comfortable, a good shower and coffee facility. I would have prefer kettle as I drink tea and using the coffee maker is not ideal as it gives your tea a coffee flavour. But this is only a minor inconvenient. We were able to print our boarding pass in the reception area. There is a bar/restaurant on the ground floor which is fine but you can opt for a better dining experience if you go to the other restaurant. This was our second stay there as we certainly would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. The outdoor pool area is very nice, and I ate lunch outside every day. The staff was attentive, as there was some issue with the cable television going on in the hotel, but it was fixed within the day. The room was average in size, as was the bathroom. There was nothing overly spectacular, yet nothing really wrong with this room. Just remember to bring your own hair dryer. I've never seen anything like the one in the room. It had to be from the 70s.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 233 Lowe Drive, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Shepherdstown
Clarion Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.