We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve in Shepherdstown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Lowe Drive, Shepherdstown, WV 25443   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Years Eve in Shepherdstown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Clarion on New Year's Eve while attending a show at the Opera House in Shepherdstown. The hotel has a beautiful stairway in the lobby and was nicely decorated for the holiday. It may be an older hotel but looked to be kept in good order and areas including our room, were clean and appeared well maintained. We stayed at another hotel in the area a year before and this one was definitely an "upgrade" compared to that one. Our room and bathroom were both spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and, although there were late night festivities going on downstairs, our room was quiet. We never even heard anyone in the hallway. Would definitely recommend staying at the Clarion if visiting the Shepherdstown area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    30
    21
    7
See reviews for
29
29
9
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel is set back from any major roads and the walls are thick, making for one of the quietest hotels I've slept in. Yes, this is an older hotel which is really evident in the bathrooms. The rooms are spacious with a microwave and small fridge. They offer an outdoor pool, (closed during winter), a Jacuzzi, a decent workout facility and a full size basketball court. I was there for training and we were fed buffet style meals and the food was good but not exceptional. The staff was friendly and helpful though not real knowledgeable of the area. An easy walk into town. All in all, I enjoyed the stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balt MD
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place needs an update, rooms are a little worn and in need of an update. Staff was helpful and didn't have any serious issues. I would stay again and visit the town, it looked interesting. Breakfast was disappointing - scrambled somthing that tried to be eggs. not a lot of variety.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilJerz
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at the Clarion for 4 nights last month. Where do I begin...let's start with the good. The rooms are a really nice size...flat screen TVs, mini-fridge and microwave in your room. Its close to Shepardstown Downtown area..Uhmmmm...yeah... that's about it. The hotel needs a complete overhaul. It's just old and moldy. The cleanliness is questionable. I had spots on the duvet, the sheet were rather scratchy. I do not think the sheets were changed. The duvet definitely wasnt cleaned or changed. The internet was slow as hell. The staff could use some training. One of the front desk clear had her leg propped up on a chair while she was standing at the front desk....A very nonchalant attitude. I don't need the attitude, nor do I want it.

If you look for a hotel and there is not another choice...good luck with the Clarion. Personally, I do not recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Sleep at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed at the Clarion the night before I ran the 2012 Freedom's Run Marathon, and was disappointed to find the staff printed out the wrong directions to the marathon start (causing me to be late for the race start) despite their being very friendly.

After recovering from the marathon, we had time to assess the accommodations and found the cleanliness of the room to be questionable with a less-than-fragrant comforter and dingy room and bathroom amenities.

But you can't beat the location - the hotel is one of the few (2?) in Shepherdstown, and was a walk or 2 minute drive from the adorable downtown. There weren't many other options in town, but I think that if I ran the Freedom's Run again, I might try to stay at the quirky Bavarian Inn across town and try my chances there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great service and a wonderful location makes a good setting for the active person. Lots of fun activities in the lounge including a trivia night and karaoke. Gym was perfect and the massage mid-week through the connected facility was outstanding at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: The further out on the wing the better and on the 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Clarion Hotel in Shepherdstown for four nights in September 2012 for the 150th anniversary of the Battle of Antietam across the Potomac in Maryland. The hotel is an easy 10 minute drive to the battlefield. The exterior and lobby of the hotel are very inviting and the front desk staff is extremely cheerful and helpful. However, the attention to detail by maintenance and housekeeping leave a little to be desired.

Upon arriving we had to request a room change as our room had a strong smell of chemical, probably from excessive cleaning solution. Within minutes our noses began to become irritated. Even though the hotel was full during our stay the front desk honored our request. The exterior of our new room had what appeared to be mold/mildew on the wall near our door. The room itself was nice enough for what we expected. We knew we weren't staying in a Westin and only planned to be in the room at night.

As others have noted the bathroom could use updating. The wallpaper was peeling from the bottom up on two walls. The bathtub spigot was not attached to the wall and each evening, after housekeeping had been in the room, it was turned at different angles and needed to be turned so water didn't spay out of the tub. The room itself was nice, but the carpet could be changed as it had wear wrinkles. Housekeeping seemed to do the bare minimum in our room. One day we came back to the room to find our bed was "made" by simply throwing the covers back on the bed. The pillows were in the same position we left them in the morning.

The microwave and refrigerator were nice to have as we packed a cooler each morning for our day at the battlefield.

Even though there are plenty of negatives in this review, they are minor in nature and wouldn't prevent us from staying here again on our next visit to Antietam. As mentioned earlier, the hotel won't exceed all your expectations, but it's nice enough if you need a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 233 Lowe Drive, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Shepherdstown
Clarion Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.