We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Lowe Drive, Shepherdstown, WV 25443   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Shepherdstown
Cape May, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Barely average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a HS reunion held in the hotel. The location is great if you are visiting the University or the town. The hoter is clean but dated. The room was a typical hotel room. The day we checked in the temp. was near 100. The AC was off in the room when we entered. The wall unit was EXTREMELY loud. Very annoying! The fridge and microwave were unplugged. The ironing board would not close. Bathroom was clean. Average place to stay.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    30
    19
    7
See reviews for
27
29
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Don’t bring you kids to the pool. This a no toy or splash zone, cause people should be able to use computer, phone and book or other water sensitive equipment, next to the pool without getting it wet. The 2 restaurant at Clarion is not recommended to use. The “Tuscany Grille food” taste like the food come from a jar and “Rumsey Taverns” served me “fresh” dry microwave spareribs. Cold outside and inside hot. It was grilled, but not the same day as served. Rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was a basic hotel that was chosen because of its location and the fact that it had handicapped rooms. I use an electric scooter to get around so this is always a factor. The rooms were small and charmless - more like a dorm room. It was also very dark. The bathroom was quite large and the shower was great. There was a sink basin with no shelf space anywhere in the bathroom, even though there was lots of room in there. Current designers of hotel accessible baths seem to think that wheelchair users don't use toiletries or toothbrushes. Are we supposed to put them on the floor?

The staff was very nice but it seemed that casual visitors were a rarity as they were more accustomed to the Federal Govt. employees coming for training.

We were the only ones in the restaurant for breakfast and yet we had to wait 30 minutes for our eggs, which we then had to send back as they resembled hockey pucks. Maybe we just hit a bad day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you are visiting Shepherdstown, WV this is a good location. The hotel is red brick and lacks the charm of local guest houses etc. It is attached to a Federal Government training center so a mainstay of business are government personnel.
The rooms are small and basic with loud air conditioning units. Not much charm in this hotel. However the staff are really nice and very helpful.
The hotel is set in the country side and you can walk into the village. There are also lots of sites within striking distance.
Good place to stay if you are being a tourist and don't want to spend too much time in your room

Room Tip: Face the front of the hotel to avoid the extraction fans from the roof of the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel in January and then again April 20-22 for a scrapbooking weekend. The hotel is quiet with plenty of parking. The rooms were clean, The bathrooms clean but a little dated. In general the hotel staff was friendly. The only spot of bother there was in the small dining room during Sunday brunch, where we waited for more then 30 minutes for coffee after asking several times from several different wait staff.Previously we had our meals in the large dining area and the servers were friendly and right there when you needed them. The food was very good which was a surprise, and the brunch was also very good with many selections. All in all I believe a good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel was wonderful. We had a beautiful room which was clean and comfortable. The staff was great. We ate in all the restaurants and enjoyed everyone of them. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

:for a relaxing weekend. The Clarion is a great value for offering a quiet and peaceful looking hotel on the opposite side of town of Shephard University. The double bed room was a good size for comfort and relaxing; the hotel was clean, plenty of parking; and the Clarion restaurant food was very good. Beds and pillows could use a update as I am spoiled with the Hampton Inn beds and pillows. However, I would stay there again and recommend you stay there when in Shepherdstown, WV

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 233 Lowe Drive, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Shepherdstown
Clarion Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.