We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE AFTERNOON” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoke Hole Caverns

Smoke Hole Caverns
5413 North Fork Highway, Seneca Rocks, WV 26884
800-828-8478
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves
Attraction Details
Wheeling, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“NICE AFTERNOON”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

While we were staying a weekend in Canaan Valley, we took a drive to visit Smoke Hole Caverns. The scenery is awesome. The gift shop was really nice and it had a place to get a bite to eat and tables outside. The tour lasted about an hour and was very educational. The walking path was safely graveled and it was well lit. The tour guide was informative and had a great sense of humor.We would recommend it for all ages.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthington, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We were impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The caverns are beside a very large gift shop, where they like you to browse while you await your tour, and we did have some concerns the caverns might be just a tourist trap. Not at all! We were fascinated by what we experienced underground - incredible colors, sound of rushing water, otherworldly formations. Guide was personable and very knowledgeable. Only complaint was the price of admission. We thought $15 apiece was steep, especially since posted signs encouraged tips as well. Be aware there are steps in the caverns that might be a challenge for the very young and very old.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth the money..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The caverns were not that big, but they were definitely very cool to see and worth the money. the guide was very kind and knew what he was talking about. He also gave us a little time to check out and touch things before we walked to the next part of the cavern. The guide also was very funny and tried to have a little fun!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were around the area and we decided to stop by. We found this place beautiful and quite interesting. The tour guide was well informed and had lots of information. He also had lots of humour to try to keep up with my family's humour:) we really enjoyed it and we took many wonderful pictures! We highly recommend it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go see it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very nice caverns, great history, beautiful inside and out, log motel next door with gift shop. Not a big long cavern, but very pretty, can't go wrong with this

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke Hole Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Smoke Hole Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoke Hole Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Smoke Hole Caverns to your Saves list