We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6210 MacCorkle Avenue, Saint Albans, WV 25177 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Albans
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a "dump"!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The reception building is misleading as it is newer and cleaner than the Motel. The staff at check-in and out was pleasant. We stayed in a "non-smoking" room #210. The carpet was filthy black, stained and ripped. The bed while sans "bedbugs" had an old worn marshmallow matress. The sheets were clean but the whole room stunk! The hotel does have a view of the river which is ok for watching the boat traffic. The area is full of "gentleman's clubs and adult book stores" and the restaurants in the area are limited to fast food. We were concerned about some of the indiviuals guest that were hanging around and almost parked the motorcycle in the room rather than outside.....I believe that by the looks of the carpet it had been done before. Happy ot was for only one night...never again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Bux4fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share an opinion with us. I am deeply concerned about the issues you encountered during your stay. We have recently added new carpets to 35 of our rooms and are planning to do an additional 20 rooms in the near future. We have also recently added new night stands, dressers, lamps, pictures, chairs, mattresses, pillows to 50 rooms. We hope that these improvements will enhance the overall experience.

Regards,
Marie-FD Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-S Charleston, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
5
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The receptionist was polite and professional and took good care of us. The location is convention to several fast food restaurants and it was nice to have a view of the river at the back of the hotel. The room was okay, but no daily room service other than trash and towels. The internet was constantly resetting itself on my laptop. The front receptionist told me that checkout was at 12PM, however when the housekeeper came by at 11:15 she was a little upset that we hadn't left yet....as I closed the door she was complaining with the maintenance coworker about us "staying and taking advantage of every "d**n" minute! I mentioned the worker "comments" to ABVI customer service but have not yet received any acknowledgment that they even read my complaint.

Room Tip: I might try a different hotel the next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Roadbug,

Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. We are in the process of upgrading our WIFI internet service. We have addressed the issues mentioned with our housekeeping staff to ensure that this will not happen in the future. Each of our hotels are individually owned and operated.


Regards,
Marie-GM
Americas Best Value Inn- S Charleston,WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway Virginia USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This hotel is nasty. When we first got there we checked our beds, and found dried blood on the pillows. Then the A/C was not working right and on top of everything, the carpet turned our feet black after being there for only a few minutes. There was a downstairs and we heard motorcycles and fights all night long. Our company arrived at the hotel around 4:15pm and they did not have our rooms ready even though we had advance reservation. The guy at the front was a little rude and seemed overwhelmed by our arrival. Find a different hotel, not in South Charleston, and enjoy a good, clean nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear clh8625<

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay. Recently, we have added new carpets to 35 of our rooms and are planning to do an additional 20 rooms in the near future. We have also recently added new night stands, dressers, lamps, pictures, chairs, mattresses, pillows to 50 rooms. We hope that you stay with us again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns located across the Country.

Regards,
Marie-FD Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-S Charleston, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Albans hotels

Mount Airy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

This hotel is in what looks to be a bad part of town. Several adult book & video stores and strip joints, gentlemens clubs and the like or worse all up and down the street. in this area. But of all the other motels and hotels we seen up this strip this one looked better than all the others. So yes we stayed there....
This hotel also has a bar/ lounge called Smileys at the far end of the hotel and there were drunk people shouting back and forth across the parking lot all during the night and wee hours of the morning. It was a Satuday night when we stayed so it may or may not be that bad on a week day.
There is a train track across the street and the train ran through at least times after midnight.
As for the room it was difinetly not the worst I've had but far from the best . There were many cigerette burns in the carpet and on the edge of the tub. The shower curtains had mold on them and the furniture was pretty worn. The front desk attendent was freindly. If you have to stay in this area . I would suggest this hotel over the rest along this strip of town, but if you have a little extra to drive on your next day I would suggest going back to the town of Dunbar.
Good luck.

  • Liked — Close distance to next days event.
  • Disliked — Drunks in the parking lot and no internet service.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2004

We travel to Indianapolis IN every year for the Indy 500 and we go by St. Albans WV on purpose. This hotel used to be Days Inn and for some reason is now Smiley's. It's on US60, not far from I-64. I love to stay there because it is right on the Kanawha River. The rooms are not 3- or 4-star quality, but the beds are comfy, the rooms are clean, most offer a full size coffee pot, fridge and microwave. They've got a pretty nice bar on the premisis and they offer a cheap lunch buffet and breakfast.
Hey, it's a small town in West Virginia. If you want luxury, this ain't it. But if you want nice people and a great view to relax by after a long drive and something nice to wake up to, this will do the trick.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston

Address: 6210 MacCorkle Avenue, Saint Albans, WV 25177 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Saint Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the beautiful Americas Best Value Inn of South Charleston/St. Albans, West Virginia. Our 2 story, exterior design Inn situated on the Kanawha River offers 108 accommodations, some of which have a river view. Tour groups are welcome, as we offer plenty of RV and Bus parking. Our efficiencies feature full kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, stoves, dinning and a sitting area. All of our guest rooms offer cable television with HBO, Internet access, free local calls and hairdryer. We only offer five pet friendly guest rooms so please mention whether you will be bringing a pet within the remarks section of your reservation or contact our hotel directly to make sure that we will be able to fulfill your reservation request. Come relax and enjoy the value at the Americas Best Value Inn of St. Albans. Located off I-64 Exit 54. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston Hotel Saint Albans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.