We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at Stonewall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Resort

Save Saved
You added Stonewall Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stonewall Resort
940 Resort Drive, Roanoke, WV 26447   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Roanoke
Moundsville, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wedding at Stonewall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was at Stonewall for my youngest daughter's wedding. This is a wonderful place to have a wedding. The grounds are very nice and clean. The ballroom is beautiful. The staff at the resort are real helpful. The rooms are clean and well kept. Indoor outdoor swimming pool. There's a restaurant in the resort, a spa, hot tub, fitness center, gift shop, children's center, coffe shop. And a boardwalk over the lake with a boat to take a cruise on, golf course, fishing, canoeing, kayaking. Loads of fun.

Room Tip: Chestnut lodge has a nice view of the boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
It was our pleasure to serve you! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    144
    53
    29
    14
See reviews for
123
143
3
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the most unfriendly pet friendly resort. You should leave your dog at home. We were constantly interrogated by the staff about the dog despite paying a $150 pet fee. Dogs were only allowed in the room. The are is nice and beautiful but we will not be returning because of the way the staff treated us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We appreciate your feedback on your stay. We continually review our pet policies with a goal to make them as friendly as possible for all our guests. We value every one of our guests especially those who bring their pets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was not the first time we've stayed here. We enjoy coming at least once a year. Wonderful rooms, service, staff, food, etc. Always work for discounts because it can be a bit pricey for us. This trip, we were only able to spend one night due to the craft fair and no rooms in the Inn. :) Will go again!

Room Tip: Always check to see if you can get a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for continuing to choose Stonewall Resort. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Loved the common areas, but for an expensive hotel, the rooms are a bit shabby. Mold around the bathtub and rugs are worn. Staff is excellent. No in-room microwaves is unbelievable when even the lowest priced hotels have them. The restaurant and pub have excellent food - they even serve at least one sugar-free dessert at lunch and dinner buffets. The grounds are beautiful and they have many family oriented activities. Excellent on-site workout area complete with free weights and incline bench in addition to the usual treadmills, elliptical, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are planning lodge room updates in 2014. We appreciate your business. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a quint-essential family resort nestled in the WV hills. As repeat visitors to this facility, my wife and I stay 4 or 5 times a year for the beauty, solitude and her love of the spa services. While this facility is not a 5 star luxury hotel primarily for the rich and privileged as some reviewers seem to lament, it remains an exceptional value and sensual experience for both family and couples, As regular customers, we expect for holiday weekends to be more populated with children and the occasional noise is a reasonable consequence of a family resort during these periods, Our visits during the week and off peak periods is unbeatable for romantic solitude with more amenities than we can take advantage of in a 2 -3 night stay. Highly recommend - if you are looking for lavish luxury, this may not be your fit, but if comfort, value, relaxation and a large assortment of amenities centrally located on a campus sitting sounds like heaven to you, you cannot go wrong here. A very good value that can't be beat!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is quietest due to less thru-traffic; the lake-side view is a must for us; if you have a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for the candid review. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My mom and sister and I came to research a place for a family reunion. The lodge is big and pretty much everything is clean (hallway carpet could use a steam clean perhaps). We loved that so many activities are included in the resort fee, and there seemed to be a ton for the little kids to do. We only ate at Stillwaters and were expecting a fancy meal. The food was good enough, but over-priced for the quality and atmosphere. It's a big dining room, and was something like eating at Denny's. Dinner was $122 for four of us. so.. there ya go (1 of us had a glass of wine and dessert).

The grounds were all clean, the golf course looked very pretty. From the website pictures we expected to be able to rent a speed boat on the lake - but no, they only rent small motorized fishing boats and pontoon boats. The pictures of the kids going tubing are from someone bringing their own boat.

The only place to sit and watch the lake from the lodge is from the fire pit area adjacent to the pool. After dinner it was rather noisy with a D.J. and a class reunion going on, so grabbing the Adirondack chair and relaxing was out of the question. We tried the pool next to the fire pit, but it also was awash with small kids. Perhaps there was some other place to hang out outside, but it was not apparent to us.

Anyway, undecided still about the reunion here, but definitely a good place to bring a family with kids for a weekend getaway. We drove by the cottages. They seemed quieter, but only 2 parking spots per cottage. Couldn't tell how big the patios were but the lakeside ones didn't seem that big. There is building going on out there (more cottages).

Room Tip: Lake side 2nd or 3rd floor. If you are on the first floor, a walking path will have people walking b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. It has been very helpful in our planning for 2014. I think you will notice a number of improvements on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grove city, pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three days and two nights and we were impressed. The lodge staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. Our room had a beautiful view of the lake and was very clean. The breakfast buffet and Stillwaters was excellent. The food at TJ Muskies was excellent and reasonable priced. There were lots of activities and plenty of trails to explorer. We hope to return again and will recommend to our friends and family.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and requested a lake side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stonewall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Resort

Address: 940 Resort Drive, Roanoke, WV 26447
Location: United States > West Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonewall Resort combines the pristine surroundings of Stonewall Jackson Lake with all the comforts of home. Here, in the midst of lush, rolling hills and tranquil lake waters, the beautiful Adirondack-style lodge offers a refreshing perspective, state-of-the-art conference facilities and a luxury resort experience. From the resort's own Mtn. Laurel Spa, 374-slip boat marina and award-winning Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, guests can enjoy a wide range of recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Stonewall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Hotel Roanoke
Stonewall Resort Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.