We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stonewall Resort to your Saves list
Stonewall Resort
940 Resort Drive, Roanoke, WV 26447   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Our family spent 3 days at the resort. Enjoyed the activities - pool, boat ride, paddle boards, kayaks, bikes, hiking. The concert on the lawn was wonderful. We played the gold course twice- it's beautiful and challenging. Would play it again. The rooms are pet friendly. Be aware of water proof mattress pads. They are incredibly loud. We changed our mattress pad at 3 am in the morning after locating house keeping. The food is average and high priced. Because of the location other food options are not near by.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for the review. We appreciate your feedback and use to improve our service and value to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    188
    64
    30
    16
See reviews for
149
188
3
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at one of the cottages. The cottage was very clean, well maintained. However, they could cut the weeds and make the lake more accessible from the cottages. We had small children that day looking forward to playing on the bank of the lake. My biggest complaint is not having a place for a campfire, some of the best conversations occur around a campfire roasting the treat of choice, not having to go to the resort for a public campfire.
Overall this is a nice place to stay, but could be wonderful with better lake access from cottage, and a fire pit.
Great fishing. Nice pool. Beautiful scenery. Well kept facilities. Friendly staff. Nice marina. Great memories

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your cottage stay. We are always looking for ways to add value for our guests so we are taking your campfire suggestion under consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My family and I stayed at Stonewall Resort while traveling to South Carolina. Both of our stays were enjoyable. The hotel was clean with a beautiful lakeside location. Many activities available. We look forward to returning during warmer weather. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the elevators. Hallways are long and the walk can be a problem for older adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent the Memorial Day weekend here at Stonewall Resort. It is all here from golf, camping, trails, kayaking, boating, The rooms are nicely appointed and quiet. The buffet for dinner and breakfast was great. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. They even had a moving Memorial Day service with a color guard on memorial day

Room Tip: Try to get lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of our resort. We have received a number of compliments about our Memorial Day service and it is a source of pride for our team members who organize it every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a beautiful property and the staff are friendly and helpful. Do be aware that there isn't any other options regarding dining without traveling to the next largest area. That being said, the food at both Stillwaters and TJ Muskies is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments about our restaurants! Our culinary team takes a lot of pride in their work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I came as a last getaway before baby #1. It was a great choice. The general manager helped us create an awesome itenery- enough to do yet incredibly relaxing. We enjoyed hiking the gorgeous trails (and had lunches packed from the restaurant), golf on the incredible course, spa services (Jamal is an awesome massage therapist- especially for a prenatal massage!), biking, a relaxing boat ride and pool time. There is so much to do included in the stay to help you enjoy nature in such a comfortable and cozy environment. I'd recommend this resort for a couple wanting to get away, a family wanting a place where everyone can enjoy themselves, or a company looking for a place to have an incredible conference.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you! We were so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back soon and bring the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great place for a meeting, food was excellent, service was very good. Very nice resort has an Arnold Palmer championship golf course that is in great shape. Be sure and take the free boat trip around the lakes. Also has some very nice cabins right on the water

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you! We hope you are having a nice summer. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Resort

Address: 940 Resort Drive, Roanoke, WV 26447
Location: United States > West Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonewall Resort combines the pristine surroundings of Stonewall Jackson Lake with all the comforts of home. Here, in the midst of lush, rolling hills and tranquil lake waters, the beautiful Adirondack-style lodge offers a refreshing perspective, state-of-the-art conference facilities and a luxury resort experience. From the resort's own Mtn. Laurel Spa, 374-slip boat marina and award-winning Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, guests can enjoy a wide range of recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick so you can book your Stonewall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Hotel Roanoke
Stonewall Resort Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.