We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of WV's gems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stonewall Resort to your Saves list
Stonewall Resort
940 Resort Drive, Roanoke, WV 26447   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of WV's gems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stonewall is a nice getaway anytime of year. The lake/golf/resort setting is relaxing and bueatiful. The guest rooms are still very nice but are nearing the need to be updated if the resort is going to remain a top notch destination. Last but not least ... the food at the resort is outstanding.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for the positive review. Our culinary team takes great pride in their work and they really appreciated your comment about our food. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    175
    61
    30
    14
See reviews for
140
176
3
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Our family of five adults thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing time at the Stonewall Resort. This was our second visit. The rooms were very clean and the staff was accommodating and friendly. We rented the pontoon boat on two different days and had a great time swimming in the lake. The scenery is just beautiful! We liked the choices of the breakfast buffet at Stillwaters Restaurant but felt the dinner buffet could be improved. We had light fare at Lightburn's Restaurant and thought the service and food were good. Some of the kayaks were not in good condition and this area could be updated with newer boats. There were plenty of chairs in the pool area and though it is small, it never seemed overly crowded. Our group had a great time and plan on returning in the future.

Room Tip: The resort has various specials thoroughout the season. You can get better rates if you have flexib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for your review of our resort! We read your review at our staff meeting and it really inspired our team. We take your suggestions about the restaurant and recreation seriously and will take action in both areas. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stonewall Resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011 via mobile

We were stopping in this area as a halfway point to our next destination. The pool was packed with children and there were no lounge chairs available. The Stillwater restaurant had such a bad odor that we cancelled our reservation but since the closest decent restaurant was 20-30 miles away (as per hotel staff) we decided on take out from the bar restaurant. We ordered pizza and it was disgusting. Overall I was shocked that this is what is considered a golf resort and spa in this area!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
I am sorry you were not pleased with your stay. Our General Manager, Mike Hager, would like to speak with you directly to offer his apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay. His number is 304-269-8801. We are proud of the quality of food and service we provide our guests. We have earned a 4 Diamond rating from AAA for the past 9 years but clearly we did not perform to our usual standard during your stay.

We look forward to the opportunity to earn your business back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrettsville, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We just returned from a three day visit to this beautiful resort. Our primary interests in visiting were the mountain setting, on location activities, and hiking. The lodge is gorgeous, with a spectacular lobby that was mostly uncroweded during our stay. It was a lovely, cool place to relax on a VERY hot day. The rooms were clean and neat, although a bit smaller than we might have liked. A luggage stand and a few more hooks for wet suits would have been appriciated. The staff were helpful and friendly overall.
The patio has spectacular views. Here, however, was one of my two main disappointments. Being an early riser, I looked forward to taking my coffee out on the patio to watch the sun rise. Unfortunately, loud jazz music is piped out onto the terrace all day (including at six in the morning when I went out). I am no jazz fan, and to make matters worse, the adjacent pool area plays the XM Greatful Dead channel, so both stations play over one another. The birds and breeze would have made much more pleasant music. The buffet breakfast in the Stillwaters Restaurant was quite good. Try the custom made omlets or waffles, and a scone. Budget travelers should be warned that the food is moderately expensive and there is no complimentary beverage station in the lobby, so plan accordingly.
After breakfast, we asked the front desk staff for a map of the hiking trails. We hoped to hike the Cairns trail to see the mysterious stone structures, but after some confusion (the staff member at the desk knew nothing of the trails), we were informed that the trail was closed. We opted to take the orchard trail instead. Unfortunately, the map we were given showed the trail head in a place where it didn't exsist. After some searching along the road in 90 degree heat, we gave up and headed down the road to find the Autumn Laurel trail. Before we came to the trail head, we passed a sign that said "Cottage guests only beyond this point". After dragging down the hot road an extra mile, I would have commando crawled under a barbed wire fence and swung across the reservoir on a vine to reach that trail, so I marched passed the sign with a "somebody try and stop me" attitude. Once we finally reached the trial, however, we enjoyed a lovely hike around the mountain. There was some great wildlife viewing including an unusual box turtle on the path. If any hikers are considering the resort, take my advice and head down to the park headquarters for information before enduring the frustration.
Some of the trip highlights were dinner at TJ Muskies (the hummus platter is fabulous), and the relaxing Little Sorrel boat cruise. The pool was a nice hangout for the kids, and the paddle boats were a nice energy burner. In all, we enjoyed our stay and would return after further researching area hiking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for your review of our resort. Your constructive comments are well taken. We are making some improvements to our trail signage and maps. Some were already in the works but some will come as a result of your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Resort is very peaceful. Hard to believe it was sold-out as there was never a problem with getting service. The staff was friendly, attentative and on several occasions anticipated our needs even before we thought to ask. Kids had a great time by the pool, canoeing and even the lake cruise. Be sure to take advantage of the restaurant at the Golf Lodge on the hill, the food is good and the views are awesome. If there was any disappointment, it would be the Activity Center which just opened this summer. It's a start, but we hope they add more as time goes on. The indoor mini-golf was very very basic, and the rock climbing wall was not very tall. May work for young kids, but not for tweens, although we thought it was a good start that will likely improve over time. All in all, the group had a wonderful time, so much so that it may be on the itenerary again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our resort. We appreciate it! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our new activity center is a work in progress and you will see further improvements when you return. We now have 5 segways available for guests to rent. We also added 2 aqua cycles at the marina. We will soon be adding 5 more feet to the climbing wall. Later this summer, we be offering "stand up paddling" which will give guests a new way to explore Stonewall Jackson Lake. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stonewall Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I attended a two-day conference at the Stonewall Resort with a medium-size group. I would not recommend this resort for a conference, for the following reason:

1) Audiovisual support was poor. The laptop in our main room on the first day did not have any way to screw down the cable leading to the projector, so it kept coming out, which caused frequent interruptions to presentations. We complained as high as the general manager. The only suggestion we got was to tape it down. The replacement laptop the next morning was not set up in advance, which caused a 15-minute delay for the first presentation. Finally, the wireless microphones kept cutting out, even after staff replaced the batteries.
2) Cell phone service is spotty at best. We usually had to go outside to place calls. On Sprint, I was roaming most of the time. There is wi-fi, but you have to accept the hotel's terms and conditions all over again when you move from one room to another.
3) Our buffet meal service had several issues. On Friday night, dinner started 20 minutes late. No healthy alternatives such as a salad were offered. Breakfast the next day was extremely limited. There were no serving plates to ean on, only coffee saucers. Our lunch finally offered the variety that dinner the night before should have.
4) In the sleeping rooms, the air vents are set up to blow directly over the heads of the beds, so you either have to sleep under a draft all night, or turn the A/C off in the middle of the summer.
5) Late in the evening, I needed a small snack to eat with medicine. The food vending machine was completely empty. i guess I could have driven 10 miles to a gas station, but i was too tired for that.
6) There is a work table in the sleeping rooms, but the plugs in the only nearby electric outlet are already filled up with the lamp and the TV. You have to go across the room to plug your laptop in, or unplug the TV.

The Stonewall Resort is probably a nice place for families with young children to go for a fishing weekend, which is who most of the guests appeared to be. But I don't think it meets the standards that experienced meeting planners will expect from even a midrange property.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our resort. Your feedback is very important to us and you made several valid points. I would like to apologize for the problems you experienced. We normally deliver a much higher level of service and quality than what you experienced during your stay. Our managers are using your comments to review and make improvements in their areas.

Although we fell short of the mark during your stay, we are proud of our conference center capabilities. We are accredited by the International Association of Conference Centers at a Green Star Gold level. We are one of 300 accredited conference centers in the United States and the only one in West Virginia.

Regarding the cell phone coverage at Stonewall, not all carriers have expanded their network to our area. Verizon, US Cellular and NTelos have strong 3G level service. Sprint and AT&T signals are not as strong but usually are above roaming levels. There are more cell towers planned for our area.

It is our hope you will consider Stonewall Resort again for a future stay and give us a chance to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Resort had excellent fireworks over the lake on the Saturday. We had 5 guest rooms and the parlor attached to two of our rooms, spacious and worth the extra money. Kids had fun at the pool, with paddle boats, canoe and driving range. Adults relaxed, enjoyed views from restaurant at the golf course, listened to live music in the evening. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Parlor gave our group a place to all relax in the evening, we comfortably sat 9 around the table for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
It was our pleasure to serve you. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Resort

Address: 940 Resort Drive, Roanoke, WV 26447
Location: United States > West Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonewall Resort combines the pristine surroundings of Stonewall Jackson Lake with all the comforts of home. Here, in the midst of lush, rolling hills and tranquil lake waters, the beautiful Adirondack-style lodge offers a refreshing perspective, state-of-the-art conference facilities and a luxury resort experience. From the resort's own Mtn. Laurel Spa, 374-slip boat marina and award-winning Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, guests can enjoy a wide range of recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Stonewall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Hotel Roanoke
Stonewall Resort Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.