We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and lovely, however food was not quite up to par” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John's Family Restaurant

John's Family Restaurant
847 Berryville Pike (Rt 340), Rippon, WV 25441
(304) 725-4348
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Rippon
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Washington DC area
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quaint and lovely, however food was not quite up to par”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Visited this local place after driving by for years. I have to say, first off, it was about a year ago, Aug 2011. Charming and very Christian-oriented. Menu a bit pricey, but we were willing to indulge!
It was a huge disappointment.
My husband ordered fried shrimp. I ordered the chicken Oscar.
The shrimp were of the caliber of what one would buy at Walmart: flat, grainy battered ground up shrimp, way overdone. Not what we expected for 16.99 as I recall. The green beans were more akin to mush. The mashed potatoes were definitely "box" tasting. (In this day and age, no excuse for that at all.)
Baked potato was good, as was the chicken Oscar.
Perhaps seafood just isn't their draw.
Our server was adequate.
Perhaps we will try again for breakfast instead.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summit Point
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Best crab soup around! Everything you get their is great! Home cooking at it's best!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“HEAVENLY COOKED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

You will thank God for this Homecooked meal! Pork Chops...like grandma use to make. It will fill up and growing boy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Country Cooking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stop there every time I go through the area (3-4 times a year). Great breakfasts (they will fill you up). For lunch, all kinds of comfort food. Never had room for dessert but it did look good. Price was excellent, have always had great waiters/waitresses, never had a bad experience.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Just Good Eatin'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I've eaten at John's My Pappy's Place many times. The big Pappy's sign practically dragged me in the first time I drove by. My favorite meal there is breakfast, but lunch is a strong contender with a mean cheeseburger and the SheCrab soup (yum) which is started early and is usually ready by noon.

There are three dining areas and though frequently busy, seating is rarely more than a couple minutes. I can't comment on dinners, because we only ate dinner there once. My husband enjoys a beer or wine with nice dinners and Pappy's does not serve alcohol, so despite a nice looking menu we didn't

The parking lot is large, there's a welcoming wraparound deck and the interior was enlarged by adding a pleasant entrance a few years ago. For travelers between Maryland and Virginia on Highway 340, this is a great place to stop.

Positives: grits, flapjacks, biscuits and gravy, she crab soup, fried chicken, cheeseburgers, friendly service, eclectic antique decor, nostalgia

Negatives: weak coffee, closed Sundays, no alcohol with dinner, service can be slow

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Family Restaurant also viewed

Been to John's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.