We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs. Bernice Merchak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Ripley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Ripley to your Saves list
Super 8 Ripley
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   102 Duke Drive, I-77 Exit 138, Ripley, WV 25271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ripley
Taylor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mrs. Bernice Merchak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I could not have been any happier then I was with the
service at this Super 8. It has been a long time since
I would recommend this Super 8 to any of my friends and
family traveling this way. Excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally M, General Manager at Super 8 Ripley, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I would like to thank you for the comments you posted regarding our Ripley, WV Super 8. Our goal is to meet your needs with a clean comfortable room and friendly staff. I am happy that your stay with us was a pleasant one.

Thanks for the recommendation for future reviewers that maybe looking for lodging in the Ripley, West Virginia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    65
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
63
23
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Upon check-in, our room had a problem of which management wasn't aware. We were given a larger room at no extra charge. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable and the staff and manager bent over backwards to assure our stay was great. We will be returning to the area in two weeks and will definitely stay at this hotel. The only drawback is the heavy smoke smell from the smoking rooms especially on the second floor.

Room Tip: If you need a non-smoking room,request one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally M, General Manager at Super 8 Ripley, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I would like to thank you for the comments you posted regarding your stay at our Super 8 in Ripley, West Virginia. Our number one goal is to meet everyone’s needs from a clean, comfortable room to friendly service and we came up short on that. I truly apologize for this. I am glad to hear my staff went the extra mile to make the situation correct. I hope you enjoyed the bigger room.

During the fourth quarter of 2013 we will be reducing our number of smoking rooms, which will remove some of the strong smoke odor. We will also be moving all smoking rooms into one section.

I am glad to hear that you will be staying with us on your next trip to Ripley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stopped in around 10pm on a Friday night in late Sept. We were offered the 2nd to last room. Our AARP discount wasn't honored because we had a room with two queens instead of the single we asked for for the two of us. Our room with tax was $70.
The rooms are off interior corridors. The hall carpet seemed like it had been replaced in the last year. When we entered our 1st floor room we noticed a strong smell of cleaning solutions/supplies (?). The A/C and fan wasn't on so the room was a little stuffy. Once the unit was on it took care of the smell right away. It wasn't an offensive smell, just one like the room had been shut up right after cleaning.
The beds were hard but comfortable and the bedding was clean. There was a decent size flat screen TV, small coffee maker, small microwave (suitable for microwave poppcorn or frozen dinner) and small refrigerator. The shower worked fine and there was plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The sink was in the bathroom area rather than outside the toilet/shower area. The hotel provides shampoo and lotion, no hair conditioner. The carpet was clean.
The hotel is fairly close to the highway but we couldn't hear it. There is a McDonald's next door.
The hotel has a simple breakfast included-canned OJ and apple juice, small individual cartons of milk, Frosted Flakes and Raisin Bran cereal in disposal bowls, Eggos, white and wheat bread to toast, packaged cinnamon rolls, instand regular oatmeal and hot chocolate and coffee. There are only two small tables in the lobby to eat at so most people take the food back to their rooms.
The hotel is adequate for a one night's stay for travelers focusing on just spending a night before going on their way the next day. The parking lot is well lit. We did not hear others at the hotel so the walls must be thick. Would we stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally M, General Manager at Super 8 Ripley, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments and your continued business at our Ripley, WV Super 8. We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms.

Regarding the comment about the room rate and not getting your AARP discount. Our rates for a room with two beds are higher then a room with one single bed. You were honored the AARP discount for the room with two beds. I am truly sorry for that confusion.

Hope to you see you back soon if your travel takes you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Ripley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ripley

Address: 102 Duke Drive, I-77 Exit 138, Ripley, WV 25271
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ripley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ripley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ripley 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Ripley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ripley
Ripley Super 8
Ripley Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Ripley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.