We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charles Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Clean and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I used my IHG Bonus Anniversary Rewards to book this room. Very disappointed with check in. Not a welcome or hello. I had to give my name. She asked for ID and credit card. Put paper in front of me to initial and sign. Said my room was down the hall. Did not tell my husband nor I when breakfast was served. I had to ask about the free shuttle to the casino. I think her name was Lindsay. Also on the departure one staff member at 10:00 on Sunday and she was on the phone and I had to leave my keys on the counter. She made me stand there and wait. Not a question about our stay. We travel often and I am very disappointed in the front desk staff. Nice clean hotel however the staff at the front desk need training.

Room Tip: Away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We'll definitely speak to our people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    46
    13
    7
    10
See reviews for
26
57
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights for a family reunion and this hotel far exceeded my expectations the staff where all very friendly and helpful my phone did not work in this area and they where very helpful with directions the breakfast in the morning were fantastic and i would highly recommend this place added perk Hollywood Casino is right next door truly a blessed weekend

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
very glad you could visit and enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel was clean and well kept. The room was comfortable. The bed was hard but we got use to it quickly. The staff was helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was very good and had a lot of choices. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
wonderful to have you with us, look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington nc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Excellent location to Hollywood Casino and race track. Just down the hill and you are at the casino. Our room was large and immaculate. The staff was great. Breakfast good and stayed 2nights and sleep like a rock Bedding was superiop

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
So glad that you could come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley Pa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The bed was so hard, it was like sleeping on the floor, was my bed the only one like that in the hotel? how can no one else mention this? also the shower was dirty, full of hair on the walls but if that was different than I would have liked it, with the pool being outside and free breakfast and the staff was very nice (I did not complain to hotel because we arrived at 12:30am with 2 sleeping kids, so there wasn't any options except to grin and bear it)
Also it was a good location for the casino, really not worth staying at the hotel with the casino, its not connected and I feel this hotel was just as far, if Im going to get in my car and drive Ill just stay anywhere. (rooms at the casino hotel were around 350.00, Ill pay that but only to take a elevator down stairs to get to casino not a car) Some read this and open a hotel ATTACHED to casino, that would be great.

Room Tip: If u like hard beds, than go for it, the dirty shower was probable not the norm, from reading other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear terriblespellher,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is regrettable that the room quality was a let down during your stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional information regarding your experience. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during a weekend trip to see family. We had 2 king rooms, everything was very clean and large. Breakfast had a large selection and was very fresh and inviting. Very close to the Charles Town casino/horse track and many restaurants. We would recommend to others and will return when we return to see family in this area. The only issue was that they could not place our rooms close together, but I had not requested this and the hotel was booked to capacity when I asked at check in. Overall and excellent hotel experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
so glad that you enjoyed yourself. Sorry we could get you closer together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I truly enjoyed my stay here. My room was clean and nice, the front desk staff displayed excellent customer service. The sheets however are not changed everyday but who change their sheets at home everyday anyways. There is a nice display of breakfast food daily. This hotel is also close to the Charles Town races and Hollywood Casino. There is complimentary shuttle that can take you there. It's also a short ride to major historical sites in Harper's Ferry, Shepherdstown and Antietam Battle Field.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
glad you enjoyed yourself. True, with longer stays, sheets aren't changed daily unless requested, for environmental issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Address: 681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.