We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charles Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during a weekend trip to see family. We had 2 king rooms, everything was very clean and large. Breakfast had a large selection and was very fresh and inviting. Very close to the Charles Town casino/horse track and many restaurants. We would recommend to others and will return when we return to see family in this area. The only issue was that they could not place our rooms close together, but I had not requested this and the hotel was booked to capacity when I asked at check in. Overall and excellent hotel experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
so glad that you enjoyed yourself. Sorry we could get you closer together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    55
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
34
67
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I truly enjoyed my stay here. My room was clean and nice, the front desk staff displayed excellent customer service. The sheets however are not changed everyday but who change their sheets at home everyday anyways. There is a nice display of breakfast food daily. This hotel is also close to the Charles Town races and Hollywood Casino. There is complimentary shuttle that can take you there. It's also a short ride to major historical sites in Harper's Ferry, Shepherdstown and Antietam Battle Field.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
glad you enjoyed yourself. True, with longer stays, sheets aren't changed daily unless requested, for environmental issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
272 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It is seldom that I have no complaints with a hotel, but this property managed to pull it off. The staff were friendly, a late checkout was granted, the room was nice, modern and clean. Breakfast was great. A+.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Always happy to read a review like yours. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrettsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I were planning a trip to Summit Point Motorsports Park - it was a Ferrari Event and we were asked to work the event. In the past we've stayed at The Turf Inn, Northgate Motel and Town House Motel which weren't that bad but definitely not the Ritz. It had been a while since we stayed in any of those places so I decided to read the reviews. They were horrible and scary so I decided to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Ranson. The hotel was very nice - updated with granite counter tops, microwave and small frig in the room and most of all CLEAN! They have an outdoor swimming pool which is heated. Unfortunately we didn't get to enjoy the pool but we did see it and it did look very refreshing. They also have a continental breakfast every morning. The hotel was centrally located to everything in Charles Town as well.

Dawn Adkins

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Mrs. Adkins,

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we'll see you again on your next visit to our area...maybe this time you'll be able to relax a little more and enjoy our pool.

Respectfully,

J Butt, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

It was certainly nice to get off the beaten path (I-70) on our drive from Ohio to DC as we decided to visit Harpers Ferry National Historical Park along the way. We picked the Holiday Inn Express in Charles Town, WV mainly for its proximity to the N.P. (7 miles) as well as the availability of a hot breakfast. We enjoyed our stay, albeit a short stay of about 9 hours, and were more than satisfied with the customer service, hotel-wide cleanliness, and the hot breakfast in the morning. They allowed us a late check-in which was super important as we arrived close to midnight and were exhausted from 5 hours of post-workday driving. There certainly were less and more expensive options within a 20-mile radius but this spot was definitely a good blend of location, comfort, and value. Also, the hotel is quite large (for a Holiday Inn Express) and apparently caters to the horse-racing/casino crowd - the racetrack could be seen from our window. We didn't get involved in any of that - so I can't comment on any shuttle service or amenities in that regard. But if we're in the area again we'd have no problem staying here once more!

GPS DRIVE TIP: By the way, if you're coming from the west on I-70, dumping off I-70 early (Rts 522 - 1 - 9) and taking a straighter route (as the crow flies) versus staying until you hit I-81 and "back-tracking" nets you about the same amount of driving time but shaves about 13 miles. Fun if you want to see some rural West Virginia!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
I was very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We try very hard to make our guest's stay pleasant and are gratified to see that we succeeded. We look forward to seeing you again.

Respectfully, J Butt, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We went to this hotel to celebrate my cousins birthday and I made the reservations 8 weeks in advance. We confirmed the reservation the week before and was told that check in was 3pm. My party arrived at the hotel to check in at 4:30 pm and were told that our rooms were not ready yet. So we went ahead and checked in because we were told our rooms were being cleaned while we were checking in. Check in took 45 minutes because they had issues with the computer and their credit card machine. After all of this, our room was by the elevator which proceeded to keep us up all night because it was extremely loud. After we checked out, we noticed that our credit card had been charged, not once, but twice for the hotel room, when we paid in cash!!!!! When we called the hotel to figure out why they had charged the card, they said they "held" the funds in case there was damage to the room. No one mentioned that this was going to be done so our card was overdrawn and when we asked them to reimburse us the overdraft fee they refused because they said it was just a "temporary hold" so that had nothing to do with them. I will never again go to this hotel because of the horrible customer service!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
I was sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at our property. We strive to meet the 4pm check-in time as best we can, unfortunately we were unable at that time to have every room ready. The hold on your card was, however, told to you as it is one of the items on the registration card that you initial upon arrival. In reference to your checking out, we can hardly anticipate issues with the computer network going down, as anyone who works with computers on a daily basis can attest to. It is unfortunate, however, that you had the misfortune to experience all of these items on the same visit. We do hope that you will return and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this property. The breakfasts are not to be missed. Probably one of the best I have found.
I used to travel 2 weeks out of every month for 3 years so I have tried a few.

Biggest complaint is the bedding. The mattress is beyond extra firm. Rock solid is more like it.

Also the pool was not open.

The hotel was lower priced than its neighbors. Be aware that the room rate goes up drastically for the weekend because of the visitors for the casino

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear acnc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see the mattress firmness prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see your kind comments for our breakfast as well as your high scores Cleanliness, Service, and Rooms. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranson
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
4.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Conference Center
Quality Hotel Conference Center
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
5.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Knights Inn Knoxville
Knights Inn Knoxville
#1 of 1 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
7.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Address: 681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.