We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating acomodations !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charles Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Holland, Pa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Accommodating acomodations !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Went to this Holiday in for a getaway weekend with a group of 20 friends. The first room that they gave us smelled like smoke, they apologized and upgraded us to what they called a suite which was nice and without issue, although absolutely no view out the window. The room and the hotel were very clean, the choices at breakfast were good and satisfying. The management was nice enough to allow our group to gather at night in the large breakfast area as a group to play games eat snacks and pretty much have the area to ourselves complete with a large flat panel TV. All in all a nice stay with friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express in Hagerstown, Md. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Sincerely,
Jason Butt
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    46
    13
    7
    10
See reviews for
26
57
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warm Springs, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The location is good if you plan on going to the local casino. The building is fairly quiet for being in near main roadways. The front desk staff was very helpful, but a bit slow with checking in. Plenty of parking space and entrances located around the building. The dining area is well kept and offers the usual hotel breakfast items. Does have a basic workout room with cable TV. I do plan on staying here each time I go to the casino.

Room Tip: Seem to be no bad rooms on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit us again soon and if there is anything I can do personally to assist with a return visit, please do not hesitate to contact me. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us and Trip Advisor!
Sincerely,

Jason Butt
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel during a business trip this week, and it was very nice. Some of the fixtures in the room looked a little bit dated, but nothing that would prevent me from returning. Everything was very clean, and the breakfast was well stocked. Overall, a positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We try to make everyone’s visit a “Home away from Home” by providing the best comfort, the friendliest service and the best of amenities.
Sincerely,

Jason Butt
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stopped here for the night on our way home. We had been here for a stop over 2 years ago.

The hotel is located right next to the Race Track & Casino. Having said that you should have a reservation because of its location it could fill up rather quickly.

Our room was nice, clean and very spacious. Breakfast was adequate for a quick bite. Staff was friendly and courteous.

Casino has a free shuttle 24/7 every 10-15 minutes. Plenty of gas stations near by. Easy access to the property from the highway.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests. Each survey we receive is reviewed and shared with every associate in an effort to improve the service and accommodations that we provide our guests. We thank you for your candid feedback, and hope that you will choose to stay with us should you visit the area again.
Sincerely,

Jason Butt
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The location isn't that great because it sits almost hidden but the hotel itself makes up for that. The rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. The rooms have a mini fridge and microwave, coffee maker for those who like coffee. Also the regular must haves- iron, ironing board & hair dryer. Should you need anything else just ask the front desk. There is a nice breakfast area, tv & separate sitting area included. The housekeeping staff is very nice & respectful. Special thanks to Jason for allowing me a few extra minutes pass checkout time in the room as I waited for my husband to return from work. Overall very pleasant experience. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in Ranson as your hotel of choice during your last visit to West Virginia. It was a pleasure to have you and your family at our hotel. We are so delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your room, with all of its distinctive amenities. We were truly humbled by your gracious comments regarding our hotel service team. At the Holiday Inn Express we truly believe that service should be provided from the heart and with only one purpose in mind, to create memorable moments for you and the ones you love. We can’t wait to welcome you back again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jason Butt
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago and went over to gamble a bit after dinner. When we returned to our room a few hours later, we quickly discovered our room was so close to the elevator that every time someone used it, it was so loud, it would awaken us! Also, our room was next to an outside entrance and a few people stood outside of the door, which was next to our window. Talking and smoking until the wee hours! We did not sleep at all, and when leaving the next day, we voiced our concerns. The lady at the desk, and the manager apparently standing there, both said "oh, you should've asked for a room away from the elevator". And then, we were booked, so that's the only room we had (they obviously weren't full). Insulting. Then the manager offered us 10 percent off our bill as if we should be so thankful for her courtesy. We declined. Again, very insulting to us, and ruined one of the few nights my husband and I had to get away for the weekend. Thanks Holiday Inn Express Charles Town.

Room Tip: Dont expect good customer service from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Penni W,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Address: 681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.