We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average HI Express” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charles Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Perry, GA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average HI Express”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Nothing extraordinary about this Holiday Inn Express, but no complaints either. Once the renovations are finished, I'm sure the property will be nicer. Rate seemed a little high for the area, but the staff was friendly, breakfast good, and we enjoyed a (chilly) swim in the outdoor pool. We would stay again when in the area, especially after the completed renovations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear ugagrad98,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are glad that our facilities and the service you received were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. I am pleased to inform you that the renovations at our property will be completed by July 31, 2013 to provide our guests with more updated and excellent accommodations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    46
    13
    7
    10
See reviews for
26
57
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Given the fact that there are now three hotels to serve the casino you have more choices, HI gave us the best rate of the three. They are remodeling but we had no interruption in our stay because of it. The rooms are quite large and always clean.
I agree with other reviewers to an extent regarding rates for this area but as long as the casino is a big draw this is to be expected.

Room Tip: Ask about renovations so you can stay out of the work traffic and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is very much like any Holiday Inn Express you encounter up and down the highways of America. It is located just across the road from the Hollywood Casino (Charles Town Races), and there is a free shuttle that will take you back and forth to the casino. For some odd reason the address is Ranson, WV not Charles Town.

Room Tip: Look for it under Ranson, WV not Charles Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The first time I stayed at this Holiday Inn was 4 years ago when it was just opened. Rooms were nice size and price was very good.
Since then the prices have climbed, and as others have noted, it is a little pricey for this location. However, we usually stay here when going to Summit Point to race and they often have some sort of special rate for those dates, so it's worth checking out.
The hotel is conveniently located to the track and a number of other attractions, along with shopping centers a horse racing track, casino, etc. there are a number of nice places to grab a bite within a short drive.
Best part of staying here has always been the staff. They really are friendly and helpful. The lady running the breakfast area always ready to restock breakfast items and cleaning staff unobtrusive but through.
They were renovating during our stay, but it wasn't a big deal and we were never disturbed by workers.
Overall, a good choice if this is the area you want to be in. Another options, possibly cheaper, is to stay in Winchester which is larger, has more restaurants and hotels and with all the competition is likely to be less expensive.

Room Tip: The hotel is shaped like a U with a pool in the middle of the hotel. Rooms at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel and were generally pleased. It is close to the racino and the room was clean. We were only there about 10 hours but had no issues. I will say that $129 per night for this area is a lot.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here after a day trip to Harpers Ferry. It's convenient for a stay to the national park, only about 10 minutes away.

Having said that. There's a lot of work going on in the area. The hotel is under construction (didn't know that ahead of time). We only stayed one night and the workers don't work during the night so it was not much of a bother. But things are a little out of wack. Again not a big problem, but if it would bother you, I'd call ahead to check and see if they are done. I've stayed in better HIE and I've stayed in worse HIE expresses. Maybe once the renovation is done this will be one of the better ones. Also, the exit off of Route 9 where the hotel sits is blocked from one direction. It looks like it's fairly close to completion.

Positives: very, very close to the race track and casino, friendly courteous check in staff, good breakfast included, once the road work is done it will be very easily accessible, spacious room and clean

Negatives: current construction, beds were not the most comfortable in our room, some how or another we ended up with a pizza delivery person at our door after we had all gone to bed - not sure how that happens or why one would even be allowed up into the hotel, but they ended up at our door waking us up

Overall, not a bad stay. But it was not perfect either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. The walls aren't quite thick enough to deaden the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Runnwlf,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel, the service provided by our staff as well as the breakfast. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had with the construction and the beds. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you and provide you with exceptional service.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Why is it that the traveling public so often sees those pert little signs saying something like, "forgive our mess, we're remodeling for you"? In fact, they aren't remodeling for me - all they are doing is catching me up in their choas with absolutely NO advance notice or offer to reduce the rates I pay.

Such was the 4 night business stay at this facility.

Banging, hammering, dust everywhere, construction crews on elevators, doors not working, nasty carpets, stacks of construction materials - and to top it off, no ice machines the last two days.

Keep in mind that this hotel is a "C" design, with two 3-story wings. Why it wasn't possible to renovate one wing at a time, I don't know. In fact, one entire wing was shut down! For goodness sake, deal with one, get it up and operating, and don't make your guests put up with your desire to improve corporate profits. Keep ice machines working - or else cut your rates in half and advise potential clients ahead of time!!!!!!

My advice - DON"T stay here unless you call the front desk and ask specifically if construction is still going on. If it is - just pick another property. Don't make yourself miserable fighting the process.

Otherwise, a pretty typical Holiday Inn Express. The room was clean. The water pressure in the bath good. The breakfast was uneven - some mornings well stocked, other mornings out of items. Minor, perhaps, but I'm not used to this at HIE.

Room Tip: As far as you can get from construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear MikeT100,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry the accommodations you received did not live up to your expectations due to the renovations and level of noise. We are always working to be the best we can be and improve on our level of service. The feedback we received from our guests, like you will help us to accomplish this.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. We do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay and show you the improvements.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Address: 681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.