We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this property until they get renovations complete!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charles Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ranson
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Avoid this property until they get renovations complete!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Why is it that the traveling public so often sees those pert little signs saying something like, "forgive our mess, we're remodeling for you"? In fact, they aren't remodeling for me - all they are doing is catching me up in their choas with absolutely NO advance notice or offer to reduce the rates I pay.

Such was the 4 night business stay at this facility.

Banging, hammering, dust everywhere, construction crews on elevators, doors not working, nasty carpets, stacks of construction materials - and to top it off, no ice machines the last two days.

Keep in mind that this hotel is a "C" design, with two 3-story wings. Why it wasn't possible to renovate one wing at a time, I don't know. In fact, one entire wing was shut down! For goodness sake, deal with one, get it up and operating, and don't make your guests put up with your desire to improve corporate profits. Keep ice machines working - or else cut your rates in half and advise potential clients ahead of time!!!!!!

My advice - DON"T stay here unless you call the front desk and ask specifically if construction is still going on. If it is - just pick another property. Don't make yourself miserable fighting the process.

Otherwise, a pretty typical Holiday Inn Express. The room was clean. The water pressure in the bath good. The breakfast was uneven - some mornings well stocked, other mornings out of items. Minor, perhaps, but I'm not used to this at HIE.

Room Tip: As far as you can get from construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear MikeT100,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry the accommodations you received did not live up to your expectations due to the renovations and level of noise. We are always working to be the best we can be and improve on our level of service. The feedback we received from our guests, like you will help us to accomplish this.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. We do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay and show you the improvements.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    40
    13
    7
    10
See reviews for
21
50
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

When we booked this hotel, we were not informed by the hotel nor Hotels.com that this hotel is currently under renovation. Half the hotel was literally closed - hallways were blocked with plastic tarps and clothes washers in the hall. The hallways were in various states of repair - wallpaper stripped off, walls being spackled, the carpets were filthy, and in general the hallways looked like a tennamant apartment in the poorest part of a large city. Once we got to our room, it was comfortable, clean and spacious, and everything worked.

The breakfast was good - consisted of cheese omlets, sausage patties, make-your-own pancakes, cereals, danish, breads, rolls and bagels, sausage gravy, coffee tea and juices. Very nice. The breakfast room is spacious and had plenty of tables & chairs.

If you are planning on staying at this property during the first half of 2013, make sure you ask the hotel if their are currently renovating any portions of the hotel. They should have completed the renovations in the half that was closed, then rented those rooms while they worked on the other half rather than actively working on the half they were renting out.

Room Tip: Ask before booking if the hotel is currently being renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear DrKen B,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am pleased that the breakfast served during your stay lived up to your expectations. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the renovations since we always strive to provide comfortable accommodations to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Florence,PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

After spending a nice day shopping and at the casino this motel was a great place to finish off the evening. Clean, Quiet, and the staff was very polite and helpful. Would stay there again! It was one of the least expensive motels in the area that had a good review.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor......was quiet and very nice. I don't think any room is bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there the night before Xmas eve. On Xmas eve we checked out. I had a bag of wrapped gifts several hundred dollars worth. I forgot the bag. Got 15 min down the road and called the front desk as I was turning around. When I went back to the floor of the room the cleaning lady was 2 rooms away. Wouldn't even look at me. Went back in the room the gifts were gone. I called the police. 2 police officers arrived and before they got there the manager of the cleaning crew left, so not to talk to the police. The officers spoke with the 2 cleaning ladies that were on the floor. They pulled up the pass key on the computer with who used the pass key after I checked out and it was one of the cleaning ladies. There are no cameras in the hallways as well. God forbid something really bad would happen. I am still pursuing this matter, but do not recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear miami002,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Ranson, WV. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here November 2012 and enjoyed our time. The location is perfect for Harpers Ferry and Shepherdstown, plus restaurants and the Raceway and Casino. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. Our room was a suite with a hot tub. It was clean and spacious. Our wine bottle opener broke, but the staff let us use one at the front desk. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. We had omelets and delicious cinnamon rolls. The pancake maker was a hit to everyone there too. We're very satisfied as this was our third time staying here. We hope to return again next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice Facilities helpfull staff Stay here frequently when at Summit Point Motorsports park. Close to Dining and various shopping areas Shuttle service to casino. parking is good allowing us to aprk our Truck and 24 Ft race car trailer

Room Tip: Have double bed rooms with Sleeper Sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Arrived on site 6am Sandy storm on the air, staff was very helpful in accomodating a large group of us in a professional and courteus manner. Complimentary breakfast, all facilities sparkling clean and up to date. Anytime I come back to this area I will return to this great hotel...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Address: 681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ranson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.