We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great staff"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charles Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Miami
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"Great staff"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Arrived on site 6am Sandy storm on the air, staff was very helpful in accomodating a large group of us in a professional and courteus manner. Complimentary breakfast, all facilities sparkling clean and up to date. Anytime I come back to this area I will return to this great hotel...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    46
    13
    7
    10
See reviews for
26
57
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We normally stay somewhere else when we are in Charles Town but this time we needed to be close to another group. I am glad we made the change. This was a busy race weekend at the track but the staff was still very pleasant and helpful when needed. They even took the time to help with our sightseeing planning. The room was clean and the breakfast had hot (eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy) and cold (standard continental) options. While not a luxury hotel they did a great job for the price point. We will stay here again when in town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I recently stayed here for business. I really have no major complaints about this hotel. The room was clean and came with a refrigerator. The room was larger than expected. Breakfast was typically for a Holiday Inn Express. The only complaint that I had with this hotel is there were bugs flying everywhere on my window. Wearing earplugs kept me from hearing them during the night. If I had to stay in the area in the future, I would consider this hotel but probably try other hotels in the area for comparison.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McClellandtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We always look forward to our trips to Charles Town West Virginia and our stay at Holiday Inn Express. This hotel is always kept very clean, has an extremely friendly and helpful staff and we get the best night sleep in the comfy bed. The bonus is the breakfast. Many hot food choices as well as something for your sweet tooth. Thanks to the staff for making yet another stay wonderful!!! Be back soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed Saturday Sept. 22: room was spacious and sparkling clean and quiet; bathroom and sink area very large; beds firm and comfortable. Parking lot very convenient. Free continental breakfast better than most. Hotel is excellent value for the money; staff very friendly. Race track and casino is less than half mile away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a great hotel to stay at if your traveling through the Charles Town, WV area. It's right off the interstate. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. There is a large pool and a great breakfast every morning! They also have free homemade chocolate chip and sugar cookies every evening...yum!! I was here on business for 2 weeks and had no complaints. It also has a free shuttle that runs every 20 minutes to go to the Hollywood Casino and race track.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Chose the Holiday Inn Express because it is close to the Casino. It was much cheaper than the Casino Hotel and the service was much better. The shuttle bus runs every 15 minutes and drops off at the Casino and also picks you up.... everyone was very friendly and the room was spotless. I might add, the breakfast was great, thanks to the lady who was responsible for keeping the breakfast bar stocked and the coffee always available. I tipped her and told he she should have a tip jar because some people forget about tipping at a breakfsst buffet.... she was very appreciative but did not know if she was allowed to have a tip jar...... I told her I was sure this would be just fine....... get a tip jar!.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Address: 681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.