We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice people and nice, friendly service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charles Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Poquoson, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice people and nice, friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Chose the Holiday Inn Express because it is close to the Casino. It was much cheaper than the Casino Hotel and the service was much better. The shuttle bus runs every 15 minutes and drops off at the Casino and also picks you up.... everyone was very friendly and the room was spotless. I might add, the breakfast was great, thanks to the lady who was responsible for keeping the breakfast bar stocked and the coffee always available. I tipped her and told he she should have a tip jar because some people forget about tipping at a breakfsst buffet.... she was very appreciative but did not know if she was allowed to have a tip jar...... I told her I was sure this would be just fine....... get a tip jar!.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    44
    13
    7
    10
See reviews for
25
52
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Some friends and I stayed here for 1 night a few months ago, and overall I would say that I enjoyed my stay. First things first, the front desk staff was amazing. We checked in around 10:00pm and arrived to an alert and friendly staff (Brian, Amber, Jordan-- Thank You!). They were probably the highlight of the stay because there were issues with my reservation and they did everything they could to help me fix the problem.
The double queen room was super spacious, and very clean. We had a very good night's sleep. It did smell like smoke because they recently made the entire hotel a nonsmoking hotel. Didn't bother me too much because I'm a smoker, however, I felt silly leaving the room to smoke and then coming back to a smoky-smelling room.
We stayed here so that we could visit the Charles Town Casino, and the hotel does have a shuttle that runs to and from there which was very convenient for us. The drivers were friendly and the shuttle itself was very nice. Breakfast was a great value. Lots of selections- pastries, cereals, fruit, sausage, eggs, etc. Something for everyone.
The biggest issue I had was regarding billing, management staff was absent and were unwilling to cooperate via phone. I had to take it up with my credit card company to resolve the issue on my behalf since management did not want to work with me. Had the front desk staff not been so kind and understanding, I may have left. Despite that major issue, I would still recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davisburg, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Arrived during the heat wave and was delighted with the clean and cool outdoor pool. Our room was very nice and large, and always cleaned while we were away. (stayed 3 nights). Breakfast staff took great pride in service, and everything was as it should be for a HiEx. Great location to head on the country road to Sharpsburg, or to the main drag for shopping and restaurants. Quiet location.

Room Tip: Inner rooms overlook the outdoor pool, fyi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the HIE on the tail end of a two-week vacation, and we got the best sleep of the whole trip at this hotel! Incredibly comfy beds, good temperature control, clean and spacious, unobtrusive service. We slept so well that we OVERslept, and the desk clerk was gracious about giving us a late check out. The breakast was great, especially those awesome cinnamon rolls. A big thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We recently spent 4 days at the Holiday Inn and found it to be very comfortable. The facility was attractive, clean and well maintained. All levels of the staff members were nice and professional.

The only thing I found annoying about my stay were the speed bumps in the parking lot. They are a bit larger than necessary and rather uncomfortable to go over in and out of the parking lot in small cars.

Room Tip: I had a double queen bed room and had no complaints. I would imagine all the rooms in the facility w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just stayed there with Bike Virginia group. The internet never worked. On the first day, MANY people were not able to go into their rooms until 630pm or 7pm. Good breakfast and all but pretty expensive considering there was no internet and the other problems. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coudersport, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I picked this hotel while at an annual rotary conference. Everything including the comp breakfast exceeded our expectations. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Everything was easily accessed. Navigating to and from the room can be a little confusing but nothing a few extra turns wont cure. I thought it worth mentioning that "Amber" who was working the front desk one night couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Very nice to see, not enough of it these days.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Address: 681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.