We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charles Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Some friends and I stayed here for 1 night a few months ago, and overall I would say that I enjoyed my stay. First things first, the front desk staff was amazing. We checked in around 10:00pm and arrived to an alert and friendly staff (Brian, Amber, Jordan-- Thank You!). They were probably the highlight of the stay because there were issues with my reservation and they did everything they could to help me fix the problem.
The double queen room was super spacious, and very clean. We had a very good night's sleep. It did smell like smoke because they recently made the entire hotel a nonsmoking hotel. Didn't bother me too much because I'm a smoker, however, I felt silly leaving the room to smoke and then coming back to a smoky-smelling room.
We stayed here so that we could visit the Charles Town Casino, and the hotel does have a shuttle that runs to and from there which was very convenient for us. The drivers were friendly and the shuttle itself was very nice. Breakfast was a great value. Lots of selections- pastries, cereals, fruit, sausage, eggs, etc. Something for everyone.
The biggest issue I had was regarding billing, management staff was absent and were unwilling to cooperate via phone. I had to take it up with my credit card company to resolve the issue on my behalf since management did not want to work with me. Had the front desk staff not been so kind and understanding, I may have left. Despite that major issue, I would still recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    46
    13
    7
    10
See reviews for
26
56
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davisburg, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Arrived during the heat wave and was delighted with the clean and cool outdoor pool. Our room was very nice and large, and always cleaned while we were away. (stayed 3 nights). Breakfast staff took great pride in service, and everything was as it should be for a HiEx. Great location to head on the country road to Sharpsburg, or to the main drag for shopping and restaurants. Quiet location.

Room Tip: Inner rooms overlook the outdoor pool, fyi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the HIE on the tail end of a two-week vacation, and we got the best sleep of the whole trip at this hotel! Incredibly comfy beds, good temperature control, clean and spacious, unobtrusive service. We slept so well that we OVERslept, and the desk clerk was gracious about giving us a late check out. The breakast was great, especially those awesome cinnamon rolls. A big thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We recently spent 4 days at the Holiday Inn and found it to be very comfortable. The facility was attractive, clean and well maintained. All levels of the staff members were nice and professional.

The only thing I found annoying about my stay were the speed bumps in the parking lot. They are a bit larger than necessary and rather uncomfortable to go over in and out of the parking lot in small cars.

Room Tip: I had a double queen bed room and had no complaints. I would imagine all the rooms in the facility w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just stayed there with Bike Virginia group. The internet never worked. On the first day, MANY people were not able to go into their rooms until 630pm or 7pm. Good breakfast and all but pretty expensive considering there was no internet and the other problems. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coudersport, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I picked this hotel while at an annual rotary conference. Everything including the comp breakfast exceeded our expectations. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Everything was easily accessed. Navigating to and from the room can be a little confusing but nothing a few extra turns wont cure. I thought it worth mentioning that "Amber" who was working the front desk one night couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Very nice to see, not enough of it these days.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I spent a few days last week at this (new looking) Holiday Inn Express in Ranson, West Virginia. It was a last minute trip and I didn't have lots of time to research places to stay. We were there to visit Harper's Ferry National Historical Park and also making a trip to Antietam Battlefield National Military Park. This hotel is the perfect spot for anyone wanting to visit these two places. Harper's Ferry is about 5 minutes down the road. Antietam is a longer drive back into Sharpburg, Maryland -- but we found out (by accident) on our way back to the hotel that Flowing Springs Road (where the hotel is located) is on a road that goes right into Sharpsburg (kind of a shortcut) where the battlefield is located. Also, the hotel is located close to the highway --but set back away from it --so it is nice and quiet there at night. Its seemed to me that there were many guests staying there while we were there -- but we had no noise issues at all. We stayed in a non-smoking king bed room on the third floor (there is an elevator). The room was very large, clean, and comfortable. Just what you want in a chain hotel like this --nothing real fancy -- but nothing to complain about either. The sheets and towels were clean, the bathroom was very clean, no stains or odors...and the air conditioning worked well and wasn't too loud. There was the complimentary free hot breakfast which was pretty good considering that it wasn't made to order like in a restaurant. They had unlimited amounts of sausage one day and crispy bacon the next day-- the bacon was excellent! There were pre-made cheese omlets which weren't great --but not bad either. If you were in the mood for something else--they had the usual assortment of breakfast fixings---toast, bagels, muffins, hot cinnamon rolls (too sweet for me but I think others might like them), cereal, pancakes etc, etc. The coffee was fairly good , too -- I had 2 cups each morning to get me going.Our room overlooked the pool. It was slightly too cool for the pool to be in use -- but it was large and looked clean and well cared for.People were sitting around the pool in the afternoon each day. I also noticed a nice fitness center. The hotel is close to the Hollywood Casino which has a complimentary bus that stops by the door on a regular basis in case you want to do some gambling (we didn't). As for food, there are many restaurants in the area --all a short drive from the hotel. In conclusion --all I can say is that this place is a winner.

Room Tip: The sun will wake you up in the morning. Remember the close the blackout curtains. We didn't do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charles Town

Address: 681 Flowing Springs Road, Ranson, WV 25438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ranson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town West Virginia Our beautiful new hotel is a lovely three story, interior corridor hotel that is less than 1/2 mile from the Charles Town Races and Slots. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Charles Town, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town Hotel Ranson
Holiday Inn Express Ranson
Holiday Inn Ranson
Ranson Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charles Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.